We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“very average hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best feature was the big car park. Rooms were ok with probably the smallest double bed I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but saw the gym, it looked smaller than the bed. Most disappointing feature was the buffet breakfast, it didn't need to be that average. our bedroom was hotter than the food. Not great, but I guess it one of those hotels you use for one night, and not a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you george g for your review from your recent stay.
Our standard double room beds are 4'6" which are being replaced in our refurbished rooms with king size beds - for info the headboard needs replacing in order to change the beds. This will continue in 2014 & 2015.
We have 2 gyms available at the hotel and the plan is also to combine these - as you say they are not large rooms but very rarely is there anyone waiting to access the equipment which is more important.
I am truly sorry that the breakfast wasn't right for you and I do hope you informed the team on the day allowing them to make amends.
Thank you for your feedback, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    325
    159
    61
    26
See reviews for
226
219
30
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We asked for a quiet room and stayed in 144. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings of our stay. The food was very nice, presented well and portion sizes were good. The staff were very busy but were really nice, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our experience a good one. The reception and bar staff were very good. Housekeepers kept our room spotless, beds very comfortable. Although there are currently building works taking place this did not affect our stay at all. Definitely a place we would use again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and your very kind appreciation of the teams looking after you - it is very much appreciated. kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few weekends back I took a group of 18 to stay at this hotel for a long weekend, whilst we celebrated my birthday. We all had a great time and the hotels amenities were perfect for what we needed, seeing as we were out and about a lot. The rooms were a great size, as was the lounge area and the bar area was ideal for us men whilst we waited for the women to finish off getting ready! The interior décor is in great condition and they even told us they were having a massive refurb so it will be good to go back to see how it all turns out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent review Michael K after your recent group visit. I hoped you all enjoyed the local attractions and thanks for using our bar facilities. The first phase of bedroom refurbishment will finish late July with plans to continue doing even more rooms this year & next. It is an exciting time for the hotel and hopefully you will see even more improvements on your next visit. Kind regards, Norrie Oswald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I travel a lot for work and whenever I have an appointment in Newcastle or the surrounding areas I always stay here, simply because it’s in a prime location for getting straight onto the A1, especially when the traffic is bad. The staff are always welcoming and make me feel completely comfortable, ensuring I have everything I need to make the most out of every business trip and I like the fact that they remember my face. If anyone is travelling to the Newcastle area for a business trip or for leisure I’d absolutely recommend this place. The fact that there is free parking and wifi is also a bonus! Would say the rooms could do with a facelift but since that's already happening I will leave it at that. Looking forward to my next stay here and hopefulyl I'll be in a new room so I can check them out

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your loyal custom and for continuing to choose to stay with us when in the area. The addition of free Wi-Fi has been well received since the sale of the hotel and the current refurbishment of the bedrooms in addition to the public areas will provide great facilities for our guests and our teams. The first 40 rooms are finishing late July so please do think of booking one for your next visit. kind regards, Norrie Oswald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and the girls recently spent a relaxing weekend in Newcastle, staying here and we couldn't be happier with the service provided. After a long day shopping it wa the perfect place to come back to for a drink and a natter on before getting ready for a night on the town! If we all manage to get away for a weekend soon we'll most definitely be heading back there, it was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneyy_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review from you ladies weekend away shopping. We are not centrally located as you will know so not ideal for the hustle bustle weekend of pubs and clubs but we do offer a relaxing space for discerning groups. Thank you, Norrie Oswald, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorks
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here on a coach trip two week ago. hotel nice, big rooms, nice and clean, nice lounge area, but the restaurant let it down, for a four star hotel you should not have to queue for a cup of tea or coffee out of a machine, and the manager in charge was not trained in manners, protocol in waiter service, for reaching over the customer to retrieve crockery and just putting things in front of people without giving notice must be a safety issue, he gave the impression we was not the kind of people he wanted in the hotel. Rest of the staff was very helpful, friendly and considerate in their job which helped to off set this man. would look forward to staying here again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your posting Phillip W after your recent coach trip. Your positive feedback re the team and our facilities is particularly appreciated. The comments re restaurant service will be dealt with in private and I do appreciate your feedback - there was a manager or myself on duty throughout your stay and we would have welcomed the chance to speak with you in person, during your stay. Thank you again, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I took a group of 43 people to stay at this hotel for 4 nights. Reception staff were courteous but had little knowledge of our accommodation needs. Rooms and cleanliness were very good as were the public rooms but our stay was completely tainted by the dining experience. The food itself was acceptable though very limited and on two nights they ran out of requested desserts. Breakfast food was very good.. The restaurant was very understaffed and the restaurant manager, made himself look busy while doing very little. It seemed that no direction was given to staff and they wandered around aimlessly constantly disappearing for long periods and being very slapdash with service. I have stayed in many hotels with my group over the past 14 years and this was the first time that we did not have teapots, milk , sugar, butter and preserves plus a waste tub at the table, Queing at a machine to get water to put a tea bag in or coffee from a machine is not our idea of, as they class themselves, a full service hotel. Prior to our arrival we had furnished the hotel with room requirements and a restaurant seating plan and had been assured that these would be met. The requests we had made for ground floor rooms or no stairs had not been adhered to in several cases and with regards to the restaurant seating plan, the restaurant manager denied any knowledge until shown a copy.He promised from the secondt night all would be as planned. What a waste of breath, throughout the holiday nothing changed. This hotel needs to totally review it's restaurant arrangements if it wants to attract groups. I certainly would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear mollieandderek,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the restaurant service prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing