We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor but nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tired decor but nice staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I stayed here on a business trip and found that my room was in need of refurbishment - especially the bathroom which had stained grouting between the tiles, peeling paintwork and broken sealant. One one of the bedroom lamps was broken and there was a useful desk but nowhere to plug in a laptop.

I ate in the restaurant and the starter of grilled tuna with salad Nicoise was delicious, but the main course of chicken was disappointing - the chicken was dry and a bit tasteless.

Staff were generally pleasant, and the waitress in the restaurant in particular.

This in not a great Holiday Inn, but with some investment in the rooms could be a lot better.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank adrianintheuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    339
    163
    63
    28
See reviews for
242
233
30
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed in July and checked-in on a Sunday. It was a one night DBB (Dinner Bed Breakfast) deal booked thru www.booking.com at £79. Upon arrival, the check-in staff told us there was no booking but they had a room. She was all alone at check-in and tried to be as cheerful as could be, having handled 2 tour groups before us!

The front desk assistant manager and other senior staff came by but just ignored all the customers waiting for check-in! There was no effort to apologize for the omitted booking. They simply glanced at us and walked away, leaving the lone check-in girl to sort out everyone!

Apparently the hotel was fully booked but that was no excuse to treat customers and their own colleague poorly. The front desk assistant manager gave a dirty look and talked down to the check-in girl when she asked if we could get the same rate offered by booking.com. Although we did get the deal, we felt bad for the check-in girl.

Later, we asked the assistant manager if we needed vouchers for breakfast/dinner. She simply gave a cold look and said :" Ask at the cafe, they will tell you!" We wondered what was the function of reception then, if not even for info???

Over at the cafe was a totally different story. The staff was smiling, obligiing and forthcoming with information! They even let us know what was the best time to come down for breakfast, to avoid the tour groups! As they had cleared some dinner starters, they offered to make up any starters we fancied on the ala carte menu! No miserable cows here! Everyone seemed jolly and worked really hard. A far cry from reception.

The chef must be the best I've ever encounted in UK 3* hotels! Everything was delicious, especially the desserts! The cheesecake was light and flavoursome, the chocolate cake was full of cocoa! The cafe takes the cake, literally!

The room was alright but the bathroom was slightly moldy. Time for a revamp and maybe the reception staff needs one too!

So, stay over for nice board and food but do your best to brave the check-in!

  • Liked — The Food , Cafe staff
  • Disliked — Check-In
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elflynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel earlier this week for work purposes. It was fine - the rooms have recently been redecorated and mine was very large and comfortable, although the bathroom was a bit dated.

I ate in the bar in the evening, food was fine and I didnt feel uncomfortable at all being a female dining alone - the staff were really friendly and the bar quite a nice place to sit and people watch.

Breakfast was fine and plentiful, and again the staff very warm and welcoming.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would return and use the hotel as a base for seeing some more of the local area

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large room
  • Disliked — No biscuits with tea making facilities in room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Dated building, poor customer service, crummy food, isolated location, over-priced for what it is - there are many hotels much better than this and I for one, won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Am struggling to think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a conference. the staff were all wonderful and as there was a large group of us kept a table ready for us each night and kept the bar open until we could no longer stand!!!

tried the carvery, the al a carte and the bar menu and all were fantastic. had the best omlette ive ever had for dinner one night!

my room was really nice and it had 2 double beds in it! heating worked well and my room was cleaned each day.

the pool is nice but does get deep very quickly (from 3ft to 8ft!). the jacuzzi was like a hot bath but i loved it.

all in all a good hotel, will be using there again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan,uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

What a great stay!From the efficient and welcoming staff, to the excellent food at breakfast and dinner, to the high quality of the refurbished bedrooms and public areas. The hotel is really easy to find, with free and secure parking. Definitely use this hotel again.

  • Liked — great decor.the food.the staff.
  • Disliked — ...well at a push include some veggy sausages at breakfast!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Just returned from a Friday and Saturday stay and quite honestly could hardly fault it. The staff are excellent. We ate in the restaurant on Friday and had the carvery. It was fine, nothing startling but good honest grub! The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a chain hotel.

We had a problem with the heating in our room and phoned reception, they sent someone up within 5 minutes to show us how to operate it and it was fine from then on.

Yes it is a distance from the centre of Newcastle, a taxi only cost us £13.50 so reasonable, but it is ideal for exploring the area and only a short drive from the Metro Centre for shopping.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be going back. Highly recomended.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Air conditioning in the restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
990 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
819 reviews
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 and again in 2017 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free at 5Mbps. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers - please ask to guarantee. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special - bathrobes, slippers, water, chocolate, safe and fridge. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. Our in house Spa team offer relaxing treatments using Elemis products with and ladies don't pass on the opportunity of LA Tips or Jessica nails - to avoid disappointment please book in advance ( products correct at Aug 2017). WE NOW HAVE A LIFT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing