We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came for the day started off with a swim - pool nice and warm and steam room lovely.

We then went for a hot stone massage at Beauty with Inn - we both came out saying it was the best massage we've ever had, the staff were very friendly and the treatment room with the heated tables was great :-)

We then had lunch in the bar - the bar area and toilets have all been refurbished since our last visit and it looked fantastic. Food arrived quickly and again friendly staff. A great day from start to finish.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review and appreciation of the team at Beauty with Inn – they do such a great job & consistently.
Very pleased that you love our new bar and lounge and please feel free to pop in for a cuppa and cake or a drink when you are passing.
Our Sunday Lunch Carvery is also something we are very proud of.
Thank you for supporting both businesses and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 879 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stay at this particular Holiday Inn quite regularly which is in a great location for trips into Newcastle and around wonderful Northumberland (It is also in a great location for Newcastle Airport if you want to park and go). Whilst it has always provided good accommodation, service, one of the best breakfasts you could find and has a good pool and gym, it has become tired over the past few years. Recently though, a major revamp has begun; lounge and restaurant areas have been totally refurbished to a high standard and work is soon to start on the bedrooms. We are looking forward to our next stay to see what further improvements have been made.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and in particular your glowing comments about breakfast. We are so proud and happy with our new lounge, bar and restaurant and cant wait to get some new photos loaded next week to show people. We may even show photos of our new toilets completed today. You will certainly see a big difference on your next visit.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Parking:
Parking here is free and I hope it stays that way! (All too often hotels charge customers for the privilege of using the very vehicle that brought their custom in the first place. I find that such an insult and poor PR!)

Check in:
Our check in went smoothly and the hotel staff were very helpful and efficient.

Our room:
Our room was comfortable and clean but even though the bathroom fittings were old, well used they still worked OK. There was red hot water all night long.

The bed:
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. A good nights sleep is everything. The television had all the free view channels. In all the room was comfortable, basic, and functional.

The pool:
The Swimming pool was OK too.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with a good range of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, toast, and croissants. There was also hot sausage, fried and scrambled egg, baked beans, mushrooms, and black pudding.

Over all:
We rate this hotel quite highly and recommend it as good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the traffic and function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and high recommendation which is greatly appreciated.
For info to other reviewers; our main functions rooms are not located near any of the bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked an executive room. We stayed mid-week. The complimentary drinks and toiletries were of a good standard and the room was spacious, and facing the back of the hotel across the (almost empty) car park to open country. The bed was very comfortable, and superking sized. The window was easy to open and the heater was very easy to operate and effective. The television was well-positioned, easy to operate and had a huge range of channels. The only criticism was that the bathroom was very small, but the shower was good and the bath adequate. The room was very clean and well-maintained. Every member of staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming. The restaurant provided us with a good dinner on our first evening. Reception had told us that if we arrived without booking we would probably be accommodated within a few minutes. However, at 6.30, having belatedly deciding to dine in, we were told that as there were two (!) coach parties booked in, and we could not have a table until 8.15. This was definitely to our advantage because the restaurant emptied quickly after that and we had a very good meal, attentively served in a rapidly-emptying room. After that, we retired to our room, enjoying a comfortable and very quiet night. We did not use the bar. The bar menu looks ok, but the bar itself is not very cosy - it is at one side of the main corridor, just outside the main entrance and reception area. Breakfast was excellent. The first morning, at 7.30, was busy, but the next morning we left it until 8.30, by which time it was less busy. The food was very good and well presented. We found it extremely good value at only £10 per day above the room-only rate for both of us. For our purposes, the hotel was ideally situated (which is why we chose it) being not too far from the city and ideal if you are intending to travel further north. All in all, we felt we got good value for money at this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor (there is no 2nd floor) at the back is quiet (midweek, anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review covering almost every aspect of the hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and goes a long way to encourage the team to keep delivering great service. Hope to see you back soon when you will see our new bar, lounge and restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here for a rihanna tribute night, evening meal was lovely, breakfast great, room great, overall the hotel is lovely modern and very clean. The wifi is very expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in and it also seemed to block the 3g on our phones stopping us using the internet. Staff are helpful and fiendly, requested extra different types of pillows when we booked and they were in the room ready when we arrived. We had the disabled room, great for wheelchair user or less mobile, plenty of hand rails only complaint would be the actual door frame to enter the room was a tad narrow making getting in with wheelchair slightly harder work than it needed to be. Will go again for another one of their special nights

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review after your recent visit for one of our Tribute Nights. They are such fun and I am glad you enjoyed it and will be coming back again – our new events list is being sent out next week or you can call the office to get an advanced copy! For info 3G signals are not blocked – its purely network coverage by the service provider can vary. Later this year Elite Priority Club members will receive free Wi-Fi and from January all Priority club members will receive free Wi-Fi. Its worth registering with us on your next visit if you have not done so already. Thank you again, Norrie Oswald GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend have just been for a spa day at beauty with inn in the quality inn. Firstly... Pool area shabby and changing rooms stank of bleach to the point it was overpowering. Pool ok but needs a face lift. Very disappointed to realise the sauna was out of use. Steam room however was lovely.
Food is an absolute disgrace! We got 25% off and just as well or I would have demanded a refund! Overpriced bar food! My friend ordered a chicken and bacon panini, which was clay cold. Panini had been toasted, chicken wasn't even heated up! I ordered tuna and cheese panini, tuna was freezing cold. No point complaining as we had treatments booked for 2pm and it would have taken too long to re order. Chef clearly needs retraining! Had to send my coke back as well, tasted full of chemicals and couldn't drink it!
Spa day it's self was amazing, it's very small, but lovely. The girls there really look after you. Was a lovely experience. Shame the hotel itself let this day down!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Northerngirl0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Very sorry to read that our bar meal service was such a disappointment to you both & also disappointed that you did not bring it to anyone’s attention when you were here. Given the chance to make amends is always appreciated. For assurance purposes we don’t use bleach at the hotel or in the pool – there are a multitude of safe chemicals and all our chemicals are approved products. Please accept my apologies that we did not get things 100% for your visit and rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team. Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived at the hotel travelling as a party of one adult and two children. Got to room and found only one bed made up. Spoke to reception who promptly had the other bed made up and gave us a key for the pool. The key didn't work. Went back up to room to get towels and found not enough towels. Reception gave us more towels. Their Internet signal blocked my 3G signal. I was not prepared the £15 a day they wanted to charge for access to their Internet. We slept badly due to people arriving all night until the early hours, I can only assume they were stag parties due to the level of drunk ness and sheer volume of guests.

The food in the hotel was good, but if you're going to clear a table, then please clear all the table and not leave dirty plates on it for a further 20 minutes. I know it sounds petty but I kept waiting for the staff to come back. Drinks are pricey I paid £10 for an orange juice, a diet coke and one glass of rosé.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyprus09EastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your posting and my apologies that your room was not perfect when you arrived. Pleased to read that the team responded swiftly to get things sorted. As previously mentioned we do not work with stag or hen party organisers partly due to the noise levels. Newcastle is such a popular destination for these groups that they are hard to avoid, particularly in the city centre. We do employ night staff and night security and any concerns should be called down to reception. Your feedback on how to make a good dinner experience into a great one will be shared & thank you. Norrie Oswald, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,062 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
838 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
755 reviews
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,577 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $74 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 and again in 2017 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free at 5Mbps. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers - please ask to guarantee. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special - bathrobes, slippers, water, chocolate, safe and fridge. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. Our in house Spa team offer relaxing treatments using Elemis products with and ladies don't pass on the opportunity of LA Tips or Jessica nails - to avoid disappointment please book in advance ( products correct at Aug 2017). WE NOW HAVE A LIFT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing