We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2008

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a conference. the staff were all wonderful and as there was a large group of us kept a table ready for us each night and kept the bar open until we could no longer stand!!!

tried the carvery, the al a carte and the bar menu and all were fantastic. had the best omlette ive ever had for dinner one night!

my room was really nice and it had 2 double beds in it! heating worked well and my room was cleaned each day.

the pool is nice but does get deep very quickly (from 3ft to 8ft!). the jacuzzi was like a hot bath but i loved it.

all in all a good hotel, will be using there again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    330
    159
    62
    26
See reviews for
229
224
30
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wigan,uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

What a great stay!From the efficient and welcoming staff, to the excellent food at breakfast and dinner, to the high quality of the refurbished bedrooms and public areas. The hotel is really easy to find, with free and secure parking. Definitely use this hotel again.

  • Liked — great decor.the food.the staff.
  • Disliked — ...well at a push include some veggy sausages at breakfast!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Just returned from a Friday and Saturday stay and quite honestly could hardly fault it. The staff are excellent. We ate in the restaurant on Friday and had the carvery. It was fine, nothing startling but good honest grub! The breakfast was one of the best I've had in a chain hotel.

We had a problem with the heating in our room and phoned reception, they sent someone up within 5 minutes to show us how to operate it and it was fine from then on.

Yes it is a distance from the centre of Newcastle, a taxi only cost us £13.50 so reasonable, but it is ideal for exploring the area and only a short drive from the Metro Centre for shopping.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be going back. Highly recomended.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Air conditioning in the restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I was here for a conference, so had no choice. Location is isolated and between main roads. If you don't have a car, you've nowhere else to go. Hotel is tired and decor unappealing. Bedrooms adequate, but no biscuits. All rooms double glazed, but they have to be kept shut because of traffic noise.The staff are very friendly and helpful. Dinner is the restaurant was poor. I had the carvery - beef chewy, vegetables cold. Certianly not worth the money charged.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Poor food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2007

Overall, the building, furtniture were OK, but what made this place really special was the staff. Very attentive, nothing was a problem.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Carpets were a bit shoddy in corridors
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trout76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I booked this Holiday Inn as you are generally guaranteed a certain standard of hotel room. I should of booked the local travel lodge instead. Ok - here goes

(1) Check inn - was ok, but had to ask the receptionist, where the dining room was, where breakfast would be served and between what hours. You shouldn't have to ask these questions as far as I am concerned and should automatically be told this by whoever is checking you in.

(2) Bedroom - ok, bed comfy, needs upgrading as the furniture is well dated and the heater wasn't working properly. However, the big thing for me was the cleaniness, empty tea bag wrapper on the floor, bath was chipped and need grouted badly. But the show stopper which will mean that I never stay in this hotel again is THE TOLIET SEAT WAS DIRTY AND HAD A BROWN MARK ON IT. This in my book is inexcusable. I have complained to the hotel and am awaiting their response. The receptionist did say she would tell housekeeping but basically seemed completely uninterested.

(3) Room service - took ages to get through on the phone. When the food did arrive, my glass of red wine had been spilled all over the tray. The guy delivering it didn't have a pen for me to sign the chit. The tray also came with no salt/pepper. When I finally got through to room service again it took the 20 minutes to deliver the salt/pepper by that time I had eaten what was edible of my food. My chips hadn't been cooked properly and were hard in the middle too.

(4) Breakfast - everything was self service, I at least expect tea and toast to be brought to my table. I am paying £95 for this room and expect a general level of service. I expect this in a holiday inn express but not a holiday inn. The food was over -cooked and disgusting. The coffee came out a machine with the milk already in it. The "waiters" barged past me to show other guests to their table rather than let me walk by twice.

All in all this a horrendous hotel - avoid it at all costs.

  • Liked — the car parking
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chilleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This is an OK hotel with mostly friendly staff. As mentionned it is not near anything..... a car is needed although they have an airport shuttle. The heat in my room was not working !

  • Liked — Typical Holiday Inn with 70's design
  • Disliked — Heating not working in room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
959 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,042 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
796 reviews
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#30 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,200 reviews
4.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing