We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good, very nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, very nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean and big, bed comfortable. Nothing to moan about whatsoever!!

Friendly staff, lovely bathrooms, nice utilities and nice location. We stayed for 2 nights on a trip to Newcastle. Did not go for the Breakfast, as I think £10 might be a bit too pricey

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoFlutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.
It’s a shame you did not try breakfast as we offer a wide selection of cold dishes (fruits, cheeses, yoghurts cold meats, cereals etc) and a hot English buffet selection (too many to list) plus toast, teas, coffees and fruit juices..
When you consider a coffee, a refill and an orange juice in coffee shops is £6 or so, personally I think it is great value.
For clarification to other readers our breakfast is £13.95 and at times we offer an advanced purchase breakfast for £10.00
Worth trying on your next visit Marco.
Kind regards, Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    270
    147
    57
    20
See reviews for
183
187
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the third Holiday Inn we have stayed in in the last few weeks.Every time they come up trumps. Great welcome at reception, acknowledged my priority membership and upgraded our room to executive,great touch.
Rooms as in all Holiday Inns,spacious and comfortable. Restaurant excellent especially the breakfast. Super.

Well done again

Ken D

Room Tip: Choose an execitive room for the little extras,bathrobe and slippers, fridge etc. A very quiet hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth_dorward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and kind praise.
At Holiday Inn Newcastle we want you to feel relaxed and as a Priority Club Platinum member we will always upgrade your bedroom where we can.
Hopefully see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the end of August as his work colleague was being married in the hotel so we booked a room to stay overnight with breakfast the next day.
when we arrived on the Friday night I was quite taken aback at how nice the hotel was and what facillities it had, and the room we had was very nice, very clean and comfortable although the bathroom could do with updating a bit,
the breakfast the next day was lovely as well with an excellent assortment of fruit as well as cooked choices, on the whole a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and it’s very nice to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We all love a good wedding here at the hotel, and what a great idea to stay for the night and enjoy a full buffet breakfast the next day.
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated
Norrie Oswald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for one night. Room was very nice, clean with comfortable beds. The restaurant was a lot to be desired, quite disappointing. Workers were using this hotel to stay in while on a job elsewhere and they were getting food ordered in and using the hotel cutlery, plates etc. sitting in the lounge area.
Breakfast was good, hot and plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneFraser17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you Anne for your comments. As a rule we don’t encourage any guests to consume meals that are not purchased from the hotel, however on occasions if guests request crockery and cutlery we have supplied these.
I can only presume that the staff member providing the cutlery and crockery to the guests mentioned that they expected the guests to eat the meals in their bedrooms and didn’t see them eating in the lounge as we do not allow this.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A good Holiday Inn and all as you expect from them however was very disappointed to be told the we would have to wait an hour for food, the hotel was far from busy and only about 10 people in the restaurant. The waitress had no explanation for this either so we went out for dinner into cramlington. Breakfast however was great and very quiet. Room ok and not too worn, hotel very convenient for A1

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we could not accommodate you for dinner in the restaurant on the night of you staying with us.
During busy periods we do stagger our dinner reservations to ensure each guest receives the service they deserve, although the restaurant may have only had a number of guests dining at the time you looked, it is likely we had a number of reservations or a large group due to dine, however I agree that a one hour wait is excessive and I am sorry that this was the case. In addition to the restaurant menu we also offer and extensive lounge and room service menu.
Thank you again for your feedback
Peter Auld, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights to attend a family funeral. There were about 14 of us in all. Very welcoming and friendly staff on reception (better than at some southern hotels), which was good after a six hour drive the last bit in the dark and pouring rain. The entrance isn't that well lit and was quite difficult to find from the road.
Room nice and spacious - but so so hot. Turned all heating off and opened window. Nice to have underfloor heating in bathroom though. Comfy bed with soft and firm pillows. Pity only a bedside light on one side of the bed - we did ask for another lamp but it didn't arrive and this is only a small niggle.
We didn't have dinner as already eaten but the others did - three courses for two with wine for £29.95 - good value and nobody complained as the food was good and everyone served at same time. Good choice of bar snack menu.
We enjoyed our stay, although we were up there for a family funeral. It's a very busy hotel with business conferences, etc and reps and so on as well as usual guests - rather have it busy than half empty.
Breakfast was good - though please please can you have warm plates available!
Would stay again if we're up here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments have been passed to the relevant staff members to ensure we are checking the areas highlighted, for example that during busy periods the plates that are placed in the hot plate well are hot prior to putting them in as it takes time for these to get to temperature.
Thank you again for your comments
Peter Auld, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked a bargain dinner, bed and breakfast break for my other half, my 7 year old son and myself - I booked a room with 2 double beds as the last time we stayed at this hotel my sons bed was a sofa bed and it wasn't very comfy. I also chose this hotel as it is not far from Newcastle town centre and Tynemouth where we went to the Blue Reef Aquarium.

Check in was at 2:00pm and we arrived at the hotel at 1:45pm, unfortunately the receptionist informed me that the room wouldn't be ready for another 20 minutes and asked if there was any where we needed to go - I explained we had just been stuck in the car for 4 hours travelling up and we just needed to rest, she suggested we had a drink in the bar whilst we waited. At 2:10pm I checked to see if the room was ready and had to wait for the receptionist to check with housekeeping - it was finally ready!

The room was spacious and on a quiet part of the hotel as I requested (room 24 if anyone wants to ask for that rooom in future) the only downside to the room was the light on the car park shone threw gaps in the curtains (perhaps I'm just being picky as I do like a dark room to sleep in!).

The hotel has a swimming pool which you sign in at reception and get the door key to the pool to enter. We went into the pool on a Sunday afternoon and there was a lane set up and in use by private swimming instructors. I did notice that some guests had been given towels at reception to use - this is something we were not offered so I do not know if this is something the hotel only gives to certain guests - this would have made it a lot easier for my family rather than trying to dry all our towels before we were due to leave the room the next day.

We booked a table at reception on arrival for our evening meal as this was the package I had booked - the earliest time we could book in was 6:30pm. We arrived bang on 6:30 and found that lots of other families had arrived for their pre-booked tables too. The service was very slow and I ended up ordering my main meal three times as the waiter kept coming back to tell me that they had run out of my first two choices!! There was a delay of 50 minutes between finishing our starter and our mains - the waitress did apologise when she brought the main dishes and said that the chef was not happy with the first mixed grill that he had prepared for my husband - it would have been better if the serving staff had stopped avoiding my eye contact and explained what the delay was and offered to bring the children's meal out before the other mains as it was nearly 8:00pm and my son was getting tired and needed his tea!

We noticed on our way to breakfast that other rooms had papers left outside for them - this is not something we were offered at reception on booking in so I presumed this hotel didn't have this facility.

Breakfast was lovely and had a choice of serve yourself hot breakfast, cereal, toast, cakes, cold meats, fruit etc etc. Just what we needed to set off on the next leg of our journey.

Room Tip: I recommend paying the bit extra for a room with two double beds, for comfort and more room to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_hinewcastle, Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry we fell short on some service aspects of your stay with us. As you have stated our check-in time is from 2.00pm, however if bedrooms are available prior to this time we will try our best to check any guests in that arrive prior to this time.
In addition to the hotel information service found on our bedroom televisions that explain that we provide towels for guests staying with us you should have been offered these on signing in at reception, I am sorry that this was not the case.
It is our policy to ask each guest if they would like to order a newspaper upon check-in, again I am sorry that you had not been ask this.
During the half term holidays we are a popular hotel for families and as a result of this we have since reviewed our opening hours for the restaurant to help resolve the busy period requested by guests to dine at the start of our restaurant opening times, however this does not take away the fact that we had a number of dishes unavailable for you on the evening you dined with us.
All your comments have been forwarded to our team managers to review and make the relevant changes to deliver the service expected from the Holiday Inn Newcastle.
Thank you again for your comments.
Peter Auld, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.9 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
5.7 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 151 spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing