We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location for this hotel. About a 15 min walk to Jesmond centre and very close the The Metro. Staff also very friendly and accommodating. Good spot if you want to explore the sights of Newcastle.

We stayed for a long weekend to compete in the Great North Run. They arranged an early breakfast on race day and put spectator info in the rooms which was a nice touch.

My only gripe would be the exorbitant price charged for the night before The Great north Run. I realise this is not unique to this hotel but it did leave a bitter taste when settling the bill!

Interesting experience when I ordered a cream tea and got cream cheese instead of fresh cream, but we weren't charged for the tea and coffee (I sent the cream tea back) so I left satisfied and without the calories which I didn't need anyway!

My tip would be - don't eat breakfast in the The Hotel, not because there was anything wrong with the hotel breakfast, but there are some lovely breakfast spots in Jesmond (Arlo and The Fat Hippo)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_Dave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

We take all comments made on board and I would like to apologise for the mix up with the fresh cream - I am pleased this got rectified.


Congratulations on completing the Great North Run and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 853 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Arrived late as our plane was delayed and we were warmly welcomed by the lady on reception and had no problem getting a drink from the bar. The room was great with free water, kitkats and orange juice which were replenished daily. Even though the hotel was on a main road we didn't here any road noise at all or any noise from the other guests and the bed was really comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

We travel quite a lot to Newcastle and stayed in a few hotels and this will definately be the one will come back too, because of the service and the easy access to town

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrowbridgeCheeselet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Wow! Thank you for a fantastic review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to Newcastle!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Holiday Inn is well located, very near the Jesmond Metro station. It has clearly undergone a major refurbishment recently - the room was quiet, very well appointed and had some complimentary food and drink (a nice change from the minibar mentality!). Staff were helpful when needed and breakfast was better than average for similar hotels. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay near the centre of Newcastle.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for excellent feedback!

We look forward to you visiting us again soon in the near future!



Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Quite a small but recently refurbished hotel near the city centre of Newcastle. Although it's located on a dual carriageway the room was very quiet. It's also about a 2 minute walk away from Jesmond metro station which means it's convenient for getting out and about. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting newcastle.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review on your recent stay with us!

We really appreciate your positive feedback and hope you will visit us again when you travel brings you back to the area!


Kind Regards


Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here at the end of september whilst in Newcastle for a function at the Thistle Hotel in town. The hotel is presented in a modern fashion, with easy access into Newcastle. Rooms are big enough and extremely clean with good sized bathrooms.The staff were very attentive and i was greeted warmly on arrival and at check out. The hotel has an under cover garage which is a bonus if your unpacking your car whilst its raining. I would recommend this for anyone visiting the North East anytime soon.

Room Tip: A very good and well kept hotel worth a look
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auris246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

What a fantastic review - Thank you!

We hope to see you again very soon!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the HI Jesmond and was very impressed. Checkin staff were very efficient and courteous, room service arrived swiftly, really good food (wasn't cheap but to be expected unfortunately). Basic WIFI was free which was great as having to pay for WIFI is a massive bug bear of mine, however the speeds offered were not quick enough to download a film on my Sky Go app which was a little frustrating. So in essence, the token free WIFI is exactly that, token, and not very practical. Rooms a decent size, clean and modern and nice big shower.

Free on site parking very good also.

Breakfast food was good and service ok.

I would definitely stay here again and regretted my decision to stay down the road at the HI Washington for the following nights to be closer to where I needed to be, would sooner have driven the 20 mins each way!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameshv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond, we are pleased you will stay with us again on your future travels, we will look forward to that!



Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at the Holiday Inn in Jesmond, so handy for town, the metro and bus routes, and a very big plus for us a large undercover garage. There was no charge for this! The bedrooms are large and the bathroom couldn't be faulted, unless you really want a bath. Everything was spotless, the staff friendly and efficient, so why is this hotel only 17th rated by other trip advisors?
I loved the mini fridge and who could complain if there are KitKats waiting there for you?

Room Tip: Much traffic on Jesmond Road, which might disturb your sleep if in a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Wow! What a great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future!


Kind Regards

Amy McCauley
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#2 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $69 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing