We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$95
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$81
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$105
$88
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$70
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$48
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$80
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Village Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$93
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveler rating
375
361
103
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
361
103
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecomplimentary watermetro stationbusy roadosborne roadan italian restaurantfree car parkingkit katfree wifimini fridgemain roadleave the carexecutive roomgood sizereception staffmodern hotelwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
668 - 673 of 886 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was surprised when the charge for this stay showed up on my credit card statement as the Imperial Hotel. Apparently that’s what it was before it became a Holiday Inn. And the hotel had three features I have not come across before in Holiday Inns, a heated towel rail, a glass-fronted fridge and an electronic “Do not disturb” sign.

The hotel is a very short distance from the Jesmond Metro station. Take no notice of Google maps’ walking route from the station. It will take you half a mile or more around the houses. Take the “Sandyford Road offices” exit from the station, even though you are not going to Sandyford Road!. Turn left outside the Metro entrance passage onto Jesmond Road and you will find the hotel just past the first traffic lights.

My welcome was efficient and very friendly. Likewise the checking-out. I got no Holiday Inn Rewards benefit that I am aware of unless the free wi-fi was one. The problem with that was that you had to ask for a new login every day!

It was good that face flannels were provided though as you can never depend on this in the UK I had brought my own. As usual, no shaving/makeup mirror in the bathroom. And no hairdryer. There was an iron and ironing board.

The room was medium-sized and there was a stain on a lampshade. But there were no significant problems and I enjoyed my stay. The number of TV channels was middling and I had no wish to watch the Russian propaganda channel provided!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your stay, we are delighted to read positive comments on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

All of our bedrooms do have hairdryers, although they can be hidden sometimes! They can be found either in the draw, in the wardrobe or underneath the desk.

We hope you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip and was really pleased that I'd booked this hotel.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with plenty of room for working.

The staff were really helpful and pleasant and ordered taxis for me which was an absolute lifesaver!

I ordered room service on one of the nights - the selection of food was good and the quality was great.

Overall, really pleased with my stay and would definitely recommend others to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frickandfrack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent attention, rooms are very clean, restaurant and bar have a really good personal. rooms are quite noisy but with the jetlag you can deal with it.

This one have a free internet which is good when you are in a business trip.

Room Tip: Reserve it in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Znatch_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed with friends for one night as part of a theme night in the hotel which is just out of the main city centre of Newcastle. 10 - 15 minutes walk from the city centre or £3 in a taxi. Covered parking for 80 cars on a first come first served basis with enough head room to allow access for a 4x4 or mini bus. Found the reception bright, cheerful and clean. Check in staff were friendly and helpful with no problems allocating our room. Our room was on the first floor with en suite facilities. The room was clean and fresh with a comfortable double bed which gave us a good nights sleep. Our evening theme night had a meal included and even with over 100 guests the meals were served without any problems, being both hot and tasty. Again the staff serving the meals and those in the bar were cheerful and friendly. Breakfast was included in a buffet style with pleanty of choice including a cooked full English breakfast which set us up for the day after a few drinks the night before. Breakfast staff were helpful, cheerful and friendly. Wheel chair access appeared to be suitable with lifts and ramps. Our room would have been a bit cramped for wheel chair access but I am sure a suitable room would be available on request. We live within twenty miles of the hotel so we would usually travel home from Newcastle but, if we needed somewhere to stay in Newcastle we would return to the Holiday Inn, Jesmond.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChopsyNorthumbria_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is a delight to read such fantastic comments regarding the hotel, staff and service we provide! Thank you!

We are so thankful that you will use the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond when visiting Newcastle!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Ive stayed at this hotel a few times recently and wanted to share my experiences of such a great hotel.

The hotel has been here for years but only a Holiday Inn for the past 18 months or so but it so much better than the previous years when it was a Swallow Hotel.

The rooms vary in set up, some with a walk in shower area, some with a bath with shower over it, but all rooms ive been in have had fantastic facilities from the very modern decoration, spotless bathroom and spacious bed area.

All rooms have a large widescreen tv on the wall with a good selection of channels, the beds are so so comfortable with great pillows (usually Holiday Inn choice), mini bar that has actually been stocked plus the usual tea coffee etc. Exec rooms have an ironing board in the rooms also. Very large rooms overall

The communal areas of the hotel are very modern with good service and quality, although ive never had dinner in the hotel the room service quality was great and better than other Holiday Inn hotels ive visited. The hotel is right on the busy A1058 but even in rooms facing that road there is no noise impact.

Only drawbacks are the floors are a bit of a maze when trying to find your room, with three seperate lifts at each end and the middle of the ground floor, make sure you note which lift takes you to your room or you will be wandering around for a while.

It is great to see a city hotel actually not charging for using the car park, it is on two floors but it isnt massive so if the hotel is full or has an event on you might have a problem finding a space to park in, on my recent stay there was an event on and I had to find a side street to park on which wasnt ideal, perhaps the hotel should keep priority on these limited spaces for actual guests staying in the hotel, or only free for actual guests whilst any non guests pay to use it.

It has great transport links, being right beside the A1058 junction of the A167(M) going around Newcastle City Centre, a walk of 10-15 mins and your right in the city or only one Metro stop away from the city from Jesmond Metro station which is one minute walk beside the hotel, this can really help save on expensive city centre parking costs unless there are a few of you.

All in id certainly recommend this hotel as the best hotel ive stayed in whilst in this area

Room Tip: Ask which lift to use in order to get to your room as they are at opposite ends of a very long building
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is a delight to read such fantastic comments regarding the hotel, Thank you!

We take on board the comments made regarding the carpark, thank you for your feedback.

We are so thankful that you reccommend the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond to your friends and family!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Wishes,

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews