We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights on 6th and 7th October. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful as were the restaurant and bar staff. The room was comfortable, clean and very quiet if not a little bit cold. There were two wedding receptions on the Saturday night, but we did not hear any noise at all in our room. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and in the bar on the second night. Both meals were very good. Excellent choice of food at breakfast - cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt or a full cooked breakfast. With free car parking, a Metro station 2 minutes away and only a 15 minute walk to the town centre, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Newcastle. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandyoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your comments with everyone within the hotel.

We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    319
    92
    23
    14
See reviews for
131
214
35
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Newcastle University for their Open Day and were delighted with the standard of rooms, friendly staff and very nice restaurant attached to the hotel. It is very convenient both for the universities and town centre all within a 15 minute walk.

We were able to leave the car for free even though we had checked out and this was a real bonus. Friendly staff both in the restaurant and on reception helped with directions.

The only downsides are the road outside which is quite noisy if you want to open the windows and we did have to wait quite a while for our drinks in the restaurant but would definitely return when visiting Newcastle again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond, we welcome all opportunities to improve our products and services we offer to our guests and I have taken on board all comments made.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to hotels and we hope you will choose Holiday Inn – Newcastle Jesmond for your future travel needs.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends over the Great North Run weekend. It is certainly convenient for the city centre and rail links (though finding it was difficult - not the fault of the hotel but of the woeful signposting on main roads coming into Newcastle). The rooms and facilities are fine, even if the corporate decor and carpeting in the public areas is rather lurid. Service at reception and bar was polite but slow, understandable allowing for the busy weekend. All in all it is a perfectly adequate hotel, comfortable and reasonably priced, but be careful with the restaurant - decidedly under par and less than ordinary on this occasion. I would stay there again but eat elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scottieLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and take on board the comments your made regarding the resturant, we welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyme regis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really good position for the city centre with free parking!
Bar was friendly with sensible prices.
Helpful staff, rooms clean and comfortable and a good choice for breakfast.
We will definitly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieLyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travel brings you back to the area.


Kind Regards

Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I particularly wanted to stay in Jesmond on a short visit to Newcastle and so chose this hotel for location, free parking and price. I would definitely stay here again. Having booked the cheapest room, I was really happy with the furnishings, the bed was really comfortable, there was a large wall mounted tv and a fridge in the room with free kit-kats, fruit juice and bottled water. The bathroom was clean and beautifully decorated. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite. There was a metro station close by, but we didn't use it as the hotel is close to the centre of town with a slowish 20 minute walk to the Millenium Bridge via the Biscuit Factory-well worth a visit as the art on sale is amazing-you can just browse there's no pressure to buy and it has a good cafe. The first evening , never having been to Newcastle before, we ate in Fratello's (attached to the Holiday Inn) purely for convenience. It was reasonably priced-2 starters, 3 mains and a bottle of Shiraz was £51-the main meals were a bit bland, but the warm bread & olives we had as a starter were delicious and the wine was good. Overall we thought the meal was ok but nothing special. so we were pleasantly surprised next morning as the buffet breakfast in Fratello's was really good with lots of fresh fruit including strawberries, blueberries and blackberries and a good selection of hot food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stauy with us and would stay again.

We have took on board your comments made regarding the Restaurant and always welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to your next visit with us,

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times now whilst on business in Newcastle. It is one of the better Holiday Inns I have stayed in having been recently refurbished. The rooms are well appointed and very clean and the shower is excellent. Only minor niggle, which is common to many hotels, is that there is no shelf in the bathroom to put your washbag!

The restaurant serves good quality Italian food although the pizza choices are all a little similar. Service is excellent and there is a good wine list. Breakfast is also very good, usual buffet style but they do make the tea and toast for you!

The hotel offers free wifi and car parking which is unusual for a city centre hotel these days but certainly very welcome. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodation in Newcastle.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hi there, Nirvana Europe who handles Great North Run transports and bookings, were great and everything was ready, inclusive of a runner's breakfast which started 545am, and menu during the weekend to support training. Staff very helpful during this busy weekend. Extremely clean and tidy.

Jesmond Metro tube station is only down the road, which is incredibly handy, but I preferred to walk to city centre and to places, to make most of the nice weather. Everything is local. The double ensuite I had, felt much premium than Holiday Inns I remember, and was well stocked and very comfortable.

Breakfast Buffet was perfect and ideal. Restaurant and Bar staff attentive and very friendly. Front desk at all hours were at hand to help with any taxi bookings and directions. Did not seek out the mini gym, as I had enough exercise with the Half Marathon! Night times very very quiet, good to get proper restful sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjenfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a excellent review on the Holiday Inn - Newcastle Jesmond.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose us again when your travel brings you back to Newcastle.

Kind Regards


Amy Callanan
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Address: Jesmond Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond is conveniently just 2 minutes by Metro from Newcastle's City Centre. The quirky bars and restaurants of affluent Jesmond are right on our doorstep, and we're only a 10-minute stroll from the atmospheric terraces of St James's Park, home of Newcastle United FC. Located only 20 minutes from Newcastle International Airport. The hotel's well-equipped meeting rooms are ideal for conferences, and complimentary wireless Internet throughout makes it easy to stay in touch with the office. Unwind after a day of meetings and socialise over drinks in the stylish Terrace Bar. Jesmond Metro station is right next to the hotel, providing easy access to Newcastle's fine shopping, dining and entertainment. Closer to the hotel, Newcastle's vibrant Quayside is renowned for its nightlife and overlooks the River Tyne. Stroll down to Fratello's, Holiday Inn Newcastle-Jesmond's street-side Italian restaurant, and watch as chefs toss the dough to make our delightfully crispy pizza. In the adjoining glass-fronted Lobby, colleagues and friends meet and mingle. After a busy day, retreat to your contemporary Guest room which features wireless internet connection and a TV that allows you to save programmes for a time that suits you. The hotel's Fratello's restaurant is popular for its wood-fired pizza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing