We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Newcastle upon Tyne
Post
Inbox
Search

“Don't fill up on salad bar - as you'll have less room for the meat!!”

Rio Brazilian Steakhouse
Price range: $22 - $39
Description: Let us take you on a culinary journey into the Tijuca Urban Forest that surrounds Rio de Janeiro, with planted walls and flowered ceilings towering high above a traditional Brazilian Churrasco dining experience, right here in Jesmond. Our specially trained Gaucho Chefs are on hand to serve our exquisite meat cuts that are continuously carved at the table in a traditional Rodizio style.
Restaurant details
Description: Let us take you on a culinary journey into the Tijuca Urban Forest that surrounds Rio de Janeiro, with planted walls and flowered ceilings towering high above a traditional Brazilian Churrasco dining experience, right here in Jesmond. Our specially trained Gaucho Chefs are on hand to serve our exquisite meat cuts that are continuously carved at the table in a traditional Rodizio style.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being given advice at the start NOT to fill up on the salad bar so we could really make the most of the meat was refreshingly good advice. Many people tuck into the large range of things in the salad bar then cannot manage much meat. Good range of meats at lunchtime (cheaper then) and friendly helpful service (Joe). We brought something to entertain 3yr old but consider crayons & colouring/puzzle sheets for children for the lunchtime period at weekends/school hols. Will go back again, really enjoyed the meal - and the range of meats.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hull_is_great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384customerr, Other at Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hull_is_great,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing 5* review of your visit to Rio.

We were pleased to read your kind words about our team, they certainly do all they can to provide a high standard of service, especially Joe who looked after you this time and did an excellent job.

We are so delighted you have had such a great experience and enjoyed our delicious selection of meats and our gourmet salad bar.
We definitely agree that all of our wonderful cuts should be tasted at least once. With a selection of 16 succulent cuts of meat served right at your table at dinner and 12 for lunchtime, coupled with a plethora of options on our salad bar, from hot and cold sides, Brazilian dishes as Feijoada, farofa, cheeses, potatoes, and much more options, there is a flavour for everyone at Rio.

About the crayons & coloring/puzzle sheets for children, we are already sorting it.
It has being ordered and will arrive very soon.
I apologize and hope the kids enjoy and entertain better next time.
Again, thanks for the feedback and for the reminder.

We hope to see you soon at Rio!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Top tip - arrive hungry and plan to leave full. If you like meat this place is a delight. I think I counted that we sampled (or devoured) over 14 different meat cuts and all were delicious, beautifully cooked and seasoned, and great theatre - it’s pretty much eat as must and as often as you like. There was also a great selection of salads, potato’s etc to accompany the meat. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Dimit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384customerr, Other at Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dimit65,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us such amazing feedback.

We are extremely proud of our salad bar offering plenty of choice from warm dishes such as the Feijoada and potatoes to delicious cheeses, breads, cured meats and lovely and tasty salad options, these provide the perfect accompaniment to our delicious cuts of meats.

I hope you were also able to try one of our beautiful wine pairings, or even a tropical cocktail which go perfectly with the selection available on our menu.

We are also proud to serve only premium quality cuts of meat. We have 12 options for lunch time and 16 at dinner. We believe that each of the different cuts of steak brings a unique texture and flavour. A lot of time goes into sourcing these meats from the best suppliers and cooking them slowly in our grill in the traditional Brazilian way.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a fantastic lunch here this afternoon. The staff - Kenny and Rodrigo looking after us were superb, as was the food. An amazing selection of fresh meats with the minted lamb being a particular highlight! I look forward to visiting again!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank brettmT7215TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384customerr, Other at Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brett M,

Thanks for the excellent 5* review! It’s really great to hear you had such a lovely time with us on your recent visit.

We are very proud of the service, atmosphere and quality in everything we offer our guests from the meat to salads, wines and cocktails. We are very glad you to hear that you enjoyed our unique dining experience. We offer 12 different cuts for lunchtime and 16 different cuts for dinner which our passadores carve at your table in a continuous table-side service.

We have a lively atmosphere and something to offer for everyone from couples, families, office parties and large groups! I will pass to our team your kind comments about their service, especially Kenny and Rodrigo.

We are now waiting you for dinner next time so you can try and enjoy all the 16 premium cuts we offer!!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kenny was a lovely waiter , food was great and service even better from kenny. Will be returning for Valentine’s Day!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Breerose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384customerr, Other at Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Elli Maggs,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave an amazing 5* review of your visit!!

It's brilliant to hear how much you enjoyed Rio and our selection of meats, as we pride ourselves on these, paired with our lovely selection of hot and cold sides, Brazilian dishes, and much more on the salad bar, there's always something new to try!

I will also pass on your lovely comments to our staff, especially Kenny, who always appreciate when their service is recognised.

We hope that you were able to try all the 16 different premium cuts of meats available on our menu and saved some space to our home made delicious desserts!

We already look forward to welcoming you again for Valentine’s Day!!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Food was amazing, and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank julieg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
384customerr, Other at Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear julieg123,

A huge thank you for taking the time to leave an amazing 5* review of your visit!!

It's brilliant to hear how much you enjoyed Rio and our selection of meats, as we pride ourselves on these, paired with our lovely selection of hot and cold sides, Brazilian dishes, and much more on the salad bar, there's always something new to try!

I will also pass on your lovely comments to our staff, who always appreciate when their service is recognised.

We hope that you were able to try all the 16 different premium cuts of meats available on our menu and saved some space to our home made delicious desserts!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Rio Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing