We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for a city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I have stayed in Newcastle on business a number of times over the last year and have tried a number of hotels in the city ranging from large 4 star chains to boutique style smaller hotels. During this time the Station has been undergoing a refurb so I have stayed there while a large amount of work has been going on to bring it up to date, but now that the work is drawing to a close the Hotel is just outstanding value for a city centre hotel.
It has maintained its traditional feel with huge glistening chandeliers in the lobby, and the decor in all public areas are simialr but the rooms have been given a much more contemporary feel with flat screen tvs, modern bathrooms and large and very comfortable beds. a nice extra touch are the drinks and kit kats in the room fridge which rather than being outrageously overpriced as is normally the case, are instead complementary. It is literally right next to Newcastle Central Train but unless you are a very light sleeper it isnt an issue re noise. The upside is that everything in the city centre is walking distance away. I havent used the gym or pool so cant comment on those facilities but these really are a bonus with the hotel being such great value for money. Drinks in the bar are close to regular bar prices which makes a change and staff are friendly and helpful. Oh and there is free wi fi in all areas whcih when you are on business is really useful. At almost half the price of some of the 4 stars in the city its just great value for money and ideal for either business or a weekend city break.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,757 - 1,763 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

Just had another great stay at the Royal Station Hotel. The refurbishment is excellent what a difference this has made. The room we had ( 300 ) was first class, spotless with free orange juice, water chocolates in fridge. Check in very smooth with polite and friendly staff, the General manager handed me a super desk top diary on arrival which was just what i was looking for !
Leisure facilities were good, Sue on the desk very helpful and showed us around even offered us a coffee when sitting relaxing in the lounge area. Customer service was very good, breakfast hot and plenty of selection. Wireless internet a bonus and i think has been recently upgraded as we had no problems on this stay at all.
To be honest i have stayed in 5 star hotels many times and am suprised this Hotel is only running as a 3 star, its much more than that anyday.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purcy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I arrived at the central station so i was very pleased that the hotel is right next to the station. It is possible to always get taxis and get everywhere by foot or metro.
The Staff was very nice and food was fine.
I have never had to pass through sooo many doors and walk stairs up and down again to get to my room... the building is so hold and the floors arent all level. They must have put me in the furthest room. The room was very old but renovated to some extent. I had important things to deal with and didnt ask for a new room when the water didnt get hot whatsoever.
The next day i was told that i had to let the water flow freely in the sink and the shower 15 MINUTES prior to taking a shower so i might get some WARM? WATER? I didnt feel right so i showered under the ice cold water.
The Internet was down for my entire 4 day stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerKat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed in room 200, a superior room and it only cost us £60 for the night. It was actually cheaper to book direct through the hotels website than on here. We arrived at about 2:30pm and managed to check in straight away and I was very suprised to find that the parking was free at the back of the hotel. Bonus!!!

The reception and general areas of the hotel were immaculate and very nicely refurbished and decorated. We headed to our room and found it to be very large with plenty of space and very clean. The bed was huge and the sheets and pillows smelled lovely. The bathroom was adequate and had a 3/4 bath with power shower over the top, and plenty of toiletries and towels available. The room had a seperate dressing area with wardrobe (with a safe in it for your valuables) and another dressing table and chairs so that was very handy. And the main room itself was still very large. It had a mini fridge with everything in it complimentary, morning tray with plenty of tea and coffee, another workstation, flat screen tv and access for the internet if you required it. We used the hotel wifi and found it to be good (you have to ring reception for the code)

After we unpacked and had a laze around for a bit we headed to the leisure facilities as these were also free and one of the main reasons I wanted to stay at this hotel. We were not dissapointed! They were fantastic! You got a clean towel each after signing in at reception (remember your check-in reciept as you need to prove you're a hotel guest) got changed in the private changing rooms and headed downstairs to the spa area. In the first section there was a shower area, steam room (superb), sauna (great), and plunge pool (only for the brave!). The second area had the pool and the spa pool (very hot and bubbly). There was also a relaxation area and a tanning booth (pay extra for that). We were there an hour at 5pm and the only ones there apart from 1 other lady! There was a gym upstairs but we didn't use that but it looked well equiped. We later went out for the night and came home quite early to relax in the lovely room.

We both had a fantastic nights sleep and went for breakfast around 9am (buffet style, tea and coffee poured for you, plenty of selection and extras that you can request if desired). The man on the breakfast duty was very chirpy and it was nice there was some subtle background music on. Checked out at 10am very very happy bunnies.

Only bad points: (would hardly make them an issue to anyone but might as well mention them here)
1) We weren't asked when we checked out if we enjoyed our stay. I did and wanted to tell them how happy I was!
2) The leisure club corridoor areas absolutly stank of feet or sweat or something. Good job we were only walking through them for 10 seconds!
3) There was only single glazing on the hotel window and 1 very small radiator. While the room was sufficiently warm through the night for me I could imagine it could be cooler (and noisier!) for others. Our solution was to tire yourself out so much in the pool that you sleep like a log!

All in all a very very nice stay in a lovely hotel. I will definatly stay in the superior rooms again and visit the leisure club! Thank you RSH

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyMuffinPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

i was with my sister in law.. we were going to see the scissor sisters and then some retail theropy on the saturday....i'd booked a normal twin room and when we got to the hotel we found that we'd been upgraded at no extra cost to a superior twin room. great room,compfy big beds, clean and huge.with the added bonus of a free mini bar..we had no problems at all with the staff..from start to finish we found everyone to be helpful and pleasent..

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kroy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

hotel was booked for my daughters wedding we had over 100 guests during the day and even more at the night time.What a FANTASTIC day and night we had.The management and staff couldn't have done more for us the master of ceremonies was brilliant.The food was served hot to all guests and was a very high standard.I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for somewhere to hold a family function.thank you to all concerned the perfect day for my daughter and new son in law.I DO NOT WORK FOR THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toonjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here for one tuesday night with my partner to attend an event at the Arena. The hotel itself is nice enough. The room was big. Very comfy bed, nice bathroom, decor etc. The major problem is, when they've refurbished the rooms, they've missed the most important thing needed, seconday glazing. We went to bed around 12:30. The drunks were dragging themselves to the metro, directly below our room till around 3am, shouting and singing. The sirens went on pretty much all night. The bin truck turned up at 5:45am, making an amazing amount of noise, then the brewery delivery for the pub under the hotel arrived at 6:40am. I actually didnt get to sleep the whole night. Worst hotel ever if you want to sleep. I'll never go back there. Ruined our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jember075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,228 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $61 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing