We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great and historical hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I got a very spacious and modern room with excellent bathroom. We really love this hotel and it grand staircases, chandeliers and friendly atmosphere. We have stayed three times over the last years. The location is really convenient when we arrive from the airport by train. We enjoy Newcastle a lot because of what it has to offer with regard to culture and the arts. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    650
    316
    129
    121
See reviews for
194
601
192
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great central location attached to the train station. Have stayed many times to visit the theatre or any of the many local pubs. Can sometimes hear the nightlife but it is the city centre. Impressive lobby with a large stairway and huge chandelier. Good choice at breakfast. Would recommend for a stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milburn990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very good hotel located right next to the station with excellent sound insulation which kept out any noise from the street and railway. It has a very historical feel and our room ,a superior double (room no 106) was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The food at breakfast was excellent, fresh and warm. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If your travelling by train then its great off the train and straight into the hotel were the staff are excellent 1st room we got was on 4th floor and was too hot but staff were great and moved us to another room. Considering its next to train station it is very quiet. And if you've been Newcastle before then you know the nightlife is great and basically on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Top of hotel was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Mark,

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Our staff provide nothing but first class customer service and are always happy to help wherever possible, I will be sure to pass on your comments to staff on duty at the time of your stay, I'm sure they will be delighted to hear what a pleasant experience you had.

Being extremely close to transport links is always an advantage and we are literally a stone's throw away from Newcastle Central Station.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Station Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was wary because some reviews here are so negative, but it's absolutely fine. Very nice decor, spacious rooms. Noisy? Yes; it's at the train station! Still, all you hear is the odd rumble from a train, and it didn't stop me sleeping. Some people moaned about the mini bar not having much in it, but I was happy with free juice and mineral water, and several KitKats. Bathroom really lovely, good toiletries. My only tiny issue was that I always had to queue at the front desk, but I guess my visits must have coinced with busy times. It's hardly their fault. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luffsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pudley234, Manager at Royal Station Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Can I firstly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to take advantage of the complimentary mini bar and toiletries.

Our housekeeping staff work hard to maintain spotlessly clean rooms and public areas, so it is good to hear that this has not gone unnoticed, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to them.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a wait at the reception desk, we are an extremely busy hotel operating at full capacity the majority of the week, I am confident that the reception staff would have aimed to make sure you were seen to as soon as possible.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very surprised to see negative reports on this hotel as it certainly was not the findings of our group of four who stayed one night in mid June 2014.From the minute we arrived it was a pleasure to stay. Lovely rooms,spotlessly clean facilities,super breakfast and very helpful and attentive staff.We had travelled by train and found the hotel well positioned for visiting the City Centre and will certainly stay at the Royal Station Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Room on 4th floor stiflingly hot to the extent I had to take two cool showers through the night. Can't open tiny window due to noise from railway station. Was given a fan after complaining, which did nothing to help. Did change rooms after two nights from hell to much better room but was amazed to be told the staff are aware of the problem yet nothing is done about it???
Housekeeping staff all converge around lifts on floor 4 in morning and stare at you which is quite intimidating, no smiles or 'good morning.' if not there, they'll be smoking outside the back of the hotel. Very professional!
Reception staff on the whole are sullen faced and not particularly welcoming apart from lovely deputy manager.
I had no idea there was a pool I could use until I read Tripadvisor today.
Don't expect any help with your bags from the night porter, no matter what time you arrive, you'll be left to struggle through narrow doorways and up and
down stairs.
I complained and was issued a £25 refund from a £340 bill with special rates on my next stay.
Next stay???? I don't think so!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing