We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Station Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Royal Station Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel when touring England. The location is ideal but there is not a lot of parking available. We were lucky to be able to get one of the free parking spots just outside the hotel. Check in was seamless and the room was ready for us. However I didn't find the room to be very clean and the bathroom window would not shut us allowing a lot of noise into the room during the night. The young man collecting laundry on the fourth floor certainly did not like his job and was keen to tell us. The fitness centre with the hotel is certainly adequate but was not very clean either. Breakfast in the morning was delicious however and the waiting staff were excellent. We ate at the union club over the road which was certainly good British pub fare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    640
    311
    129
    121
See reviews for
187
595
188
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here last week (9th October) . Good location right in the centre of Newcastle . Rooms are okay , clean and comfortable . It can get noisy at night because of centre location in town and old building .

I will stay again , it has character which I prefer to modern hotel chains

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wallaj42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just had a weekend in Newcastle for a birthday party & stayed at the hotel, from walking in you felt welcome, the decor was wonderful throughout, staff very helpful & polite, we were well looked after & would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Newcastle. Will book their again on our next visit to this lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara19710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Myself and a group of friends stayed here for 2 nights friday 4th till the 6th of October we arrived to very friendly staff our rooms were clean and tidy the hotel is only a 8 min walk from the metro centre and only a short taxi ride in to toon cost us 7 quid for all of us to toon every night I highly recommend this hotel to every one 25 pound a night with breakfast included what more do you want!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having booked a single was pleasantly surprised to find i was given a double. Lovely room & ensuite only downside overlooking street with bars/clubs. Soooo noisy, no fault with hotel but probably could do with double glazing so you could actually sleep! With no fuss from the excellent helpful friendly staff i was moved the next day to a suite, a fabulous room! It was to the side so i thought good night's sleep ahead. Wrong! i was actually 2 floors above the hotel's nightclub! Two nights without much sleep was not a restful weekend! It would be fine for partygoers, otherwise ask for a room at the back & even though facing station would be way quieter. Amazing building, like stepping back into a golden era, could not fault cleanliness & staff, would definately return (if i had a room station side) as perfect to walk into town for shopping, bars etc. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Def ask for station side unless you are intending to be clubbing so wouldn't matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklewings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had our wedding at the Royal Station Hotel. It was a fabulous day and evening, Wedding Room was decorated beautifully, Evening set up was also excellent and we danced the night away to an excellent disco/DJ. The daytime meal and evening buffet was much more than we expected, The tables were beautifully decorated (see picture). I would definitely recommend this hotel for Wedding Functions. We also stayed overnight in a huge room, very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the staff couldn’t be kinder, all in all this in my mind is a 5* hotel. The Hotel is very handy for the train station, busses and a very short walk into the centre of Newcastle (Eldon Square), airport is only 10min drive. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO RETURNING IN THE NEAR FUTURE, NIC FROM HEXHAM

Room Tip: If you like to people watch ask for a room on the North Side, Nobody in our party had a problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicFromHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for my brothers wedding. The rooms were a good size & the staff were friendly. The staff were very accommodating, they had no problem with the party throwing confetti for the photos. The hotel has a good central location in Newcastle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#37 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing