We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our requirements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel in the centre of the city and very well located for the Quayside with all its restaurants and bars! Parked in the Station car park directly behind the hotel . Reception area is very nice as was the welcome. Room was a bit drab but perfectly adequate for our needs with crisp white sheets and towels. Very clean with all the toiletries you require and free juice water and biscuits in the mini bar! Hotel seemed very busy but the service was very good and we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. With a Wedding on and numerous hen parties spotted on their way out at night we expected quite a bit of noise late on but this did not materialise and we all had a good nights sleep. Saying that, our room was quite a way away from the main foyer area of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and was included in our room rate (which was a bargain at £110 for a triple room). We will definitely use the hotel again when returning to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
There are newer reviews for Royal Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Station Hotel for one night and I wanted to show my fiancé the sights of Newcastle with a nice hotel. We were disappointed! When we arrived it took us 10 minutes to find the car park at the back. The receptionist when I first called gave no directions and we got caught up in room works directly outside the hotel.

When we arrived the staff were very friendly and flexible. They allowed us the leave our car even though we hadn't checked in. They also tried to see if we could book in early. The room wasn't ready which was fine so we went to have a drink at Jalou. This is a fantastic bar connected to the hotel!!!!

When we came back to book in we were excited as the reception area was very grand and I was thinking we'll have something special here! WRONG! The room was small and overheated! For £70 I have stayed in some lovely hotels but we were so disappointed with what we got for our money. The reception staff gave us a fan to help with the heat. The dingy room was not what we expected! We would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

really nice hotel situated right next door to newcastle central station and a very short walk to the shopping heart of newcastle. enjoyed our stay very much. very grand foyer and staircase. helpful and friendly receptionists. rooms spotlessly clean with nice crisp cotton bedding and extra pillows, tv, complimentary toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, soap etc) fridge (with complimentary bottled water, orange juice and choc biscuits) ironing board and iron, hairdryer and dressing gowns and slippers. room was slightly smaller than i had imagined and as we were in a superior double i would think the small doubles would be tiny! the breakfast is self service and delicious. (bacon, sausages, black pudding, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, scrambled and fried eggs, toast, cereals etc) the tables are set beautiful as well. my only criticism is we couldnt find where to get a pot of tea! coffee was visible but we like tea on a morning. no matter though as there was a great selection of fresh fruit juices and thinking about it we should have asked as the staff were highly visible and very pleasant! all in all an excellent stay and this will now be my place to stay when visiting 'the toon'

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Straight off the train and into the grand reception area, this hotel is situated in the heart of the city within easy walking distance of all that Newcastle has to offer. The Hotel is classically designed and similar to others situated along the East Coast route. High ceilings and furnishing commensurate with its period provide a sense of grandeur which extends to the rooms which are spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff are very professional and courteous and happily accommodated my slightly unusual requirements. The breakfast was excellent and I was soon on my way feeling refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peebee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is an old fashioned " Station " Hotel from an era passed - slowly being upgraded with care and attention. Rooms and style are modern - ish and breakfasts first class. Adjacent to rail station and 4 to 5 mins walk from the centre. There is a Metro Station next to the hotel with a one stop link to the shops.

Well priced and an attentive staff but always worth shopping around for the best price. Rooms have free water, orange , tea/coffee and choc bars. A good selection of nearby eating places if the restaurant is to costly. Sainsbury's is 2 mins away. Well worth a visit and a short stay. Great base for train trips to Hadrian's Wall, The Sea or a City Centre shopping break. Good lifts! No A/C.

Room Tip: No Spa! Rooms at the top over weekends
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

You arrive into a grand reception, where they staff are friendly and helpful. Then they told us that our booking had been upgraded to a Superior Twin. This was a lovely room, lots of space, large screen tv, free wine, chocolate and fruit.

The bathroom made ours at home look very small, and the quality of the whole room was impressive. There was some noise from the traffic outside, but being a central city hotel, this isn't unexpected.

The restaurant was unexpectedly small, relaxed with some simple but really nice food. We thorough enjoyed our one night stay, and even considered changing other plans to see if we could stay longer.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A classic station hotel. Decent welcome. Bedroom was satisfactory without being fancy - a little tatty in places. Same applies to bathroom. Free water, juice and kitkat. Toiletries in bathroom. Extremely handy for the railway. A little noise from train was only to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $66 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing