We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Station Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, good breakfast. Stayed as a family of four in one room (Room 231) and teenage daughter couldn't find anything to moan about. More like a suite than a simple room. Nice to stay somewhere with a bit of character as opposed to an anonymous chainhotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 231 if travelling as family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archib0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    583
    292
    118
    110
See reviews for
168
521
175
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very grand hotel. 2 minutes walk from station which was ideal. Amazing when you first walk in. Stayed in a small double room on floor 4 and room was very small. Would be more acceptable as a single. Free chocolate and juice in mini fridge was a bonus. Overall it was a great hotel & stay other than you had to purchase drinks from the bar/room service or buy them from the shop and bring in with you, some kind of vending machine would be a great advantage.

Only downfall was that I was woken numerous times over the night and early hours of the morning by doors slamming from other rooms. Think they need to get someone to look at the hinges or something to make them close quieter as I didn't actually sleep longer than about an hour at a time without being woken by a door slamming.

Room Tip: Couples do not book a small double. VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephLeam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a night out in Newcastle close to the city centre and bars staff were really helpful and friendly the rooms are nice and big with comfy bed and free toiletries plenty of towels room was clean would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Royal station hotel as we were going to the Tyne Theatre for the evening, it was just a couple of minutes walk (once we found it). We drove from Scotland which was straight forward but could easily have gone by train and had just a few more metres to walk once off the train, it was THAT close to the station. Despite being so close to the station the noise was minimal from the trains and we were desturbed more by other guests than from the trains, even then it was only once in the night. The meal we had in the restaurant was delicious and good value for money - the wine (as always in hotels) was overpriced, but very nice.
Would definately stay at this hotel again when visiting Newcastle.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a club room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A great hotel with very friendly staff who were very approachable. The location of it was perfect if you are travelling by train, a very useful map was provided when I checked in too. The room was very nice, the mini fridge had some drinks and kit kats in which was free and was a nice touch. One day I thought it might rain and the hotel staff gave me an umbrella to borrow which was very nice. There was lots of choice at breakfast and the waitresses were very polite. Wifi was available, however you did have to keep getting a code from reception every day as it only lasted 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was moved to Royal Station due to my original hotel being overbooked and was pleasantly suprised. Beautiful old building with some really nice original features. Quick check in, pleasant staff and free wifi. Fairly small double room but totally adequate and very clean. I used room service - quick to deliver and reasonably priced, huge portions that would have fed 2! I travel to Newcastle regularly on business and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseglx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Station Hotel

Property: Royal Station Hotel
Address: Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Station
Royal Station Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing