We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant amazing bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have dinned her many times the food is outstanding, The staff are brilliant and i keep going back.
its got something for everyone never stayed in hotel but have spoke to many people that have and it great.

the food is worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebabydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 554 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a group of 37 in September. The staff could not have been more kind or helpful as some of our group were elderly. Yes, the bedrooms had jazzy carpets and the rooms were a little "dated", but they were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. The food was very good and they catered for diet requests. Obviously we didn't pay £200 a night, but for what we did pay we all felt we had good value and our coach driver felt he could recommend the hotel to other firms as this was the first time he'd used it. It was only a short walk to the Metro and a bus to the centre of Newcastle stopped right outside - very convienient.

Room Tip: We overlooked Osborne Rd but didn't have any problem sleeping. (Room 118)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

For £200/night you can get an executive room. For £200/night, you pay for space and two single beds joined together to make a super king bed. For £200/night, you pay to listen to people walk down the corridor and also next door taking a shower!! For £200/night, there is no temperature control in the room so it gets very stuffy. For £200/night, you can get a better room elsewhere!!
Breakfast is included and what a shambles it was. The staff were not welcoming or warm. They were busy talking amongst themselves or pretending to look busy. The breakfast area was chaotic, cups/mugs were all over the place and not tidy or in a particular arrangement, and there was weetabix all over the buffet table but staff could not be bothered to clean it up. The blinds in the breakfasting area were dirty and dusty. The F&B manager should pay more attention to detail and train catering staff to a good standard.
My friend was directed to use the disabled toilet on the ground floor and the toilet bowl was loose and water was flowing out from underneath it!! Imagine if a disabled person had actually used it and had an accident in there!
The whole place needs a good shake-up! Would not return here ever again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_L56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I say that because we visited the hotel as a function evening and we were allowed a live band until around 11pm. Personally, I'm not sure if I would fancy staying somewhere when it could be quite noisy in the evening, especially seeing as the next day was the Great North Run! However, the room were the function was held was at the far end of the hotel, so I could be wrong about the noise factor.

The meal we had was pleasant enough - we were offered several choices per course, but there were several little niggles. For a start the whole three course took two hours to be served. That may be alright for a wedding, but most people were unhappy with the wait between courses. Also the 'seasonal vegetables' were bit weird as they weren't suitable for all the offered options - for example you wouldn't expect roast potatoes, carrots, courgette and green beans with a goat's cheese and red pepper tartlet would you? I was hoping for a salad with it but hey ho. Also it would have nice to have some vegetables out on the tables to help ourselves to, but then I think there was too much clutter on the table to fit anything else on.

The evening itself was very pleasant and the staff were all very friendly. Our only criticism would be those mentioned above and that the toilets weren't the cleaniest. Other than that I can imagine it being quite popular as it close enough to Newcastle to be useful for trips etc, but with enough distance to not be too busy and noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

One night stop over, the staff, room and hotel were great. Parking not a problem and in great proximity to all Jesmond has to offer. Would highly recommend and will definitely return when visiting our daughter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labradorWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I’ve stayed at this hotel 3 times in total, always used the suite (room 208 I think) Very spacious and clean, 2 good sized flat screen TV's. the room looked out on to Osborne Road had a very large comfortable bed with heaps of pillows, the bathroom was large with double shower + plenty of towels, and living room was comfortable. Bath robes and slippers a nice treat also. The bar adjoining the Hotel Billabong is very lively and you are spoilt for choice regarding other local Bars and Restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel, Breakfast is really good buffet style with decent coffee a plus, staff are great, special mention to Laura could not meet a nicer more helpful person a true professional and a major credit to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nesham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am writing this review for my husband who recently went on a stag weekend and stayed at the Caledonian for 2 nights. When checking in the staff were very helpful and had a bit of banter with them. The rooms were very clean, spacious but a little dated, eg the hair dryer in the bathroom was older than my husband, this said the rooms had everything you could possibly need with a wonderful hot powerful shower. The breakfast was buffet style, very tasty and clean but the scrambled egg wasn't the best. The staff in the restaurant were very polite, helpful and could not do enough for you. Overall I would recommend this hotel for large groups or couples looking for good nightlife but not for families as the hotel can still be active in the morning (3/4 am) as there were at least 4 stag/hen parties staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#42 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
126 reviews
0 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#69 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel Newcastle

Address: Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $63 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Caledonian Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing