We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
York, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a 4-star hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at the Copthorne on a 'Great North Run' package. The prices for all hotels all in the area were extremely high so whilst we accepted this would be the case, it meant that we paid a lot of money for a very average hotel. We travel regularly and this hotel just doesn't compete with other 4-star hotels, including The Hilton which is nearby. On the plus side the location on the Quayside is great, and we had no problem walking to the train station and city centre. This might be tricky for those with mobility problems as it is quite a hilly walk. At check-in we stood ignored for about 5 minutes until someone acknowledged us. At the time we were the only people waiting to check-in and there were 4 members of staff behind the desk, so it seemed odd. The member of staff wasn't particularly pleasant or friendly and we weren't offered any information other than the room number, so had to ask about things like breakfast etc. This information is available in the rooms, but our experience is that a bit of helpful info is usually offered at check-in. The room was spacious and clean, with a nice view of the Tyne, but as often commented on here, it is looking dated. The bed was small but comfortable and we were able to get a good nights sleep. Bathroom toiletries were very basic. The desk didn't have a chair which wasn't a problem for us but would be for business travellers. There was only 1 chair at the table and the cover was badly ripped, exposing the foam.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night after a few drinks in the bar. The staff were all very polite and pleasant, but it just seemed disorganised. I didn't think it was particularly busy but maybe they were short-staffed. It was just minor things really but they tend to add up. For example, we had a drinks order taken in the bar but 10 minutes later realised he was never coming back! Despite making a reservation for the restaurant we had to hang around waiting to be seated while staff basically ignored us. The waiter didn't offer a drinks menu, or ask about what drinks we'd like. He was walking away after taking our food order when we asked for drinks. We really enjoyed the food though and the prices were good. Breakfast was ok, better on the Monday when we ordered the hot food, rather than the buffet at weekend which was limited in choice and fairly cold. There always seemed to be a queue for the toaster which didn't seem like a good system.

I believe the health club is separately owned, but this also needs improvements. The pool is fairly nice and there is a sauna & steam room, but the changing room (women's) was an absolute disgrace. I used it in the morning but already the bins were overflowing and rubbish (including a nappy) was on the floor. The drains were partially blocked with hair, and there was hair all over the tiled walls of the shower cubicles. The place needed a good clean. Thankfully it was free to use as it wouldn't be worth paying for.

There was a slight problem at check-out too because the bill was inaccurate. It listed 'inclusive breakfast' rate but then charged for breakfast one morning - £31.50 which would have been way overpriced. This was corrected though when I pointed it out. I would think about staying here again if I got an absolute bargain of a deal but quite honestly there are much better choices in the area so it's unlikely.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matandbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, P.A. at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your observations on TripAdvisor. We have now reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us on the "Great North Run" package.

Firstly, may I sincerely apologise for the length of time you waited at check-in and for our failure to acknowledge you and provide you with fundamental information to help you during your stay. We also regret the billing inaccuracy, this was due to human error and your comments have highlighted training issues which will be addressed as soon as possible.

We have also taken account of your experience both in the bar and at breakfast and regret our failure in the service you received; we were however pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you felt our prices were good. We also thank you for your constructive comments on our breakfast product.

With regards to the Leisure Club, this is totally unacceptable and your feedback has been referred to the Company who manage this.

Thank you once again for your comments which are very important to us and vital in helping us to improve our service. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    607
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
200
659
71
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tasmania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in July. Excellent location with good views of the River Tyne. Rooms are of a good size and are comfortable and cozy, but do need refurbishing. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taskatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for response which is very important to us.

We appreciate your comments regarding the bedrooms and this will be addressed as part of our planned refurbishment programme.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.


Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Great location right on the Quayside and a little bit more select than many local hotels who attract the stag/hen do's!
We had an upgraded, superior room, which was well appointed and came with a couple of free drinks at the bar. Bar well stocked but lacking atmosphere and a little pricey.
Breakfast was a buffet and was average with food not kept particularly hot.
Staff very friendly and approachable.
Hotel has it's own car park (payment required) and is reasonably secure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Dear Guest

We were delighted to read that you liked the location of the hotel on the Quayside and that you found your room to be well appointment.

Your comment that the food at breakfast was not particularly hot has been passed to our Head Chef for attention.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely



Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Along with other reviewers, disappointed to find that this once smart hotel has become grubby and tatty in the last year or so. Had 2 faults in bedroom (lukewarm shower, door wouldn't lock properly when you left it) but these were rectified when requested. Iron was missing but replaced immediately. Restaurant staff a mixed bunch of friendly and helpful and not interested. 2 courses with wine and coffee for £15 was a bit of a hit and miss - main course of sea bream was literally that - no veg, salad, potatoes etc! Good rates on the internet and glad I wasn't paying the full rate! With lots of empty rooms would be a good opportunity to clean the bedroom carpets. No wifi Internet access in rooms and cabled access very expensive - why not free wifi like their competitors?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnAbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Hotel management at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Dear Guest

We were sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your stay with us. I assure you that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel again sometime in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write.

Sincerely


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

East Lothian
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Found this hotel in an excellent position - great views over the river. Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights which deal we got over the internet - £212 for the 3 nights for the two of us !! Great. Did not eat in hotel - we found the price charged for breakfast a bit over the top - we ate breakfast at the The Quayside Bar a few metres down the road - good value for money. The rooms were a bit dated but comfortable. Would stay here again. Taxis on the go all the time into town etc. Great shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, P.A. to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Guest

We are delighted you liked the views over the river and found the hotel to be in a good position.

We have taken on board your comment regarding the price of breakfast and appreciate your constructive feedback.

Again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve.

Sincerely


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the copthorne on a Stag weekend. Managed to get a rate of £100 per twin room per night

From the minute we arrived the staff looked after us, no problem about getting taxi's for us and giving us the heads up on where to go in Newcastle. Found the whole process relaxing.

The tables outside the bar were great for relaxing before heading out, bar was open all night which was a bonus!

Stayed in a twin room with a great view of the river, agree with some comments about the rooms being a bit stuffy and the air con not being the best in the world!

Breakfast was a buffet style affair, couldnt fault it, everything you needed was there. Tried the leisure club, swimming pool was closed but there was a notice saying they would bus you over to the Hilton and you could use the facilities there if you wished.

Male changing rooms in the Leisure club were a bit grotty, gave them this feedback in checking out. Overall, for a bit pricier, classier place to stay for a Stag or Hen party, would thoroughly reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RathoMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Used the car park on site which was good value at £5 for each overnight. Only problem was when I got to the lift I didn't know which floor the reception was ..... but there in the end. Staff at reception were friendly and polite.
The room was ok, but for a 4 star I was surprised at the quality. It could do with a refub as somethings had started to look a little tired. Interesting bed, one side was perfect, probably the side that never gets slept in, the other side, well it dipped and either springs had gone or everyone had slept on that side.
My window wouldn't close so on calling reception, I waited an hour for the conceirge to attend to it, but it took another phone call, to which they came up straight away and sorted the problem.
I think with the window open it could be a little noisy as the metro passes by until around 11:30ish at night. Otherwise with it closed it was fine as their is air con should you need it.
Ate in both the restuarant and the bar. The food was average and not of 4 star quality. The chef on the night ended up cooking my medium steak more well done as it certainly had no pinkness to it.
The only other thing that bothered me was that the cleaner left their trolley in the narrowest part of the corridor so I had to move it myself to get past with my luggage.
I think for the money there are probably other places you could stay in Newcastle which could be of better quality.
The positives are its close to the station and city centre a 5-10 min walk. Overall its ok.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bionicgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, Hotel Management at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, August 3, 2009
Dear Guest

We have reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay at the Copthorne Hotel Newcastle.

We do appreciate your feedback and the issues you have raised will be addressed.

Thank you once again for your comments which are very important to us as we are always looking for ways to improve our service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing