We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and well run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
North West UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed here for a two day business meeting. I arrived at 10 am and the receptionist offered to check to see if my room was ready so I was able to freshen up before the meeting started. Well done you!
The meeting romm was fine and refreshments were served on time - to the minute - and were very good.
The room I had enjoyed the classic Copthorne view over teh river in it's bay window style. The room was very comfortable but the entertainment system is a little dated and lacked some of the advertised channels.
The room was clean as was the bathroom - lovely powerful shower but this was countered by a cracked sink - points lost there I'm afraid!
The breakfast is a little unusual as hot food is to order rather than a buffet but this does allow a wider choice than normal in this type of hotel.
Overall this was an excellent stay.
Unfortunately the hotel is a little pricey and as a corporate customer is slightly out of our range for an overnight stay without the meeting room booking.
My wife has stayed here previous;y with business and echoes my view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalamaki-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    575
    427
    227
    92
See reviews for
183
636
70
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

We loved "playing at being at work" on thurs & fri.
The pool has a large shallow end ideal for little kids.(Usually there was only one other guest in the pool). Swimming in this warm water while gazing at the Tyne just 25 meters away was "like a dream." The robes and towels were good. Rooms are a good size with on suite bath and shower. We instantly relaxed much more than we thought we would in this large 150+ room hotel. The staff made a real effort to treat us individually ,and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinesehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Made to feel welcome from start to finish - nothing is to much trouble.
This hotel does everything it can to make your stay comfortable and a success. Accompanied on this trip by my wife and young daughter - the hotel arranged for a room overlooking the river, which was slightly larger to accommodate my daughters cot. Loui and Taz on reception couldn't have done enough to make us and our guests welcome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone - you will not be disappointed. Park the car in the secure car park on arrival and leave it there until you depart - everything was accessible from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Traveled to The Copthorne for a meeting, but didn't actually stay there. Monday morning so long queue of people checking in, which is absolutely fine. When asking where the particular conference room was that I needed to head to, the lady at the desk simply shrugged her shoulder - "I think you lot are over there - go and sit down". I can appreciate that hotels are busy on a Monday, but there's still no excuse to be dismissive and rude simply because I'm not physically paying for a room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopthorneNewcastle, P.A. to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were concerned to hear your comments but can assure you that these have been addressed.

It is through comments such as yours that we are able to constantly review and make improvements.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Perfect location for the City however rooms tired and service slow - this Hotel requires upgrading

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoshy5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

I stayed in the Copthorne Hotel, Newcastle in December 2008 with friends. It's a 4* hotel and is very nice really. I would say that I've stayed in other hotels of the same rating that are more "luxurious".

We paid £140 for a twin room b & b - expensive for what we got, presumably because it was a Saturday night. The reception was well staffed and helpful. Rooms were clean and had a nice view over the river. We didn't manage to use any of the hotel facilities.

Breakfast was buffet style and served in a nice dining area. I would say the breakfast that day was quite poor. I've had better in lesser-rated hotels for sure. Service was fine though.

Overall I'd say it's a nice enough clean hotel. The location sells it though - it's so near the city centre, even if it is an uphill walk to the main streets. The hotel has its own car park which guests can use at a discounted rate and that was very very handy.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomz1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

me and my boyfriend stayed here for a romantic night. i paid £202 for a queen suite and was absolutly mortified the bath robes we were promised were no were to be seen. the river and bridge views turned out to be the oil factory over the water. the bathroom was appaling dirty tiles and the plug was broke and most ov all the queen size bed was a double bedframe with a queen size matteres haging over the sides. the full english breakfast we paid £15 each for were disgusting just awful the nicest part ov the hotel was the reception. I will not be staying there agin thats for sure i have stayed in travel lodges for less than half the price and were 100% better than this hotel. My advice is to go somewere else!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyjanenewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#32 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing