We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel looks tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the Copthorne Hotel in Newcastle.
The Hotel looks very tired and needs a face-lift.
The room decor needs up-dating and the restaurant food was uninspiring.
The Spa with the swmming pool was closed so we had to take our grand daughter to the Hilton across the river in Gateshead so that she could have a swim there.
The beautiful view of the magnificent Tyne is still a great attraction.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the bridge carrying the Metro trains because the noise of the trains can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_webster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your constructive feedback will be reviewed with my management team. Our next phase of refurbishment commences shortly. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 1 night and emailed requesting a river view, when arrived the hotel reception was smart and quite grand, we got a river view which was nice, room was a reasonable size but thought there was no luxury for a 4 star hotel, the bathroom was small and a bit dindgy. As we only paid £57 quid it was fine but take away the view then the rooms in a premiere inn are just the same. Didn't have breakfast as £15 each was a bit pricey. Would stay again if the price was the same.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank StuKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Many thanks for your positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel was lovely but it was a bit expensive. The furniture was a little bit dated but the rooms were very comfortable and very spacious. The staff were very helpful when we had a problem with the booking - last minute.coms fault. We had a lovely evening out at the Quays and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill_paul_leanne_bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, and the comfort and spaciousness of your bedroom. Your positive feedback is much appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was really excited about the location.....and it is fantastic....although nothing is made of it. There is nowhere nice to sit outside and have an evening drink and the bar/restaurant is in desperate need of modernisation.

The weekend we were there was very hot, so we turned on the air con and popped out - thinking it would be cold when we got back. I called reception who informed me that we needed to close the curtains! So I have paid for a lovely room with a nice view of the river, but in order to cool the room down I have to sit it in with the curtains shut! On further investigation, we discovered that it is not an air conditioning unit, but simply pumps in the (hot) air from outside. Ridiculous for a hotel of this standard.

In addition to this the TV connection did not always work. When we asked about this with reception, we were told "it does that sometimes'. The food and drink are as overpriced as the hotel. They are obviously cutting corners, but this is not reflected in the price.

Extremely disappointing. Just sorry that we spent so much money here, as we had 3 rooms booked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrigleyWriggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to learn that elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. The hotel does not have (nor advertise) air con within the bedrooms, with a comfort cooling system in place. We are in the midst of extensive refurbishment work at present, which is shortly to include the front of house areas. I hope you may consider returning at some point in the future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel could be amazing, and I remember when it was built it was the place to stay. However, I would describe it as average / getting rather tatty now. It was good value, we didn't pay a lot for our room, and the view was magnificent. Room was comfy. But the bathroom desperately needed modernising - the grout had been badly painted over to make white, limescale and grub round fittings, the bath rail was loose, it was the shallowest bath ever, not luxurious at all. And minor thing, but irritating, the hotel was tight on supplies (tea bags, biscuits, basic soap and shampoo in bathroom). The night we stayed was full of hen and stag do's. Breakfast ok, but lacking finesse in service. Not bad, if you get a good deal on price, but give a wide berth if you're looking for somewhere classy.

Room Tip: River view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your constructive feedback will be reviewed with my management team. The hotel is in the midst of extensive refurbishment at present, with a lot of work already undertaken, and the next phase to begin very shortly. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My niece and I went to Newcastle to see a musical performance at the end of May and wanted to stay in a hotel with leisure facilities. As my husband stayed there before and he recommended the Copthorne Hotel. We looked up its website in late January/early February and booked it at the end of February. When we checked in on the day we were so disappointed that there was no more leisure facilities since the end of February. Since we only stayed for the night, we decided to mention it when we checked out the next day. Without anything to kill a bit of time before the musical started, we decided heading to the town centre even it was absolutely pouring down on that day. The room was nicely decorated but a bit dated, with plastic tumblers in the bathroom. There was only one set of towels on the bed and when we asked the cleaning staff next door, he told us to look for it in the cupboard because sometimes there was only one occupancy; but I am sure we stated there would be two people occupying the room. We think that they have to upgrade the window glazing as we could hear the noises from the train till late at night. The only good thing in the room was the bed and it was comfy. When we checked out the next morning we spoke to the duty manager. The manageress asked us when did we book the room and explained that it was the head office who decided to take off the swimming poor at the end of February as it was too run down. We told her we were debating to book the Hilton or the Copthorne but as they both got the silimar facilities and the Copthorne is a bit nearer to the Theatre Royal, we decided to book the Copthorne eventually and we felt we were being cheated this time. She said if we mentioned to her when we checked in, she would have arranged us to use the facilities at the Hilton for free but the staff at the front desk never mentioned this arrangement when we checked in. We understand what you pay and what you get, but we paid £111 non-refundable advance booking for a 4-star hotel without any leisure facilities, I don't know how the star rating works out with this hotel. We are probably unlucky as we booked the hotel before they got rid of the leisure facilities, but still we won't be staying there again for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your constructive feedback will be reviewed with my management team. The hotel's leisure club facility was closed at the end of February, and had been removed from our website at the start of December when this decision was confirmed. The hotel is in the midst of extensive refurbishment at present, with a lot of work already undertaken, and the next phase to begin very shortly. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent three nights here recently on a business/leisure trip. We had a large room with a great view looking over the River Tyne, and from where we could see all the main bridges. It was nice to sit in the window area and take in the view (an extra comfy chair would have been good).
Very handy to have parking on site in the integral multi-storey (£5 per day for guests).
The hotel is situated on the Quayside and you can access the riverside promenade directly and enjoy a long walk.
Our room was clean and well equipped, and the staff were friendly and efficient.
From our room we could hear the Metro trains rumble across the bridge, however we didn't find it particularly intrusive.
If you prefer not to eat in the hotel there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. For a treat, try House of Tides (Kenny Atkinson) or at the other end of the scale there is a good Weatherspoons just along the Quayside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendiprambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, the comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom, and the high standard of guest service throughout. Your positive comments are much appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $77 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing