We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
South East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel wonderful staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here recently for an event. All the staff without exception were very helpful, polite, nothing was to much trouble. The food was well priced and delicious, try the steak! Our room was large clean and bright. Fantastic power shower and very comfortable beds. I will certainly be revisiting this hotel hopefully in the very near future

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoubleCSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the quality of the hotel food, and the comfort and cleanliness of the bedroom. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    622
    446
    230
    96
See reviews for
203
673
75
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Have stayed here twice now in 2 weeks, the Hotel is located right on the Tyne in the Quayside, 2 min walk from the Sage (amazingly beautiful building).
Inside it is pretty dated & tired, like the bathroom fittings & actual bedrooms. Last week I stayed on the 2nd floor, this week they upgraded me to the 5th which has just undergone a refurb. The steam room was broken apparently it's been out of action for some time.
Bar is nice but quite expensive, restaurant menu looks nice, I decided to order some chicken from there rather than the bar snacks.., sounded way better than what was put in front of me.., Overcooked, overpriced chicken.
Due to your location you are right next to the Metro train track (also some coal freight trains).
None of the rooms are triple glazed so when they start @ 0600, you also start @ 0600 !!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the left hand side of the hotel away from the Trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stays with us, with your constructive feedback noted for review with my team. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway, with the next phase due to commence early in the New Year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is fairly conveniently located on the river, a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town. The hotel has a multi-story car park underneath it which was good value for city-centre parking.
The hotel rooms are fairly ordinary, although the view we had over the river was nice even though it was obscured by (presumably temprary) scaffolding. Breakfast was the usual semi-warm affair but there is a good selection and the pastries fresh.
Good place for an overnight stay close to the city, but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with your constructive feedback noted. The scaffolding will indeed be down imminently! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

12 people in our group traveled in October and stayed for a period of 2 days, Friday and Saturday night. The welcome in reception was excellent and the rooms were allocated in a friendly and speedy manner. The rooms were first rate and exactly as they had been described. The room easily accommodated 2 people comfortably and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. I had several requests from our group which were all dealt with in a manner that suggested they were very happy to do so. Nothing seemed like too much trouble.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide range of options to suit all. The bar was quiet with a nice relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Special mention I feel must go to Rachel on reception who was fantastic in her manner and delivery of her duties, however all the reception staff gave me this impression.
The location is ideal for the quayside and the town center which is minutes away. Overall a fantastic trip made even better by our stay in the Copthorne hotel. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that your party enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout (in particular at reception), the hotel location, and the quality and cleanliness of the bedrooms. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Attended a conference at The Copthorne this weekend. Had a fantastic time!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, it is so unusual to get such a calm and friendly atmosphere in a busy City Hotel. The food was good and handled the vast number of attendees well. It appears they are doing a lot of work to update the rooms and theBuilding as some scaffolding on the outside, this did not cause any disruption to our stay and looks like they are upgrading.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a river view, its so nice to look down theTyne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the hotel location, and the quality of the hotel food and general facilities. The scaffolding will also be down very soon! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A regular visitor to this hotel over the last 18 months and all I can say is what a difference. Put me in there last year and you may have heard me saying "get me out of here" but now, a totally different story.

So, new air heating system - not air con but very efficient at warming rooms in the winter, new beds, new TVs, new carpet, new chairs, new fridges in rooms, new elevators, a nice range of good quality food on the menu in the restaurant and room service and to top it off some excellent staff who are attentive and go above and beyond to help you.

Money is being spent on the Copthorne, that is evident. It is cosy and welcoming and if something is not right, why wait until you write a review when you have left? Let them know straight away and Ken's team will put it right.

Some thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable trips recently, thanks to the guys there and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your recent stays here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, and the standard of hotel facilities. Our refurbishment programme is now well underway, and has clearly impacted positively on your recent stays. Our next phase of these works will be commencing early in the New Year. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Copthorne last weekend and had a wonderful time.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is superb, and all food and facilities
extremely good.
We will certainly return tho the Copthorne and we look forward to it.
Excellent all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevcldwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, which is much appreciated by myself and the team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the hotel location, and the quality of the hotel food and general facilities. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,022 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing