We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
kirkcaldy fife scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be a good hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night booked via last minute.com. This could be a good hotel but there are a number of aspects which could be easily sorted! At check in we were addressed as last minutes by receptionist in " As last minutes, it is room only"and referred to as last minutes when asking her colleague "Do last minutes get free wifi?" We weren't the only guests checking in at the time.

Room was clean, spacious with a full window view of the river though decor was dated. The mattress on the bed was firm to the point of being uncomfortable. The hair dryer was not working although we did get another from reception.

The en suite had a cracked sink and a continuously leaking tap.
The breakfast table cover was stained which could have been easily fixed as it was a paper top cover. The cooked options were only warm but this was not surprising as none of the hot holders were labelled which meant that guests were opening each one to see what they contained. Choice of breads was limited to brown or white sliced or mini croissants - quite disappointing.

On the positive side, there was easy access to the car park from the hotel and the parking costs were cheap at £5 per day.

We did try to email the manager as there was a notice in the lift for guests to give feedback but there was a problem with receipt.

Afterwards, the hotel billed us when payment had already been taken by last minute.com!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. Your visit has clearly been mixed which is disappointing, with your feedback to be fully reviewed with my management team this week. I can be contacted directly via ken.ellington@millenniumhotels.com at any time for any points you may wish to pick up. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    585
    431
    228
    94
See reviews for
188
642
71
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dee1402
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I booked a suite at this hotel as we were attending a Concert at the Sage, just on the other side of the river. We had been to the hotel before and although we weren't completely satisfied, we knew where it was and how close it was to the Concert Venue and thought it would be okay as we had booked a suite.

Firstly, there was scaffolding outside our window with workmen walking about - this is fine and I understand that work requires to be done but it would have been nice to have been told. We understand that there was something on the website but we booked this months ago so why would we be checking the website!

Cold air blowing, instead of heat - exactly the same as the last time we were there. Not particularly clean, toiled flush loose - just lack of attention to detail.

I felt sorry for my husband who had booked this as a treat for me but we weren't impressed at all. Won't be back!! Oh - breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. Sorry to learn that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. The soffit tile replacement project which is running at present, is a health & safety one. It’s a relatively challenging project, due both to the requirement for scaffolding and the fact that work has to be conducted directly outwith some of the bedrooms. We have been promoting this for a number of months across our booking channels, which can be challenging at times with third party websites. The bedroom heating system was fully upgraded this year.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a friend was having their wedding in the hotel. We booked an excellent deal via lastminute.com. On arrival I was impressed by the efficiency of the reception team who in my opinion are both friendly and professional. Our room was on the third floor and I do think that the dark purple walls on the corridoors could do with an update but it didnt put me off. Our room was dated but spotless and I understand that the hotel is mid refurb at the moment. The bed was super comfortable but a few more hot beverages could be offered we has 3 tea bags and 3 coffees for two days!!!! On our first night we had an intruder in our room at around about 4.30 in the morning. Somehow our door had not shut fully and whilst we were sleeping a semi naked man got in to our room and tried to get into bed with us. He was very drunk and we got him out and reported this to reception. However the night staff did not come to reassure us at all and we had to re report the following morning. The Duty Manager was great and we had a giggle about it but they understood the seriousness of the situation, we were offered free breakfasts but we turned this down as we weren't in it for a freebie. So my only real issue was the non handover by the night staff. Would this put me off returning NO WAY!!! Me and my husband had a fantastic weekend at the Copthorne and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: 5th floor seems best and corridoors alot brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Copthorne Newcastle, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, and the quality of bedroom comfort and cleanliness (the corridor mentioned is shortly to be re-painted). I was aware of the issue of the issue which had arisen with another guest through the bedroom door not being left closed (we had checked the lock to confirm this) - Such an issue is very rare, and I'm glad that the matter was resolved swiftly. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

8 years ago my wofe and I stayed in an executive room. This ti.e we stayed in a suite.

Same worn looking decor and window that would not close - we contacted reception who had it fixed quickly. But why did housekeeping not report this?

Heating blowing cold air, same as 8yrs ago. For tje most expensive room in the hotel it is very poor. Dated, worn decor and furniture and not very clean.

This hotel wont get a 3rd chance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank c53204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sorry to learn that your expectations had not been met during your recent stay. The hotel is in the midst of an extensive refurbishment period at present. The bedroom temperature comfort system is brand new this year, the last suites are being re-carpeted over the next fortnight, all suites are receiving new furniture within the next four weeks, and we are also well into a programme of redecoration.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment we made contact with our wedding co-ordinator, Susi, to the day we arrived for the reception after our wedding, The Copthorne were simply fantastic. We were a little early to arrive on the day, but Keenan welcomed us warmly, bringing some sparkly out to the car for us both!

We were all, my husband and I as well as our guests, superbly looked after throughout the day and into the evening - with everything running smoothly and to good time. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and Keenan was an angel! Our wedding breakfast was fantastic - compliments to the chef indeed.

Our room for the night was a junior suite which was perfect, and when we went up there was a bottle of champagne and a card from Susi and the team congratulating us on our marriage. LOVELY!

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough - we truly had a wonderful day, thank you so much! Mr and Mrs Stephen Bertram xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent wedding reception held here at the Copthorne Newcastle. The cornerstone of the hotel is offering great guest service, and your kind feedback on this is greatly appreciated, with particular regard to Susi who organised the event and Keenan who ran things on the day. I'm pleased that you were so happy with the standard of food and the quality of the bedroom. Your recommendation of the hotel as a wedding venue to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding here in late July and could not thank the staff enough for making our day (and weekend) absolutely perfect!!

Made especially special by the key staff in the restaurant and bar (expertly managed by Keenan) everything went perfectly!

From pre-wedding hiccups (not enough seats - so the copthorne provided complimentary seat covers so guests would not notice differing seats) to the moment we arrived as Mr and Mrs, Keenan helped eliminate any reservations we had and even went so far as to remember each guests name who was staying at the hotel.

If I could have one criticism, it would be that the jd started our first dance before myself and my husband had chance to get anywhere near the dance floor, but that didn't ruin a moment of our day!

A number of our guests have also taken time to speak to us and compliment the excellent service, staff and facilities of the hotel.

Thank you very much!

Mr and Mrs Ogilvie x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent wedding held here at the Copthorne, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service throughout, the smoothness of the operational running on the day, and the calibre of the hotel facilities. Your recommendation of the hotel to other tripadvisor readers is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a superb location. It is a bit old-fashioned, but that is my preference. The location is a few minutes from the quay-side where most people visit and eat. It is also a short walk from the city centre or St.James's park. We had a lovely room overlooking the Tyne and far enough away from the action to be really quiet. Restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

However, there was no in-room wi-fi access; Come on Copthorne get with it, I had free wi-fi in a small Egyptian hotel a few weeks ago. All hotels should provide free internet access and wi-fi in this day and age.

Room Tip: Overlook the river for quiet peaceful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the hotel location, quality of bedroom and calibre / pricing of dining. Constructive comments r/e: wi-fi duly noted, the competitive pricing policy (as it stands) is a company one, although supply issues are rare. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing