We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, good location, business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Walsall, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK, good location, business hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I thought the Copthorne OK, nowhere near as bad as some of the reviews on here. Alright its not the cheapest but to be fait its OK. Great views of the river & the staff were extremely helpful & friendly, especially the concierge!

My room was huge with a really comfortable bed and all facilities worked perfectly well. I could hear talking in the adjoining rooms which was a bit annoying but apart from that I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    616
    444
    230
    95
See reviews for
203
667
73
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Dirty and cold. Room heaters didn't work. Provided a small fan heater but it was not safety checked and was held together with tape - unsafe. Worst of all was the bathroom with the shower area covered in black mould - not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. I took photographs (attached) and forwarded them to the management - didn't even reply. Restaurant for dinner was very poor quality and expensive. This hotel may have been nice once but it is run down, tired and in need of a facelift (and that includes the management)

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Standar of the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Videoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Hemel Hempstead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

I've stayed in this hotel a number of times. Location-wise, it's very good - on the river, a couple of minutes to everywhere.

But, it's a soulless big chain hotel, designed for the business traveller.

I couldn't believe that the only way you can get wireless access is in the communal areas which i think is just appalling. Admittedly access is free (you have to get a card from reception) but you cannot get in-room useage!

The staff are friendly enough, and the food is as to be expected. The variety at breakfast was quite large, and if you don't want anything cooked (which is an extra £15.95) then the cost of breakfast is built into the price of the room which actually is nice. The choice of cereals, toast, meats / cheeses / juices etc was admirable in fact.

The room I stayed in was above average in size, had a very large bed and was extremely comfortable. The TV had about 12 channels, 2 sport channels, MTV and no business ones...

Also in the room was iron and ironing board. The bathroom was adequate, albeit a little dark in the bath/shower.

The hotel does have leisure facilities although I didn't use them. the bar - Harry's is lively enough, ad not too badly priced I'd guess - but then again, you are only a couple of minutes walk away to life, so why you'd want to spend time in the bar is a little beyond me. There is also an a la carte restaurant which I didn't try, but did over hear a fellow guest complaining quite bitterly to a member of staff about the food, the service and so on...

Would I stay here again. Probably, the location is quite good, but alternatively, not too far away is the MalMaison which in a similar price bracket is probably a better spot.

  • Liked — Good room size, and location
  • Disliked — No WiFi in your room. At all.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SubaruDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2008

Stayed one night on business. Had stayed there about 10 years ago when the hotlel was relatively new and that had been a good experience. It has gone downhill and does not merit 4 stars. The decorations are unaltered from my first stay. The towels are a little less white and getting a bit tired. The bathrooms are adequate but dated. The reception staff were efficient enough but the restaurant staff, although they try hard, are of poor quality, not well trained and lack leadership. They would be better suited to a local cafe. I ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Dinner was of poor quality. The salmon was swimming in what passed for potatoes and vegetables. The cheese board for dessert was stale, rubbery and unimaginitive. Breakfast was only average, although the food was plentiful enough. The location is good it has to be said but the hotel now suffers by comparison with the new Gateshead Hilton which is visible on the other bank of the Tyne. Would not stay there again either for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — free internet access
  • Disliked — ambience and food in the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GordonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 08 for business at a corporate rate of £85/night. Location is great - next to the river and close to all the restaurant and bars of Quayside.

Lobby is large and modern. Breakfast room is pleasant enough. But once you exit the lifts, enroute to your room, the decor is a different story. The halls and rooms are tired and in need of TLC. I doubt much has been touched in the last 10 years or more.

On the plus side, my room was large and there was plenty of hot water at a good pressure. But room 432 was at the very end of the corridor, facing the railway brdge, and it was cold. The twin bed I slept in had a duvet on it, and the cover was not changed once during my 5 day stay. I didn't have the impression that houskeeping standards were very high on the agenda at this hotel.

The stay was satisfactory, but nothing more than that. For a rate of £85 I guess it just about gave value for money - but only because of the location. If I was returning to Newcastle, I would look into other hotels.

  • Liked — Quayside location
  • Disliked — Poor quality of the rooms - 2* at best
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

I was booked into the Copthorne by my work as I was attending a nearby conference. I must admit I was very apprehensive about staying after all the negative reviews i read. I must admit I found my whole experience here fine. Maybe not 4 star, but the rooms were a good size and they were clean. The mattress was comfortable enough that I slept soundly. The linen was clean, no holes! As someone else mentioned the floor to ceiling windows with views over the Tyne were nice. The location is excellent, close to the bars and restaurants of the Quayside.
I found the staff very helpful and friendly having never been to Newcastle before. Check in was quick and efficient, breakfast was great, plenty of options from cereals to hot breakfast to continental. I didn't have time to see the spa, so can't comment on it. Overall, so long as you're not paying a lot of money and you want to be central, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Service unfriendly. Rooms so hot, had to be moved. No difference at all in the club rooms and standard room - not worth the money for an upgrade. Rooms shabby and unclean. Complained numerous times but nothing was done about it. This is definitley not a 4 star hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing