We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to the copthorne for the afternoon tea with the wife and 4 other couples and it was great the choice of sweet and savoury food that was served was more than enough even for the most heartiest of eaters and throw in a free half bottle of wine well sorted,the staff where very polite and nothing seemed to much trouble for them,it was a great start to a great day would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel for afternoon tea, with particular regard to the standard of guest service and the quality of food served. We're always keen to promote the afternoon teas here, as we believe that they offer great value for money, and really appreciate your recommendation. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    585
    429
    228
    94
See reviews for
187
640
71
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Currently here on business for a week. As many other reviews have said the rooms are in need of a make over, carpets are worn, old CRT TV and furniture passed its best. I have noticed the rooms next to me have had new carpets fitted this week which should help freshen them up. The reception staff seem helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast is nice. I have used the pool a few times and the changing areas are in need of repair, also the jacuzzi is no longer in service but the area seems clean. I would stay here again, beds are very comfy and the view is great, also some nice bars and restaurants along the quayside but be prepared to climb a hill to get in to the town. Would like to see it after the refurbishment as I think it could be back up to its 4* rating with a bit of work.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the standard of guest service and the quality of breakfast. As you spotted last week, we have just commenced an extensive programme of refurbishment, which includes new carpeting throughout most of the hotel and which will impact positively on the physical quality of the building. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Enjoyed our weekend at this hotel. Staff were all very friendly and helpful . We were booked for bed and breakfast but did have dinner in hotel . Food was of a high standard and well presented. Buffet style breakfast was excellent with a wide selection to choose from. Our bedroom had a fantastic view of the river and was a good size . The only let down of this hotel was the small bed . Definitely will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caz323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the high standard of guest service, quality of food, breakfast presentation and the hotel location. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms are way past sell by date. Management keep referring to planned refurbishments but no evidence as yet. Despite showing a confirmed reservation, hotel had no record of it. Senior receptionist Alison was complacent and displayed poor attitude, others were very friendly and helpful. This hotel at weekends is really a base for hen and stag parties, so it is not condusive to a relaxed, civilised weekend. During the week, it is a standard business hotel. Location is excellent for river views and partying along quays, but you need to be fit to walk up the hills into the centre of town. Beware of very high weekend prices, much too high for the area. Many better options locally.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback highlights a personal perception of what has been a disappointing stay, which is regrettable. I cam assure you (and readers of this site) that your experience is by no means reflective of the standards in place here. It is very rare (as evidenced by the positive feedback on these pages) for guest service to be an issue, as it is normally the biggest strength of the hotel. The refurbishment programme is already well underway, with the re-carpeting phase having commenced on 17 September in the public areas, and moving up to the bedrooms at the time of writing. The combined programme will make a big impact on the physical quality of the hotel.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here when taking son to University. Asked for a twin overlooking the river, but was offered a double on arrival. They found us a twin overlooking the car park and with an old pair of shoes in it.
However, despite poor housekeeping, the front desk were very friendly, the beds very comfortable for a hotel, the location fabulous and the breakfast very good.
Do not go here for the spa facilities, whch really need renovating before being worth visiting for pleasure.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you want. Facing the river, especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, hotel location, and quality of breakfast. The housekeeping has clearly not been to our normal standard, however, as bedroom cleanliness is normally a key strength of the hotel. With regard to the leisure facilities, these are under review at present as to the best way of taking this element of the business forward. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice location, overlooking the river but the whole inside of the hotel really needs a complete and utter overhaul. The bathroom tiles had grey/black mouldy grout, the carpet in the bedroom was totally threadbare and the decor and furniture was both dated and dusty. Televisions from 1990. A lot of the furniture had water marks and scratches - the lot needs skipping. I don't really see that a hotel in this state can keep its 4 star AA rating. When we arrived there was a large party of around 30 blokes booking in and only one person on reception so rather than wait 20 minutes we went to the bar and spent £11 on 2 drinks and 2 packets of crisps. It's not just the bedrooms which are dated - the communal areas were dated too. There must be more modern hotels in the city - stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback highlights a personal perception of what has been a disappointing stay, which is regrettable. I can assure you (and readers of this site) that your experience is by no means reflective of the standards here. We are also now underway with an extensive refurbishment programme, which includes re-carpeting throughout most of the hotel.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Was booked in here earlier in the year. Excellent hotel. Staff are great, hotel is very good quality. Rooms are perfect. Restaurant is great too. One thing tho, shut your windows at night when you go to sleep. I didnt and I almost had a heart attack when the metro went by in the morning hehe. Otherwise, a place I would go back to again and again.

Room Tip: Dont over look the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GogsyThreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, with particular regard to the standard of guest service, and the quality of the bedroom and the restaurant. For light sleepers, we recommend requesting a room in the middle of the building to avoid any disturbance from the Metro. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing