We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
leek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Just returned from a 2 night stay. The location was excellent and the check in extremely efficient. The room was ok, if a little worn but the floor to ceiling window gave a spectacular view of the River and bridges. The small spa is also very nice. We decided to eat breakfast, on the first morning, which turned out to be a big mistake. The price was £20. The breakfast room was a shambles. Items were constantly running out and although there were plenty of staff they were completely disorganised.
There is no need to use this hotel's dining facilities as there are numerous eating establishments within easy walking distance.
This hotel is ok to stay in but my advice is to eat out.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LeekJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    607
    440
    229
    94
See reviews for
200
659
71
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

Myself and my wife booked in to the Copthorne Hotel, Newcastle for a weekend between Christmas and New Year 2007. We picked this hotel over Jurys simply because the Copthorne was rated 4 star. The good was that the reception staff in particular were very helpful - the rest was much more two star.

Our bedroom overlooked the Tyne which was nice but the room was terribly shabby from the petrified snail on the window to chairs worn down to the stuffing to a saggy bed, tiles in the bathroom with mildew ..... that is before we could hear all that was going on in the adjacant room for most of the night. The breakfast was just ok and the dining room was sad and jaded looking. The lift had the same uncleaned look on it on Monday morning when we were leaving as it had on Saturday morning.

To be fair most of the staff did really try their best to be helpful -we were given a room immediately on checking in at 8 am. Reception also gave us access to internet and printing facilities for on-line flight check in.

To sum up, we would have no complaints if we had booked a two star hotel. However we paid four star rates - British Tourism review your ratings here please!! We would definitely not return or recommend this hotel with its current rating and prices - you will get better value elsewhere.

  • Liked — Some staff really tried to be helpful
  • Disliked — This is NOT a 4 star hotel - shabby, scruffy ...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Warrington, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

The fact this hotel is on the Tyne, has a nice reception, secure parking and can cater for families does not cover up there has not been much investment in it. The rooms are getting shabby and there is no broadband (or wasn't in our room). They really should do more but I reckon the location has allowed the management to be complacent. The Hilton opening on the Gateshead side of the Tyne may change this.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The tired shabby feel of everything except the reception
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stuartmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

This was not my first stay at a Copthrone property and hence should not have constituted a disappointment at the value received for my £149.00 per night room.
Firstly, however, the hotel offered a nice view of the river, bridge and greenry on the south side of the Tyne. The hotel itself and the reception lobby are spacious and modernly designed. The hotel offers free parking as well as a central location at the quay on the river and close to restaurants and downtown.
Having said that, this 'four star' hotel suffers from a run-down bathroom, ugly bathroom facilities, offers no free Internet access, mere access to free and over-the-air television channels and, here is the kicker, torn (yes at least one visible hole) linen.
For a hotel like this and at such prices to not have a relatively new bed sheet, updated facilities or some modicum of luxury is incredible.
The reception staff were polite and eager to help, the view was good as was the lcoation, but how could they justify their run-down rooms or lack of amenities?

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Hole In My Sheets
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dadada767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Oct-2007: this was a second stay and only because of short availability and lack of conference facilities eleswhere in Newcastle, Our first stay in May2007 was dissapointing and revealed a hotel short on renovation and maintenance of 4 star room comforts, with old furniture and past its sell by date linen, faulty air conditioning and generally tatty room furniture. This second stay was completed on the basis of a room upgrade to Club hoping that facilities would be better. Not so!! as rooms were just as old and dated, bathrooms in need of refurbishment and linen etc even older than the first visit (you need two towels because the towels are see-through). Our room AC had to be supplemented with a portable fan and we did our own washing up of theTea facilities because staff failed to complete basic service functions. Internet access costs an arm and a leg if your working but thats legal because its a Hotel! or so they think. the only saving grace was the top floor view and a decent full english breakfast and the best Indian restuarant we have been too for a long time called "VUJON on Queen Street which is less than a 10 minute dawdle from the Hotel.

  • Liked — decent breakfast and tyne river views from 5th floor
  • Disliked — old and knackered rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank torridontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

This was our third stay at this hotel and the worst of the three stays. i am originally from Newcastle and know the town very well and so appreciate the location of this hotel being right on the quay side with stunning views of the river and the bridges.

The service on the previous two occasions (both in the last 2 years) has been hit and miss and the hotel is design wise still quite modern but is looking tired in some areas. On one of our visits we couldnt get booked into the hotel restaurant for dinner as it was full!!!

We arrived for our one night stay (saturday 15th September) at 4.35pm having been told that check in was 4pm. Our suite wasnt ready and we were asked to wait. We were after 10 minutes asked if we would like a drink or coffee but being on a rather tight schedule for the evening we declined. At 5.15pm i asked how long we were going to have to wait. As the initial 15 minutes was now long passed. The receptionist looked stricken and shouted to her colleague who reached behind the counter for our room keys. Not sure why we had to wait....

Our suite was at the end of the corridor on the 5th floor, it was spacious, adequate and had great views of the tyne. Bed was soft but comfortable and there are tea and coffee making facitilites. The heating did not work and there are no heated bath rails so we had wet towels for the duration of our stay. (after the first shower) if you want bath robes you are asked to contact reception.

We ordered room service which was pleasant enough but came back later in the evening to find the trays still there (6 hours later) and when we ordered service again they called to say they had no beans in the building. To their credit they waived the charge for the second room service.
Breakfast the following morning was meant to be taken in the 5th floor lounge, a rather grand name for a room with chairs, desk and tv. At 9.45am the lounge was full of other guests and therefore we decided to eat in the main restaurant. Great choice, both hot and cold, fresh fruit and nice surroundings. My coffee cup was sticky with some unknown substance as were those on other tables when i tried to find a clean one. i gave up eventually.

we did have the option of a late checkout but as we had other committments we needed to check out at the normal time of 12noon. Prior to this we decided have a quick cup of coffee in the 'lounge' on the 5th floor only to find the place looked as though it had been ransacked. Dirty dishes on window sills , papers strewn across the floor, no cups, to make coffee with only dirty glasses and a dirty table cloth on an empty serving table.

To this end i went off to check out and told the receptionist how disappointed i was as we had paid for the better room with additional services and in my opinion hadnt received value for money. She agreed to have someone sent up to the lounge and apologised the wrong newspaper which had also been delivered and agreed to a reduction on the room rate. I told her my dilemma as we need to visit Newcastle each christmas to see family and friends, this hotels location being perfect but after this one night i was not sure i would be back. However, i did appreciate her promptness to appease and promises to pass on my comments.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sloppy service and amenties
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank imperiallwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Excellent location in Newcastle, although find out how to walk into the town from the hotel, as you can easily get lost. Lovely looking hotel from the front, and free parking in the adjoining multi storey car park.
Rooms were what you would expect for a business hotel, but were starting to look a little old. The TV had no remote control, but we arrived too late to really be bothered to contact reception about it.
The bar staff didn't know how to make an Irish coffee but were eager to learn!
Overall, the hotel did exactly what we needed - a central location with reasonable comfort.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The shower wasn't very powerful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbarr_in_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Newcastle

Property: Copthorne Hotel Newcastle
Address: The Close | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing