We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will return.”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
W. Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I will return.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here for four hights and wished I could stay longer. I chose the hotel because parking was free and in Newcastle parking is expensive. The hotel looks a little forbidding from the outside. Inside it is extrememly elegant and most comfortable to relax in. The reception area and the lounge are quite exceptional. Breakfast at a pre booked price of £10 daily was good value and could not be faulted. Dinner at £24.00 for two courses was good in quality but my small appetite meant that more than half of it had to be returned. The location is good , though I think new visitors should be alerted about the entrance on level one. This is the best one to get to the Quay area and the very handy electric buses. The exit from level six to the quayside is through the castle grounds. Historically this is fascinated, but not advisable for less mobile guests as the steps are numerous and steep. As a lone and not so young lady I felt rather intimidated..

Room Tip: Tenth floor rooms facing the castle and railway station were for me quiet but too hot. Next time I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    601
    275
    154
    131
See reviews for
238
926
43
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, U.K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spent one night in the Vermont last week, could find very little if anything to fault, the room smelled strongly of being newly decorated, which is probably a good thing! Excellent evening meal and breakfast, and unusual for a hotel of this type, excellent local real ale on tap in the bar.

Room Tip: Opposite side to the railway line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

went here as part of our xmas present to each other :) was clean and tidy, decoration was fabulous!

Afternoon tea was great - staff very attentive and helpful!
I just keep going back, as it really is lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The appearance and location of the hotel makes for the 4 star status. In stones throw distance to the castle keep, close to the quayside with a hotel entrance/exit, not far from the centre and train station. Can't ask for a better location. Reception and downstairs areas including the restaurants also keep up the 4 star quality. The rooms however don't live up to the 4 stars, very dated carpets, curtains and cupboards. There is no air conditioning and it was a very hot weekend, there was a small fan in the wardrobe to use. The bathroom had it's faults but mainly with the decor, walls peeling and chips in the bath/shower. Nice comfy beds rescued the stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice and large, a twin rather than the double we booked but not a problem, however the noise from the railway was. It was hot so had to have windows open so we got the early morning train noise.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomandSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent two night in this hotel. The hotel is very good situated, near to exhibitions, shops and also near to the tyne and the hotel itself is old but good. The bed was a bit small, size 1.40m. The breakfast was ok. The parking was forfreein front of the hotel, there was also free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaRA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A big hotel, didn't have time to explore it all.
We stayed 2 nights in 1114 corner room quiet.
Basic room but there was a notice to say they are upgrading them.
Room service excellent , iron, lunch with icecream sundie to die for,
and breakfast scamble eggs were the best I've ever had ...
Staff helpful, Taxi firm they organized was excellent....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALICE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing