We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vermont Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
The Waterside Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Surtees Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Quayside View(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
The Vermont ApartHotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Roomzzz Newcastle City(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grey Street Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Quayside(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveler rating
986
672
312
169
145
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
672
312
169
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tearedwood barsky loungebridge restaurantwine and dinecocktail bartyne bridgelovely hoteldean streetcity centrebit datedpublic areasbars and restaurantsbirthday treathotel barcar parkdouble room
Filter
Updating list...
1,579 - 1,584 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've stayed a few times at the Vermont for business. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and on this last occasion i had a great view of Newcastle Tyne Bridge from my room. Food and service in the restaurant are excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Would certainly recommend a stay here. Only thing i would change is the addition of a water dispenser in the gym.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here on Easter Sunday night.Reception staff very friendly and helpful . Hotel was lovely bed very comfortable and we had a delicious breakfast. The hotel is ideally situated for Newcastle Quayside bars and restaurants. We had a lovely view of Newcastle Tyne Bridge from our room.Would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your comments following your Easter stay. It means alot to us that you did enjoy your stay at The Vermont Hotel & we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at the Vermont on bank holiday Monday, the central location is great, next to the quayside and grey street which is fab for bars and eating houses, the staff were very attentive the room we stayed in was a little dated but didn't spoil are stay.rhe breakfast was amazing great choice and cooked to order. Would definitely stay
again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie6463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend on our first visit to Newcastle. First off it's right on the river Tyne in front of the bridge, our room had this amazing view!!
It's five minutes uphill walk into the city centre and Gateshead is just over the Tyne Bridge.
Our room was a decent size, with a sofa and coffee table and a very comfortable bed. It also had a fridge but there were holes in the wall where the trouser press had been, and the wallpaper was dated but to be fair there was a letter in the room from the management stating that they were in the middle of refurbishment which should be completed soon. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and a full size flat screen tv on the wall, wifi in the rooms which I had no trouble connecting straight to. Bathroom was a decent size, again the shower was a bit dated but we also had a bath, and there was loads of hot water and white company toiletries.
We didn't eat in the hotel so we can't comment on the restaurant, but the bar was really nice and comfortable, with average hotel prices.There is also a cocktail bar with an outside courtyard which was very busy both the nights we were there.It also has a 'Sky Lounge' on the 12th Floor but we were disappointed to hear it was for private parties only, shame, the view up there must be really good!!
All the staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient, we really enjoyed our stay and we would recommend it for a city break in Newcastle. We liked the fact that it was independently owned, we thought it was lovely!
There is a Wetherspoons on the riverside 5 minutes walk away called the Quayside, with outside seating, and loads of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity, yet we found the hotel to be quiet even late on Saturday night, so you definitely get a good night's sleep!!

Room Tip: I always ask for high floor front facing rooms as preference, we had room 915 which had an excellent view of the Tyne Bridge.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely hotel with a delicious breakfast. Pity however that we were given a room facing a wall with a frequent train passing along the top part of this wall; therefore no view and noise from the trains which ran all night. Also we were under the illusion that newspapers were complimentary (that is what it says in the hotel handbook) and yet when we checked out we were charged for the newspaper we had ordered.

Room Tip: Ask if you have a view of the quayside before you book a room. The rooms at the back look out onto a railway with frequent trains running day and night!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiggles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.

I am sorry that the newspaper information was unclear. We can arrange a free local newspaper on request, but national publications are chargeable. I have updated our guest directory to explain this more clearly.

Our city centre, hill side location does afford a number of varying views from our guest bedrooms. Should you plan a future visit, please do request a specific view if you have a preferance and our reservations manager will always do his utmost to accommodate.

I hope we will have the oportunity to welcome you back to The Vermont Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews