We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights, travelled to Newcastle from Belfast. It was a big mistake to stay at this hotel when you consider the choice in the area for same or less room rate. Very dated, only 1 lift working, this would normally not be a problem but after my wife suffered an injury in the hazardous room 1103, she was unable to take the stairs. Complained to the General Manager but was just fobbed off with feeble excuses about spending money to bring the hotel into the real world. Health and safety would have a field day in this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1103
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_harrington2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.

Can I firstly apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way. As discussed, the current improvement program does include the replacement of one of our guest lifts, and will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect.

I appreciate that your wife did hurt her toe on the door stop in your bedroom, and therefore struggled with the stairs. Once agian, I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    580
    260
    152
    126
See reviews for
214
866
41
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at The Vermont as a mini honeymoon but unfortunately we were both quite unwell throughout our entire visit because of this we didn't really venture out of our room but we have to say when we did and when we encountered any staff members we were treat with the utmost courtesy. They were all extremely professional and extremely polite, their customer service skills were second to none. Our room was immaculate, wifi worked perfectly and both televisions worked with an array of channels. We would have loved to have been able to take a look around the Hotel in more detail but could not because of our circumstances. We only live a stones throw away from Newcastle but if we were to have cause to celebrate with a trip there again we would definitely stay at The Vermont.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Congratualtions on your recent nuptuals. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful feedback that you left following your special visit to the Vermont Hotel.

Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate at the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I read the mixed reviews but as I was attending a meeting there and it was only for one night I booked a room and hoped for the best. A big mistake.
The room was dire. "Tired decor " would be a flattering description.The room had a strange odour like "moth balls", the carpet was badly stained, the wallpaper marked, the wall had holes where a fitting had been removed. The window was so dirty it was barely possible to see out ( as were the windows in the ballroom where the conference was held). There was no radio , no TV remote so no TV. The minibar was in a strange cut down drawer in a desk. There was a fridge containing a rather elderly jug of milk and what looked like a lump of semi melted butter in a cup. The bed had no cover other than the white duvet cover and the bed itself was old and lumpy Toiletries were minimal. Would 2 pots of shower gel have been too much? The advertised free Internet barely worked in the room dropping out after minutes. There was a radiator but no air conditioning and the window could not be opened.
However after dark the in room lack of entertainment was alleviated by the club below the window . Loud music kept me awake into the early hours of the morning when I eventually dropped off to sleep from sheer exhaustion.
Service was variable. The girls at reception were pleasant. There was no receipt when I left my bag as my room was not ready so when I went back to get it I had to go in and pick it out. Not very secure. The concierge when I arrived completely ignored me and he taxi driver carried my bag in to reception. The concierge the next morning was much more helpful. One of the lifts was out of action the whole time I was there.
The lounge looked pleasant but was very busy.
The food I had at the conference was tasteless , so I did not eat in the hotel that evening and I was so keen to escape after my noisy stuffy night that I skipped breakfast and left the hotel early the next morning.
I have had much better accommodation for a fraction of the price charged by this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.

Can I firstly apologise for the poor experience you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way. As part of the current improvement program a £4m investment will help to return The Vermont Hotel to the standards our guests have come to expect. In the interim, our bedroom rates are reflective of a hotel undergoing improvements and do we hope to compensate for some of the misgivings of our more dated bedrooms with exceptional guest service, cleanliness and food.

As a City Centre Hotel, we do occasionally have some noise disruption from neighbouring businesses. I can only apologise that this did impact your visit. We do have particularly quiet rooms in The Hotel which we would be happy to allocate should you wish to return to The Vermont Hotel.

I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

On Saturday night myself and my gorgeous wife booked into the hotel for a Special Treat. Staff at the Hotel reception where very friendly and helpful. When we went up to room it was a nice room but had a very funny smell of smoke and drainage which wasn't nice. my wife said it could be because doors where closed. we opened the bathroom door and windows when we went out. When we returned it was still there so I went to Reception and told the young lady and she straight away with out any problem moved us to another room on the next floor. the room was really nice and over looked the Tyne Bridge which was amazing. We went for our meal at 8.30 and again staff very friendly and helpful. meal was amazing couldn't fault anything even the wine was good. Would just like to say Thank You to the Hotel for making it a very Special day/night even with the little problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiehorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team here at The Vermont Hotel.

We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your special visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

stayed for a night this last weekend and was a bit concerned having read some of the reviews. Nothing negative to report. Car parking was little limited and had to wait for a space but otherwise enjoyed the stay. Room comfortable ( with toiletries I might add). Yes a little dated and looking out onto the railway line, but the room was clean and there was no noise disturbance from trains through the night - so happy days. Restaurant and staff lovely and a HOT full English breakfast enjoyed by all. Would certainly stay again and brill access to city centre on foot.

Room Tip: our room was a little dated and ready for an upgrade, however still clean and comfortable. Also back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; as a company we rely on people like yourself leaving feedback to let us know where we perform well and likewise where we do not.

As part of the current improvement program a £4m investment will help to return The Vermont Hotel bedrooms to the standards our guests have come to expect. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back to The Vermont Hotel once all is complete later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The concierge David and another man whose name I didnt catch are very polite and helpful.
The room service menu is rather limited and pricy but the meals were very tasty and well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osar o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Ignore the recent spiteful reviews. This is a wonderful hotel in a great central location with traditional values of service and quality. After a fuss-free check in I found my room on the 10th floor with a fantastic view of the iconic bridges over the Tyne. Furniture included a writing desk, easy chair and proper wardrobe (often missing now in budget chain hotels). The obligatory hot drinks tray had some unusual but very tasty coffee and the TV was a large modern slim widescreen one which you could just turn on and watch easily. Some hotel TVs make you go through several screen choices just to get to the TV channels. The bathroom was luxurious with a slim bath (it fills quickly!), a massive mirror over the sink and yes there was a full set of toiletries and soap. The room was initially quite cool but a call to reception got an immediate visit to sort out the air conditioning heater unit and they insisted on giving me an extra electric heater just in case I needed it. The bed was very comfortable and I had a very refreshing night's sleep.
At breakfast in the morning I was impressed by the elegant room with little touches of detail such as a silver stand for the jars of jam and butter (please note a non-butter alternative should be offered), proper cup and saucer, personal toast rack etc. There was a good choice and variety of juices and hot and cold food from a buffet. I look forward to a cooked breakfast at a hotel and this did not disappoint. It was well presented, hot, non-greasy and very tasty.
I spent the day at a conference in the hotel and that was a good experience as well. The lecture room was impressively large and the AV setup was faultless; I suppose you only really notice it if it goes wrong. The drinks set up at break times could have done with more than one coffee station for 200 candidates but overall the quality and quantity of food was excellent.
Overall a very positive experience at a lovely hotel that stands head and shoulders above most of the hotels I have stayed in over the past few years (about 8-10 a year).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor with a view over the river (note the entrance is on floor 6).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback that you left following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

Attention to detail is paramount here at The Vermont Hotel, and it is wonderful to hear this does not go un noticed. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#48 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing