We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst nights sleep ever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst nights sleep ever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at hotel with quite a few bags in tow, concierge standing in doorway but didn't offer to open door, nice reception area.
Room bit dated but adequate.
Bar service very poor, girl serving took order but came back to our table 3 times to check what we asked for, then finally to inform us that neither she nor concierge had heard of whisky which my husband had ordered, we then pointed to the actual bottle behind bar, which she said was too high up for her to see!
Then off to bed....no chance of sleeping though, the noise from outside bar was so loud!
At check out was never asked if had enjoyed stay, so told receptionist about noise levels to which she replied...'I know, it's awful isn't it?' Not really what we expected from this type of establishment!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Can I firstly apologise for the poor service you feel you had at the Vermont Hotel. This is certainly not the impression that we wish to leave with our guests and please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this way.

Following your feedback, I have arranged a meeting with the front of house team to highlight the importance of you; our guest and ensure that everyone works together to deliver the Geordie welcome for which we are renowned!

As a City Centre Hotel, we do occasionally have some noise disruption from neighbouring businesses. I can only apologise that this did impact your visit. We do have particularly quiet rooms in The Hotel which we would be happy to allocate should you wish to return to The Vermont Hotel.

I really do hope that you can accept my apologies for the issues you raised, and I will work with the team to ensure that this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    586
    264
    153
    128
See reviews for
224
888
42
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I went to the Vermont hotel for New Years Eve biggest mistake we ever made. We booked for the Sky Lounge Event with overnight stay as we had stayed at the hotel before and had a pleasant stay we were looking forward to the evening. What was billed as champagne and canapés was actually one glass of champagne in a plastic glass and the canapés consisted of a very salty tomato, a pineapple chunk coated in coconut, a salmon quiche and a crostini with a sundried tomato these were served after 10 o'clock as we weren't allowed into the venue until 9 this was so we could attend the other events in the hotel even though we had booked the sky lounge as this is how we wanted to spend our evening. There was only another 4 couples in the lounge the atmosphere was flat there was only one barman who took so long to make cocktails we were always waiting for a drink . We left at 11 to try and returned for the fireworks at 11.45 the lounge was suddenly full of people so again we couldn't get served and our view was from the back as so many others had all of a sudden appeared. When the fireworks were over everyone disappeared and the atmosphere went flat once more. My husband and I went to bed at 12.30 unable to cope with all the excitement. We paid £99 each for the event another £60 each for the overnight stay. I complained the next morning and sent an email when I returned home they acknowledged the email and said they would get back in touch I'm still waiting there customer service is a lot to be desired all in all don't go to this hotel for the Sky Lounge event total rip off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSimpson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
First of all I would like to apologise to you on behalf of everyone here at the Vermont Hotel that you did not enjoy your New Year’s Eve with us to the fullest. I speak on behalf of the whole team when I express my disappointment that you were unsatisfied with the event.

We have received numerous complimentary emails and letters from guests, very happy with the New Year’s Eve celebrations, including the Sky Lounge package. We are disappointed that you were less satisfied than others attending on the evening.

I understand that a number of the Duty Managers have attempted to contact you, both by telephone and email but have so far been un sucessful. Should you have the time available, please call The Hotel at a convenient time so your comments can be discussed and addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

from the time we arrived to he time we left the staff were attentetive they were very accommodating in every way they could the hotel was of a very high standard and I must say the breakfast was the best I have had in all my stays in hotels worldwide the hotel itself is very central and so convenient to all the local bars and only a five minute walk from central train station and all the major shops that Newcastle has to offer.my only gripe would be the noise level coming from the pub/nightclub( livello) next door to the hotel so go for a high room on the castle side views are still very good

Room Tip: go for higher level facing the castle keep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmurphy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for this wonderful feedback. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have to admit that this is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in. The location was perfect for central Newcastle and everything was within a short walk away.
From the moment you are welcomed at the doors of the hotel, and right through the check in process all the staff were very helpful and polite.

The room was spacious and very comfortable, ideal for my overnight stay.
The main bar area was an amazing room, with a decent choice of drinks not only on draught but also by bottle.

The next morning the breakfast was self service and was cooked to perfection

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your time and kind comments following your recent visit to The Vermont Hotel. Your feedback is very important to everyone here at The Hotel, and we hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here with my son as we were down from Scotland for the Newcastle match. The hotel was easy to get to with parking right at the front door.The location and views were first class. A very historic area of the city.The hotel was beautiful throughout.All the staff were very helpful and friendly and a credit to their employer.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team here at The Vermont Hotel. We strive to ensure that every guest receives the warm Geordie welcome for which we have become renowned, and it really does mean a lot that you have enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Could not fault this hotel at all really! Only draw back is the room could have done with a lick of paint! It was clean enough tho.

very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble at all.

Great location and smashing proper pub right n the front door

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent visit to The Vermont Hotel.

As part of the forthcoming improvement program a £3m investment will help to return our guest bedrooms to the standards our guests have come to expect. In the mean while, it really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay which met my requirements and expectations at a very good price. The location is central and the public areas are warm and comfortable. The service was good, warm and friendly. The breakfast food was cooked to order and well presented. The room was a bit dark and tired but I noted that a refurbishment is underway. The only issue was that the wifi signal was too weak to work in my room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadia T, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Your comments regarding the wifi have been passed on to our IT management company, who hope to resolve any issues to ensure this does not impact again.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Here at the Vermont we take feedback very seriously and with your help we are able to take the hotel forward in identifying what we areas we perform well in.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#47 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing