We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A joy to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A joy to stay in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot with business all around the world. Having just returned from staying in the Landmark in Hong Kong - I can honestly say The Vermont is up there with the best in terms of 5* service, dining and a very welcoming atmosphere. Hotels of this size are too often large corporate soulless machines. The Vermont's staff are very proud of their hotel and it is obvious they enjoy working there. They go above and beyond with any request. Location wise - no question best placed hotel for views of the city and convenience to transport, main business hub and shopping.

Hence why I stay here time and time again on frequent business trips to Newcastle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    586
    264
    153
    128
See reviews for
224
888
42
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent hotel with a great location and very friendly staff. Very cool courtyard bar under the a very impressive arch. Great value for money as well. Would definitely recommend for a weekend visit to Newcastle.

Liam - Cork

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What started out as a special treat ended up costing us, feel very annoyed. After a lovely wedding we stayed at the Vermont the room was adequate but not as attractive as previous hotels we have stayed in. On leaving we settled our bill in full only to find a few days later they had taken a further £22.00 from our bank. I got In touch and after 3 calls and two emails I finally received an email notifying me I had been charged for a bottle of champagne water and crisps from the mini bar. Upon calling them and stating we had not taken these items they promised a refund with no apology whatsoever. I am still waiting for the refund and the wedding was almost 2 weeks ago. Would not recommend this has left a bad taste.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff were excellent and always on hand to help. The hotel is in a great location by the river. The room was a decent size but showing its age. Peeling wallpaper, even in the bathroom. The shower was tepid at best and the tv was from a former era. For the cost I expected more. Come on spend a few more pence on quality loo roll.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Junior double suite for 1 night. Reception area very nice. Staff seemed friendly. Given electronic key to room, upon entering the room we soon saw that it actually belonged to other guests with a baby who fortunately weren't there when we walked in at 9pm. We were shocked by this and left swiftly though perhaps some other not so honest guests might not have done the same! Staff very apologetic and We were given another room. However this was a twin room. Not what we had booked or payed for. Yet another trip to reception to request a double room and some amendment of fees in light of this. The third room we ended up in was a standard double room and had some serious mold and mildew in the bathroom. As it was now getting late we realised that we probably wouldn't head out to town. We could have stayed in watching TV instead however the aerial did not work properly and needed to be constantly held in to improve the reception and we couldn't get any freeview channels. Tired and fed up with the quote experience so we checked out and managed to stay the night with a family member instead. Shane.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antigraviy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We said for 2 nights at this lovely hotel 23/24 August. On arriving was impressed by the welcome from doorman who immediately took our luggage and guided usto Reception. Reception area/bar were beautifully decorated. Checking in was speedy. Room was beautiful and our request for a view of the Tyne Bridge had been taken into account, we had room 915 which was spacious, clean, bed was comfortable and pillows were heavenly.
Thought bar prices were good. Second night we ate in the Bridge Resturant with friends who are local who also stayed the night. Resturant staff were welcoming and when a problem occured due to an "issue" were kept fully informed as to the delay in food being served resturant manager keep to every table and gave a bottle of bubbly and discount. All table bar one accepted this and clearly understood the problem.
Unfortunately the one table next to us then complained about everything and anything, the staff remained claim and curtious at all times (i'm not sure I would have in the same circumstances). food was lovely and again prices were good.
We will definately be making a return visit.

Room Tip: 915 has excellent view of Tyne Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazwill140364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

recently stayed at the vermont and all i can say is that it was amazing! the staff coudnt have been more helpful, from the moment we arrived to the moment of checkout, we had food in the restaurant and it was delicious, although a little pricey for some of the drinks. had a great night out in newcastle and the location of the hotel is perfect, will definatly be coming back, the vermont really is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_J18s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#10 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Vermont ApartHotel
The Vermont ApartHotel
#47 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing