We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Good :-)”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of October 2012 and found it to be very good in overall location and sleep quality etc.
We were checked in very quickly and made our way to our room. The room was big enough for the two of us and plenty of space to leave any luggage although we only had two small cases.
There was a very comfy double bed, wardrobe, desk, table, a couple of chairs and a tv.
The bathroom was clean and the shower was quite powerful which was good.
There were tea and coffee making facilities and although they provided the small milk cartons you could request some fresh milk.
The bed sheets and towels were changed once in our stay which was fine for us.
We found the location of the hotel to be very good. It was only a 5-10 min walk from the train station and we found it to be a pleasant 10-15 min stroll in to the center of the city.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would stay here again if we're ever back in Newcastle :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very centrally located staff very nice and hotel bar livello is lovely. Had a room on 10th floor and the view was lovely. Was given 241 cocktail vouchers on arrival which was a nice touch. Cannot comment on food as did not eat in hotel. Some of our group used the Spa facilities and the hotel have a local beautician come in and the girls had some treatments done which they were very happy with. Overall was a lovely stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SThanon, General Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to The Vermont Hotel and Newcastle. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

A stay with my partner was a gift from my parents at Christmas, much appreciated as working for myself means very little time off. The gift included a free bottle of wine if eating in the hotel in the evening, and breakfast. We ventured out in the evening instead (to the Fat Buddha, 5 mins walk) because the hotel food was quite expensive - nothing out of the ordinary there for hotels though so not a complaint.

The staff were very attentive, nothing too much to ask. A bit of noise the next morning as we were staying above a room being refurbished but that's only temporary and didn't disturb our sleep. We had the cooked breakfast each (also included in the gift) which was very nice, additional toast was no trouble.

The building itself is very nice, well located for the city centre, and parking outside was easy. It didn't bother us but the only issue some people may have is the regular train movements on the bridge above, you know the type when a huge East Midlands mainline train rolls into the station nearby...

The room had everything we needed, decor slightly dated, but well presented. Bathroom was immaculate, albeit a little short of toiletries so was a good job we packed some of our own. A little more attention to housekeeping would have secured a higher score - I dropped my phone at the side of the bed and actually had to wash it; the carpet was very dusty as if only the main walk-through areas have ever been hoovered.

A very firm 7/10.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun_d_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not so easy to locate with satnav once in Newcastle & then had to drive round again to get to main carpark where main entrance is. Needs better street signs to Hotel. Room not ready on arrival but offered refreshments while waited. Dissapointing staff gave no information in the event of fire alarms going off (went of 4 times thro night) or given the choice of morning calls/papers/breakfast times.Room quiet clean (some dust on lamps/bed headboard/top doors). Very sparse with tea/coffee/milk/biscuits in room. Tv does need replacing as does the decor & pillows. Feel some staff in need of further training in customer care. Over all had lovely stay dispite the ongoing refurbishments.

Room Tip: Go for room 1012 great views across the Tyne. Very relaxing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

the only good thing was breakfast, tv's out of date, and to low. abit of dust.no information on where breakfast to be served, or evening meals. no beer on daft, plus no change. pat test out of date, and no signage on fire extinquisers. would not book again. but the concierge was very helpful. i do think that the staff need to be retrained. in alot of areas, maybe there hr could help!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend on Valentine's and thankfully we weren't disappointed. A wonderful location and even though it is close to the railway, also incredibly quiet. It was ideal for us who would tend to pop our and back regularly during the day. The staff were typically friendly and welcoming. You won't likely be disappointed staying here. Check lastminute.com for great prices.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robclifton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night cheapy so value very good. Decor a little tired but squeaky clean. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and great location (traditional pub opposite). Evening meal not too much choice but excellent quality. Would book again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#28 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $98 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing