We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, imposing location next to the castle and business district”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My stay was too short and could not explore. This is a hotel of considerable old-school grandeur and charm. Main entrance is at level 6, so evidently located on a steep hillside next to the Tyne. Room was clean and comfortable, but with antiquated TV. Wifi was free but with very low security: my email account was hacked within a few minutes: extremely irritating.
Continental breakfast was good, service was rapid and competent.

Room Tip: The location is slightly off the beaten track in downtown and is quiet. As the entrance is on level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicer0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here 12/13th January on Living Social Deal. The room we had was of a great size , it had everything you needed. It was very clean , the lady who serviced the room was very friendly.

The lifts weren't working when we were there but the concierge man was absolutely great taking us up in the service lift. The staff are a great asset to the hotel very customer orientated.

We ate in the restaurant , the food was very good.

The only. downside was the mattresses on the bed definitely needed replacing which we believe was in progress. Also one of our party has a gluten allergy and the hotel didn't have any gluten free bread, which to be fair they didn,t know about, but we have stayed in other hotels and it has always been available. This was rectified for the next day , so very pleased.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here with a voucher so it was a good price - Friday night, city centre, double room B&B for £49 ....so I have no complaints. However if I was paying full price I'd like to know...great riverside location, just off the Tyne Bridge, with valet parking, couldn't be easier. The room was well sized with comfortable beds and bathroom but a dated TV and out of size decor. Access to Dean Street and the city and quayside for bars and restaurants is excellent. Breakfast however was not - we arrived at the end of the serving time but should still have been able to get a full selection of hot, fresh food from the buffet but sadly did not...
Would I stay again - yes, at a special price and I'd get up earlier for breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Vermont Hotel is a very good place for a break. We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Bar and food prices were what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre but the quality of the food was excellent. We had breakfast and dinner. The room was good but our heating did not work. We were offered an alternative room but declined and instead accepted a panel heater which was adequate. Parking was free although there were a limited number of spaces and little room between vehicles. The hotel s ideally located for city centre with a huge variety of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got another great deal on a night`s stay here to enable us to see a show at the nearby Telewest Arena(10 minutes walk). Been once before and once more the service at the vermont was great and really friendly. Beautiful breakfast ,served this time rather than buffet, and so handy for a walk along the quayside or into town. Great view of the Castle keep from bedroom window and comfortable , large room. Free parking and lovely old bar. To be refurbished soon and will be even better then. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinkyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of the Vermont is excellent - very close to the quayside, easy walk to the Baltic gallery, or easy walk up Dean Street to Gray street or Graingertown - first rate. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The staff do try very hard to please, are helpful and make every effort to be welcoming.
The hotel is a little tired: the mattress had lost a lot of its support - I believe they are refurbishing the beds. The room was fine, perfectly adequate size, facilities very clean, and getting extra coffee and milk were easily addressed by quick room service.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, so cannot comment on the dining. The fresh fruit and the croissants were top notch, the cooked breakfast less so - a pity as the staff worked hard to make you welcome and serve well. Fix the little bits, and it would move up a score or two.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SThanon, Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments; the forthcoming £3 investment plan will help to resolve the small issues we are currently facing, and restore The Vermont Hotel to the standard our guests have come to expect.
We hope to welcome you back soon to The Vermont Hotel, and hope your next visit does mark us up a score or two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed hear on Saturday 19th Jan and was excellent hotel for price.
Only problem were the heating in the room was too hot and i dont belive the controls worked.

Other than that it was a great stay, one lift also broken for the full duration of stay.

Breakfast brilliant.

Limited parking so we were lucky to find a space.

Excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SThanon, Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Can I take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful feedback that you left following your recent visit to the Vermont Hotel.

It really does mean a lot to us all that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Vermont in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,939 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $99 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing