We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vermont Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$84
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$68
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$86
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Hostel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$42
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,253)
Filter reviews
2,253 results
Traveler rating
972
663
305
169
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
663
305
169
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tearedwood barsky loungebridge restaurantwine and dinecocktail bartyne bridgelovely hoteldean streetcity centrebit datedpublic areasbars and restaurantsbirthday treathotel barcar parkdouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,059 - 2,064 of 2,253 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband booked this hotel as a last minute birthday treat for me. We checked in on the Bank Holiday Monday of the Queen's Jubilee. The car park at the front of the hotel was full but there was a small over flow car park close by.

The hotel is a little tired and dated in places but the main areas e.g. reception, the bar off the reception area and the Bridges restaurant were all spotless and comfortable. Having a lift entrance to Dean Street was very useful for Quayside access. The staff were very polite and helpful, particularly the very young girl serving in the bar.

Our room, 919, was clean, plenty of storage and nice bathroom. The old fashioned, i.e. not flat screen TV instantly dated the room. We overlooked Dean Street which was a little noisy late at night/early morning with revellers heading back up into town from the Quayside. The railway line ran close by but as most trains stop around 10.30pm there was not a noise issue.

Breakfast was a small selection of cereals, meats and pastries with a hot cooked to order option. This is hideously expensive for what you get but as breakfast was included (at a cost of £2.50 each!!) as part of our package it was fine.

On the morning of departure we were woken at 8.30am by housekeeping knocking at the door wanting to clean the room. As check out was not until 12noon I thought that was a little rude.

We paid £54 (Trivago.com) for one night which was a bargain given that the price included breakfast (£49 room only). I would however, have been bitterly disappointed with the hotel if we had paid the full room price quoted on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We got a great deal for a 1 night stay, junior suite £70, that'll do for me. As we arrived there was a cherry picker taking up most of the (free) car park as some contractors were replacing the VERMONT letters outside the hotel, I thought hope they start work early tomorrow morning with their noisy diesel engine, well they did.

The place is just looking tired and a bit worn out, very soft mattress, bathroom very dated, plug in sink stuck on closed so water could not drain away, ill fitting windows, Ceefax on the TV, didn't know that still existed. Also rooms tend to be a bit too noisy especially with the east coast mainline about 40m away, so as someone else suggests earplugs essential. On the positive side there is free parking and you are a stones throw from the Toon and the quayside where there are some great restaurants. It's just OK at £70, no more though.

Room Tip: The railway line is directly (about 5m) behind the hotel, so choose front, right hand side for least noisy rooms. Also there is a very handy lift taking you down to the quayside, saving quite a hike.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilchonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We held our wedding venue here last year and the staff are just amazing.

We arranged everything through the events organiser and it was so blissful. Bar staff are fantastic, hotel is fantastic and the food is amazing.

I cannot praise this hotel enough and the hardwork that the barstaff and restaurant staff put into it all is just amazing.

Had an amazing room, with views of the tynebridge and all of the quayside.

Would def recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This fabulous hotel is perfectly located, and many of the rooms (including the one my Mum had) have wonderful views of the Tyne Bridge. It is a very short walk to the many restaurants, bars, shops, museums etc in the town, and an even shorter walk down to the Quayside, thanks to the hotel's lift down to its secondary entrance at the bottom of Dean Street.

The service in the hotel was absolutely marvellous, and the staff could not have been more friendly and attentive. The free parking just outside the front door was a real plus, and the doorman not only helped us with our suitcases, but even put them into the car for us!

The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious, with everything that you could need; the bed was very comfortable, with lovely pillows, the bathroom was great, with a really good shower.

The only downside to this hotel is that some of the rooms (including mine) overlooked the main railway line.... This might have been OK if we hadn't been staying during a heat wave, and had to open the windows (no air conditioning). I really couldn't sleep at all without earplugs - but once I'd figured this out, then I slept beautifully!

We were on a room only basis, and it was pretty expensive to add breakfast (at time of writing, it was $15 for continental), which is pretty steep no matter which way you look at it. However, I suppose the free parking kind of made up for that.

On the whole, I would recommend this hotel - but ask for a room at the front, overlooking the river!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel earlier this year with my partner.On our arrival we were greeted by a young lady who told us that our room wouldnt be ready until 2pm. The time was 12.45 so we agreed that we would pop out and have a late lunch. We returned at 3pm to be asked to sit and wait,we sat and waited along with other people sitting and waiting! after being ignored for about 1hr we approached the girl again and was told that the previous night the hotel had been full and she would shout us when our room was ready!
We were given our room key at 4.30! with no apology.
We were very disappointed with the overall service provided (other incidents occured over the weekend) We have stayed in this hotel several times before when my daughter attended Newcastle University but unfortunatly due to this experience we will not be staying again!

Room Tip: as this hotel is situated central to the city it is right next door to the train station, therefore train noise is unavoidable. ask for a room at the other side.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews