We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”
Review of The Vermont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vermont Hotel
Hook
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We arrived fairly early in the morning, as my partner had a business meeting in town and our room was not ready yet. I therefore decided to explore the town a bit and returned back to the hotel at 12 o’clock, which was still 2 hours before the designated check-in time. As I had been up since six in the morning, I was rather keen to have a shower, change of clothes and relax for a bit. I was informed that it would take a little longer for the room to be ready, but the extremely kind young lady at reception consulted the computer and with the help of Denise, the lady from house-keeping they found me a room on the top floor, which was not only ready, but was also an upgrade to a junior suite. We stayed in room 1108 and I could not have been more pleased, as we had a superb view over the river and the bridges, which were beautifully lit up at night. The Vermont is a lovely hotel with its own distinct style and comfort. We can only recommend this hotel and the extremely helpful and courteous staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorpoHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    601
    275
    154
    131
See reviews for
238
926
43
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I traveled here with with my wife and another couple for a weekend. the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated and the staff were helpful and polite. The hotel is pretty central and you have everything you need within walking distance. We ate in The Bridge restaurant on one night and the food wash tasty and hot. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Viewed this hotel and was slightly concerned with some of the negative comments but overall a lovely hotel. Here are our comments:
Outside very grand with ample parking.
Next door to part of a castle - for any historians :-)
Next door to the train line - only heard one train during the day when i had the window open.
Very warm rooms with heating that you can control - heats up very quick.
Awesome power shower, with a bath that fills in 90 SECONDS!!!!!
Lovely reception area, very helpful staff
Late check out on sunday till 7pm - FREE
Curtain pattern dark green with flowers - ok a bit old fashioned but they were great for blocking out the light.
The room was clean and the bathroom spotless,

Perfect location:
Walk to La Tasca/malmaison/pitch and piano on the quayside - 5-10min walk
Walk into town ie Debenhams at the Gate entrance/Eldon Sq - 10min walk

Outside the back of the hotel you have restaurants on your doorstep, Pizza Express, 1 Oak etc.

Considering the hotel is going into administration the staff couldnt have been more cheerful and helpful.

I hope they manage to find a buyer for the hotel and it runs for many years to come. :I would def return :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 717 - facing towards the back of the hotel towards the quayside :-) Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClasyChickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great fresh breakfast, fish is outstanding. Rooms are clean but need bringing up to date. Staff very accommodating and full of northern charm. Location is brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinmeadow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

2 stars would be a more realistic rating for this 4 star hotel! Reception area basic, bar staff and concierge unhelpful, the rooms are awful! So dated and shabby, the only good thing about this place is the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at The Vermont this weekend and found it very comfortable with friendly helpful staff. After a long drive on a Friday night it was nice to be able to park the car in the hotle carpark, check in and then settle down for a fine three course meal in the hotel restuarant. The 'couples deal' is available on the weekends and is well worth going for as you get two three course meals with a free bottle of wine included for £36 in total. The food and service were good. Afterwards we setlled in the fine hotel bar with a brandy in front of the fire - a nice touch after a meal. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel has a traditional 'art decor' feel to it which some may find a little old fashioned but in my view added to the character of the hotel. Service was friendly, prompt and efficient and on our second night the young lady serving behind the bar went out of her way to light the fire for us in the bar despite some strong downdrafts blowing down the chimney from the windy night outside! A good example of the fine service at this good hotel. I would also recommend the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatonspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I had a weekend break in Newcastle.(we are in our 40's)We stayed Saturday night at the hotel. We found the staff freindly and helpfull,the room was clean and everything worked ok. The view from the bedroom was onto another part of the hotel,not good and made the room a bit dark. Breakfast was ok-good. We missed out on the Couples evening meal offer,it has to be booked in advance. Good central location and free parking. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the river will have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Hotel

Property: The Vermont Hotel
Address: Castle Garth | Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vermont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Vermont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vermont Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Vermont Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing