We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disgace”
Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whites Hotel
A TripAdvisor Member
“what a disgace”
Reviewed July 20, 2005

this is by far the worst hotel i have ever came across. As a business man i stop in hotels frequently and have never seen any thing like it. The floors are uneven, there are constant noises from other such problems. My room had a smell of damp wood and the beds are not fit for the homeless. I strongly suggest the hotel is looked at by a structual engineer as subsidance is unreal. TAKE NOTE: THIS PLACE IS A DUMP, DO NOT BOOK, I AM SURE THE SOUP KITCHENS IN HAYMARKET HAVE BETTER FACILITIES.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    59
    44
    29
    78
See reviews for
20
56
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2005

A nightmare stay in this Hotel, nice location but avoid this hotel. Small rooms cold showers and generally dirty. We had a confirmation slip for a 2 night stay but on arrival were told the price was in fact for a 1 night stay and would have to pay up for another night. We obviously questioned this as we had the confirmation and it was not our fault. The manager agreed with us but the owner threatened to call the police to evict us unless we paid!! The manager even told us he was leaving next month because he hated her. We came to an agreement with the manager over the cost and had 2 good nights out in Newcastle. Good trip, very poor hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

Returned to whites hotel this year. Found staff really helpful and standards greatly improved Thank you

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2004

Stayed in the hotel during the first week of December to do some early chrismas shoppin. I found the staff very helpful and the rooms ok It was a bit noisy but it wasnt the fault of the staff it was the street outside full of bars and restaurants. We didnt mind as we enjoyed the lively outside. We would visit this hotel again. Did have a problem getting remote for TV.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 1, 2004

This hotel looks nice from the outside, but thats about all it has going for it. 4 of us stayed in different rooms, one room had no heating, an electric fire was provided however no plug sockets available to plug in, another had unbearable heat as it was above a kitchen - there was no way to turn the heating down, another room had no wallpaper on the wall as damp had come through and mould was showing on the wall. - Carpets were all dirty and badly stained - certain walls in rooms were covered in dust and cobwebs.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle
#44 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Property: Whites Hotel
Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing