We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Whites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whites Hotel
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel ticked the price, location and cleanliness boxes, but failed in respect of comfortable bed, good shower and lack of noise during the night. The very noisy bar closed at 11.00, but it is just a noisy hotel, with noise from guests carrying too well. I don't mind cosmetic attention it needs, but not being able to use the over bath shower because there was no fitting was annoying. If you want good value in a good place to stay after a late night out, I'm sure it's ok, but for me visiting my daughter at Uni, not the place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    56
    44
    29
    75
See reviews for
19
55
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

the location was good and staff were very helpful and friendly . Thanks to them it made for a very pleasant stay in newcastle
the rooms were ok and the location pleasant with plenty of shops and restaurants would definitely come again

Room Tip: was on first floor and my room was nice thanks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend and found it was a all round great place, its in a really nice part of town. The hotel is linked to the bar which was perfect for me! The staff I found were extremely friendly and helpful. During my stay I give them al pet names, the receptionist loves to be called darling. Would 100% stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7536uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stopped here last weekend with my partner for our anniversary for 2 nights. There was on site free parking which was great, and our room was clean and modern with digital tv. the bathroom had a good shower and a bath. The manager got us VIP entry to a club in town and even arranged for a bottle bubbly in there for our anniversary. My partner says the breakfast were great i never made in time. the bar or was fantastic, they had a happy game were we could of won free drinks, no such luck for us we only got half price. We will defiantly be coming back to this hotel when we come to newcastle next..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in the hotel on 22.02.2014 for my hen party of 15 ladies. The first issue being asked to pay a£30 per person cash deposit that we had never been informed of. The reception staff were rude and not interested in what we had to say.

We received the keys to our rooms and walking up the stairs there was a very strong smell of urine. On entering the there was no elecrtic in the bathroom. We rang down to reception and informed them, only to be told if you flick the switch 3 or 4 times it will come on.... very safe!.

I pulled the iron board down to iron clothes and the ironing board came off in my hand, the shelf the iron was on was also hanging off the wall.

The shower pressure was pathetic, not even worth bothering with.

My friend lifted the sheet in her room and the matress was brown stain with god knows what.... surely a health and safety issue?!

Another room in the party had no electric for over 12 hours -luckily for us we were not in the room very long as we could not bear to stay in it!

Plugs were unsafe

Walls had dirty smears of god knows what all over

The breakfast the next day was disgusting, I cannot even think about it without feeling sick. Cups were dirty, the staff were huffing and puffing when we asked for a glass. The hot plate the eggs were on were unsafe and I nearly burnt my hand.

Checking out was equally difficult... you are required to wait until your room is checked before you can receive your £30 deposit back, in our case it took more than an hour. And when you have a 2.5 hours journey home the last thing you want to do is sit around with the smell of urine!.

Another thing to mention, one of our group left her GHD's in the room and called the hotel to adsk them to check the rooms.... apparently they were not there even though we know they were left in there!. The hotel staff were very rudde and basically accused us of being drunken idiots.We were a group of mainly 30+ years who came for a night out. We didnt cause trouble or damage and were treated as if we were reprobates!!.

The only good thing is the location, Jesmond ois a lovely area, closed to City centre but thats the only thing.

I am not a snob, and have stayed in 2* hotels before, but this is on another level. I have stayed in cleaner, nicer hostels!

Avoid at all costs - Health & Safety executive are being informed how unsafe and disgusting this place is!!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs - so many nicer places for similar price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have recently stayed at this hotel with a hen group and it must be the worst hotel that i have ever been to.

Upon arrival we were told that as we were part of a hen party that we had to pay £30 cash each as a damage bond, we were never told this at our booking stage. We could not book the hen party into the hotel until everyone paid this bond (or agreed to paying it).

When we were given our room cards, we were told that there were not many twin rooms so most of the party were put in double rooms. The rooms had been booked for months so were a bit confused as to why we could not get the rooms we'd asked for.

The main toilets were in the hallway at the bottom of the stairs and smelt of strong urine as the door from the reception area led to a main public bar.

The walls were absolutely filthy leading up to the rooms and the floors were uneven.

We got to our room and there was an unpleasant damp smell.

The handle on the window was broken and the window taped up! There was mould on the window sill.

The shower water pressure was pathetic and the water temperature kept changing its mind!

The beds weren't too bad, but then again I had been out on the evening so anywhere would have been acceptable!

The food the following morning was awful! The times for serving were at 08.00-9.30 am, we headed down around 9.10 and there was only 4 sausages, 2 pieces of bacon, 2 eggs and about half a tin of bins between 7 of us! We'd asked for orange juice as this was empty and got tutted at and then the person was muttering not so quietly under her breath when she 'had to' get some more!

The quality of the food was appalling so maybe the quantity wasn't such a bad thing after all.

My only good bit of review on this hotel would be checking out! That we didn't have to be there any longer!!

Jesmond itself was quite a nice area, but this hotel does not deserve a spot there as it's far from nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Where to start? We stayed on a Saturday night when in town for a gig. The whole of the ground floor smelt of urine, in the room the electricity kept going off because there was a workman in the next room and the toilet sounded like a foghorn when you flushed it. It was freezing, we turned the radiator on full and an electric heater and it was still cold. They must have realised we had turned the radiator up because when we got back after the gig the heating was turned off altogether. During the night a drunk couple had a domestic in the corridor and then an even drunker Scotsman tried to get into the room of a clearly annoyed woman. Just to compound things the cleaners let themselves in at 8.50am without knocking while we were trying to enjoy a 'lie in'. It was hilariously bad!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePlebSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whites Hotel

Property: Whites Hotel
Address: 38-42 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whites Hotel is a licensed 36 bedroom hotel, family run providing good facilities and service at budget prices. All rooms are en-suite with Flat screen colour television with up to 30 channels, radio, central heating, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and irons are situated in all rooms. Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer.The cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices from 12 noon till 2100hrs Monday through Thursday and 12 noon till 1900hrs Friday through Sunday. The hotel is situated in Jesmond, 1.5 miles from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne known for its vibrant night life and a short walk away from the beautiful picturesque Jesmond Dene. The breathtaking North East Coast is also only 20 minutes by Metro, with stops at Tynemouth, Cullercoats and Whitley Bay, who can resist a day trip to the sandy beaches of the North East.The hotel has a private car park situated to the rear of the building which is constantly monitored by CCTV.Outside area for smoking and dining available.Lively bar on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing