We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whites Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kenilworth Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caledonian Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Northumbria Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vinci's Hotel Restaurant(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osborne Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gresham Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
91
59
44
30
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
59
44
30
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar blanccity centreosbourne roadfriendly receptionisttea and coffeenewcastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 310 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had booked this hotel for a Saturday night for a friends birthday - we had booked two rooms (one with 3 beds and one with 2 beds).

On arrival the place smelt badly and was very tired looking. We went to the reception and were greeted very nicely, given our room keys and told where our rooms were.

We got to our rooms and they looked ok but were freezing. The radiators do not work so small electric heaters are provided and as these were not on it was very very cold. Having a closer look around wallpaper was peeling off, the plug sockets were cracked and barely attached to the wall
and the floor tiles in the bathroom were also cracked.

The second bedroom did not have enough towels - only two even though 3 people were booked, the tele would not work either so we got a transfer. One good thing was that it was next to the other room but similarly it was cold and very tired.

We went down for tea and drinks as we had vouchers. The pub was nice and we arrived at happy hour and got very cheap drinks which was good however the food was appalling. The steaks were fatty and looked awful (definitely not sirloin) the portions were very small, the burgers were burnt, the lasagne was bland and the chips were hard.

As we all went upstairs to shower in the first room the water was freezing and the other was scalding!! Couldn't believe it. The second rooms water than also went freezing. So we all had freezing showers. Brilliant. When this was reported we just got a negative response.

I know the price is very cheap but this is below standard for that price. I would rather go to an ibis, premier inn or travel lodge which provide great quality for good prices.

I would never return here, the best thing was the happy hour and the location.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a Saturday night in a twin room. Location was perfect and a taxi into the centre of newcastle was only £5.50! Staff at reception were very helpful and we got vouchers off drinks in the bar. Room was spot on for £39! Clean and plenty of space. Only slight problem was the pillows they were lumpy like they'd been in the washing machine but everything else was fine. Will definitely be stopping here again and next time we'll stop for breakfast :) thanks for having us x

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Dellykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed in the whites hotel with family visiting from london. Initially i was a bit unsure what to expect as it was soo cheap. However i was pleasantly suprised. I was greated by a friendly receptionist, it was a large double bedroom i was presented with which had all amneties needed.
We also were given 10% discount cards for bar blanc. Which was fab.
Handy location as only 5 mins drive to get to the city centre.
We had a fantastic stay and would like to thank all the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

stayed there last night in 117 (21.12.13). Wasn't expecting much due to the fact that it says its only 2 stars though. If you come in the front main entrance with its reception area right next to the bar you sill see they have invested a lot of money to make sure their bar areas are in keeping with jesmonds trendy name but if you go past that into the rooms then you will find that they don't match with the public areas... first of all when you go through the door past reception, you catch an overwhelming smell of men's toilet because unfortunately they are located here and I think they must use channel blocks/urinal cubes etc because the smell is really off putting, up the creaky stairs with the old fashioned and tired carpet which reminded me of the cheap black pool b&b's I used to stay at when I was a kid and then into your room. Our room was quite small but for one night it was adequate. The décor needs updating and the red fluffy bed runner needs to be binned although the bed its self was good and firm and the pillows seemed good quality too. The bathroom, again, was small and built into the bedroom with the plaster board walls, if the bathroom has been a separate room instead of using bedroom space to make it en-suite it would have been a nice size room! I don't know what price we paid as this was already taken care of for me but I probably would stay here again for a one night stay as it served a purpose and I will definitely be there again to try the bar out as we didn't get a chance to do it this time because we had plans.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Frecklybear1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights here as part of a Groupon. Adequate parking arrived a bit early to be sure. Hotel is rather tired but remarkably good value. Reception staff were brilliant. Allowed to go to room early parking permit, Wi-Fi login details were readi;ly avaliable. The free nmeals and wine were good. It is worth noting that the bar is very popular with students during Happy Hour however the rowdy atmosphere keeps you young. The room was relatively clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and there was plent of hot water. Our room was at the back and was quiet the front rooms other guests report traffic noise was intrusive. The moral is get there early. Will use the hotel again. The 33 bus stops outside and this is perfect for town half hour service. Bar staff very obliging.

Room Tip: get there eary ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matabeleDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews