We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stopped here for 1 night en route to Northumberland so the children could go on the Metro the following day. Booked through lastminute.com which would appear to have been a bargain - £50 for a family of 4 including breakfast. Room was adequate, with double bed and sofa bed, and having the toilet separate from the bathroom was a bonus.
Breakfast was amazing - usual cooked assortment, fresh pineapple, watermelon, meats, cheeses, pancake machine, baguettes etc. Close to Newcastle, and local Tesco so we could buy the essentials for subsequent journey to Wooler.
Easy to find, but downside of having to pay £5 to park for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. Please note - if you book your room on accor.com, you will never find a cheaper rate elswhere - look out for our special promotions.
See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    522
    216
    86
    46
See reviews for
418
308
88
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the Novotel Newcastle. First, it was easy to find by car and had ample parking. Our room was a standard Novotel room, however the shower/tub room had been recently renovated in a modern style that was clean and inviting.
Our room faced the back of the hotel towards the highway, but it was not too loud and would have been quiet if we had wanted to keep the window closed. As well, we did not hear any noise from other rooms at night, even over a weekend.
Traveling on a budget we appreciated the picnic tables and garden in the rear, as we were able to eat our meals there purchased from a large Tesco a 10 min walk away.
Location wise, we liked being close to the highway for easy access to Hadrians Wall, Durham and Whitely Bay Beaches. As well, with the metro within a 10 minute walk, getting into Newcastle without a car was a breeze. The metro tickets were easily purchased by machine at the station and the ride in was not long at all.
I would recommend anyone staying in Newcastle to consider the Novotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Newcastle Airport. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after a work social gathering
Arrived at hotel but parked in travelodge car park as had previously read £5 to park which I think is most unfair, checked in with ease and found room
Room was superior queen with one queen bed and one queen sofa bed and free wifi. Very clean, spacious and modern....huge walk in shower which was magnificent
Used the leisure facilities straight away gym is small on second floor but did the job
Pool is lovely with enough room for lengths or to relax, steam room lovely also
Had a couple of minor problems first being upon going to make tea looked in the kettle to find it stuffed with leaves! Reported to reception it took twenty minutes to get a new one. Second problem was when using the built in hair dryer it blew up and consequently shorted all electrical sockets in the room, unfixable at the time so reception moved us rooms slightly inconvenient but ended up same floor, same type of room and free drinks vouchers as a sorry so made up for it
Didn't eat breakfast as at £13.95 each that's a bit pricey instead just ate a bacon sandwich at the bar which was yummy and filled with bacon comes with a coffee for £4.10.....bargain
An all round pleasant stay and would be more than happy to return

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us - apologies for the technical issue.. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We paid a little extra for a better room and it was very good. The breakfast was excellent, with the exception of the scrambled egg which was disgraceful and should never have left the kitchen except in a bin. The wifi fought my wife all the way but I got mine working OK with a little help from one of those usually invisibly hotel creatures – the manager – Good for her! Had carvery meal at the Toby Inn, a minute’s walk away. Nasty little extra - £5 for parking. Please understand hotel managers and directors – we don’t like nasty little pure profit for you extras whether it be parking, wifi or “resort charge”. I would stay here again and recommend the hotel. This hotel is widely used for the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulw1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
"Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I also thank you for your constructive critiscism and I am pleased you will return. [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our Twin-bedded room was not a true twin, rather 2 doubles, so limited room to get round. Please provide true twins when advertised.
Having said that, beds were comfortable!
Sloping bath floor was slippery when showering - need to fit a handrail to hold onto!
Otherwise rooms were fine and well kitted out.
Staff were helpful and courteous.
The only meal we had was excellent.
After parking at dusk, the shallow steps down were dangerous and dimly lit - needing handrail all the way down and safety edging strips - as difficult to judge even in dry weather.
Parking exit procedure seemed antiquated and waste of paper- simple push button code would be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
"Thanks for your review and the courteous coomments and feedback within. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were travelling with our adult daughter and it was cheaper to book 2 rooms here than most family rooms in other hotels/ bed and breakfasts in the city. It was a little way out but just a ten minute walk to Kingston Park train station with 10 minute ride into the city centre. There are also plenty of shops around the hotel and a 24 hour Tesco supermarket.The rooms were clean and comfortable with nice bathrooms. The staff were friendly and helpful when sorting out a housekeeping issue. A good hotel for a one or two night's stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
"Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing