We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value place just off the A1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good value place just off the A1”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night here when going to visit our daughter and we couldn't fault it. Our room was large and airy with a comfortable bed, seperate bathroom and toilet and a lovely rainfall shower. We couldn't believe how quiet it was, given its close proximity to the A1 (our room faced the car park which was the quietest part). The staff were lovely, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed our pre-booked breakfast with a good choice on the buffet. All this and a superior room for under £50 for two including free wifi! The hotel has a pool and gym but we did not use these.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side from the A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexexteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
"Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson)
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    540
    225
    92
    48
See reviews for
439
324
90
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kendal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel for 1 night before we went on holiday,using the park and fly package.Booking in was quick and easy with 2 lovely ladies that were very friendly and helpful.The room was lovely,with comfy beds.We had pre booked breakfast and glad we did as our sons was free and really couldn't fault the choice and standard of food and again really lovely staff! Didn't have any problems with trying to get parked there were lots of spaces.Taxi transfers included both ways to the airport.We will definitely use the Novotel again if we fly from Newcastle again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before we flew on holiday.
We booked a stay and 8 day parking.
This included a free private taxi to and from the aiport.
Clean and large room.
Lovely staff.
Kids got a little present and were very happy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotinghamFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
"Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson)
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were down in Newcastle for a few days, easy location to get to, local amenities near by, supermarket etc. Pool small but functional, only downside was baby classes which were going on, on our final day. Breakfast expensive but free kids meal helped. Local chain carvery does cheap breakfast, and evening meals. McDonald's just down the road too. Extra charge for parking which I hadn't anticipated.

Room Tip: Gym on 2nd floor. Pool on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
"Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Clean room, spacious, quiet, wi-fi, fridge, reasonably priced (on hotels.com). All you can ask for really. I was driving from Scotland to London and needed a stop off.

Only down side is £5 charge for parking which was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeorasMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
"Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson)
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel pays for the taxi from/to the airport (at airport, have the info desk call the hotel and get a paper with a number on it). In 5 minutes, we were at the hotel.

Check-in was the fastest ever, 30 seconds; check-out was equally fast only because we prepaid.

Room was average but ok; all a bit old and tired, but decent enough beds. Airco was broken, lock on the room door was also broken. It was nice to have a fridge/mini-bar and a safe, which we didn't have in other similar hotels in the northern UK.

English breakfast (included in our stay) was decent, not much bread but a lot of fruit.

Nice play area for young kids and a nice gift at check-in.

Overall, good value for one night near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
"Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Newcastle Airport. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,078 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
977 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing