We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    547
    228
    93
    49
See reviews for
454
326
90
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our second visit to Novotel Newcastle Airport. Generally the hotel is excellent but is let down by a few details.

First the good things. We got a good rate on an executive room deal including breakfast, internet and movies as well as the better equipped facilities. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The meals, whether it was Breakfast or a meal in the Bar or Restaurant, were all very good - easily better than any chain restaurant and a comparable price. The pool was good (one of the reasons we returned) and the lockers have been refitted since our previous visit. The room itself was well laid out, well equipped and clean. Not just clean, but neutral and fresh clean rather than smelling of bleach. The Bed linens again were crisp and clean. The bathroom was nicely equipped.

Now a few problems. The bed was ridiculously, in fact stupidly, firm. It was so painfully solid and uncomfortable on the second and third nights I had to sleep on the room's sofabed and my wife slept on a bundled up duvet. Not great for a romantic weekend. The movies, included in our room rate, were mostly unwatchable due to the poor quality picture caused by heavy pixellation of their movie serving system. We didn't bother to mention these problems to the staff as it was unlikely they could magic up a better bed or replace their movie media server.

Lastly, we prepaid for this room online via Novotel's website but were almost charged twice during checking out. Fortunately I had brought a print out of my booking to prove I had already paid. This is not the first time a Novotel have tried to double charge me, this previously happened in Novotel Sheffield. Something is wrong with their computer systems if it is aware of the prepaid booking before our arrival (as it was) but unaware it was fully paid on check out. I accept this is probably not the fault of the staff at Novotel Newcastle, they sorted out the price and even waived the parking charges by way of an apology.

It is testament to the excellent quality of the hotel, the location, the professional and attentive staff, the catering, the room (excluding bed) and the pool facilities that we are still willing to offer 4 stars. However, a crippling night's sleep (or lack of sleep!) is a deal breaker for many people.

Room Tip: Book through the Novotel site at least 30 days in advance for a good discount, Executive rooms usual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElCordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am also very grateful for the constructive comments which you have made, your feedback is very valuable in continually reviewing our standards. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Splendid service. Staff very courteous and helpful. We had dinner in room, which was delivered within the specified time window and up to expectation. However The standard TV selection was very disappointing. Providing FOC very limited channel choice. Notwithstanding that, we would use Novotel Newcastle(airport) again when in the area.
Bar and restaurant facilities excellent. Breakfast and service splendid. It is a Very family and pet orientated hotel, which suited our purposes down to the ground. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank inthedoghours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

No issues at all with the hotel the rooms were adequate and roomy with nice beds. My breakfast was a bit hit and miss - sometimes the English breakfast was overcooked but apart from that fine. I stayed at this hotel and commuted by Metro to Newcastle town centre each day and this was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 632Richard111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
"Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n/ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have stayed at Novotel newcastle twice in the past year . Truly excellent value for money. fantastic options at breakfast inspite of the very reasonable price.
Hotel was clean . Staff warm and friendly. Kids enjoyed the quiet pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank vavavoomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Novotel and i must say that, despite initial reservations based on some of the reviews I'd read, I had a really enjoyable experience there. The room was - ok rather functional and basic - but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the service at reception friendly and helpful, especially the slovakian young lady who talked to me about her background and PH.D ambitions. staff in the restaurant were also very warm and welcoming and did all they could to make this single customer feel less alone.

I found the location excellent with Kingston Park Shopping Centre just a short walk down the road with a HUGE 24 hour Tesco's, M and S, Boots the Chemist's, and other major high street retailers. There is a great Italian restaurant there called Luciano's, very reasonably priced and of good quality. very popular too.

The hotel is just off the roundabout that takes you onto the A1 north and south as well as the road to the airport which is 5 minutes away on a slow drive.

i would certainly stay here again.

Thanks to one and all for a really lovely homely short stay. Your kind attention was much appreciated and the easy computer access near the reception on which i could book in, get seat and boarding pass etc was most helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in 234. No complaints at all. Except I'd have like a better biscuit with my coffee! Hob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrutherfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson )
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,098 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
856 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
729 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing