We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot for Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good spot for Airport Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just off the A1 north of Newcastle and a short way from the airport, this hotel has good parking deals for holday travellers. Clean and modern with good facilities such as gym and pool for relaxation. Usual hotel drink prices but with a Toby Inn ony 5 mins walk away. Room came with breakfast for good price but then added £5 to park on site! I know city centre hotels charge, but one with amassive car park out of town, no way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamj829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the comments relating to your recent stay. I note particularly the commetn referring to the car parking charge. This is essential as the hotel operates a strong Park and Fly offer linked with the airport and many guests try to leave vehicles as an alternative to placing them at the airport parking base. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    535
    224
    92
    47
See reviews for
434
322
90
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Every member of staff I came across offered grey service, food was tasty and reasonably priced, room wa good quality, only thing letting it don was no free wifi anywhere which is becoming more important to travellers nowadays I believe. Overall though very good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Good to receive your comments following the recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the services and facilities. I note the comment relating to wifi and whilst this is a company standard to charge, we do offer some deals with free of charge internet access inthe bedrooms. Thanks again for the commetns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

hotel about 15 mins from town centre (£12 taxi). good standard rooms. great for airport.
smooth check in with friendly staff. room didnt have bed made up but recified quickly. bar area a little too sterile for my tastes. check out took too long. all in all a good standard hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyesteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for the very objective comments in your review from your recent stay. Good to receive the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and were with a friendly receptionist who directed us to our rooms which turned out to be clean, spacious reasonably well appointed. We opted to eat in the bar the bar staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was served by the same friendly staff. Food was OK, but it was the service that made the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted that you had a good experience and it is very encouraging to the team to receive this feedback.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just checked in, one if those 'paid for an executive rooms but I know that despite what they tell me, it's not one!' moments.

I know what I am saying, I stay in hotels 4 nights a week and sell hotels like this for a career!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks you for placing your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry the experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. During your visit, my team do not appear to have been made aware of the issues - they would have possibly had the opportunity to change bedroom for you. Should you wish to discuss the experience any further, please do not hesitate to give me a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed one night after a flight in at 2 am.
Staff were all excellent however hacing picked this hotel due to the modern and contemporary decor of the room I am astounded when we went to our room.
Carpets on the 3rd floor hallway are very tatty and dirty looking. Doors are old wood 70's style and with an actual old style metal KEY entry- never a good sign. The room layout was bizarre- a separate toilet which you had to come out of and then enter the bathroom to get to a sink to wash your hands- how unhygienic is it to go through 2 doors to get to wash your hands?
Room has cracks in the ceiling. Walls were papered in the old thick style used to cover rough walls in old flats etc. Overall the room was very dated and the toilet set up defied belief.
The bathroom (with no toilet in it) was clearly modern and a recent addition but it just seemed totally out of place in such a dated room and a cheap attempt at making the room acceptable.
I have looked again at the photos on the webpage because I thought I had booked the wrong hotel after seeing the room. The ones in the photos look modern with Japanese style doors to the bathroom which I can see has the same tiling/ update ours had.
I can't understand why they did not knock a wall down between the WC and bathroom to make it one normal bathroom!
The plus points- all hotel staff we met were very friendly and helpful, from reception to the breakfast waiting staff. One member of breakfast staff was particularly helpful an not fazed by the mess my baby made. Te breakfast was also excellent plenty of choice, great food and all hot.
It is disappointing because despite these 2 aspects being great, overall I would not use this hotel again simply because of the room as this is what I pay my money for. I have not stayed in a hotel chain with a room this dated in my whole life. It is of the quality a very dated £25 a night B and B would offer. It may be that they are refurbishing rooms- I don't know??? But if you take a ride to the 3rd floor and just even look along the corridor at the room DOORS you will know what I mean. A shame because if the room has been good the stay would have been great when combined with the staff, breakfast area and food itself.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was awful. Can't speak for the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night and got a fantastic room. King size bed, double frosted glass doors to a fab bathroom with bath and separate shower and dressing table with mirror over. Could watch TV from the bath if you wanted. Completely separate loo which is a great idea. Fantastic Buffett breakfast with the best hash browns!
The only niggle we had was the bed linen was like sleeping in a paper bag. Hard as nails and crinkly a bit like a crisp packet. The pillows were naff too. It wasn't just my thoughts, my sister and brother-in-law in another room thought the same.
Staff brilliant especially on reception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks you for the review on the site following your recent stay. I am very pleased you liked the facilities and the team on duty. I note the comments relating to the linen. Just a point for your next visit - there are options tochange to firmer or softer pillows - we store the alternatives in the bedroom. Thanks again and hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
2.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
826 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Property: Novotel Newcastle Airport
Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing