We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“careful - mind the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Usual HIE standard accomodation - which is very good for a solo traveller. Standard sized double bed may not suit all though. Rooms could do with a good dust but otherwise fine. The problem is the location, its not in the metro centre proper and the only way to get to it is by taxi or car. But once there its good value and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

The Hotel is located 0.5miles from the Metrocentre shopping mall. This can be reached on foot via the riverside route in approx 5-10 minutes. Alternatively there is a bus stop on the main road outside of the hotel - all buses go to the centre and the journey takes approx 3 minutes. From the Metrocentre bus/train stations there are connections to the City Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

693 - 699 of 747 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

Because we had booked for a stag weekend the hotel decided they could demand a £50 deposit per room from us before letting us check in. The receptionist tried to explain why but didn't really succeed as she hardly spoke any English. We were all put into smoking rooms even though none of us smoke (or were even asked), and the rooms all absolutely stank. Our room was supposed to be a twin but actually had one double bed (which was OK) with a temporary bed underneath, which was very uncomfortable.

Breakfast was a disappointment. The cooked option consisted of scrambled egg, sausages and toast. That was it. They even ran out of plates and nobody brought any more. There was fruit juice but it was the worst I've ever tasted.

The location isn't exactly at the Metro Centre; it's about three quarters of a mile walk, although there is a regular bus service. Top tip - if you walk follow the footpath along the railway line from the hotel as it avoids walking across the dual-carriageways. The centre of Newcastle is about 5 miles away and we were quoted anywhere between £10 and £20 for a taxi each way.

On returning to the hotel at night we had to tell the bouncer (yes, really!) our room numbers before he would allow us back in.

This awful stay was topped off by the fire alarm going off and the hotel having to be evacuated at 4am. This turned out to be a false alarm so, unfortunately, this dreadful hotel wasn't destroyed.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Guests are charged a refundable deposit of £50 to cover any damages/ room charges/ telephone calls etc. This is applicable to all guests and is detailed on the registration card which is signed upon check in. Whilst English is not the first language of all team members, all staff at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre speak English fluently.
Rooms types are allocated according to what has been booked. Agent bookings are frequently booked simply as a 'Standard' room and the actual room type (twin/double/smoking or non smoking) is allocated upon arrival at the hotel - according to availability. Smoking rooms are cleaned thoroughly and are fully aired between guests.
The double rooms are furnished with 1 x double bed and 1 x double sofa bed which are most suited to families travelling with children. They are however equally suitable for 2 or 3 adults sharing.
Hot Breakfast items are Sausage, Scrambled egg and toast. These are in addition to the croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, cereals,fruit, tea, coffe and juices and are all offered complimentary.
The hotel has an affiliation with a local taxi company and a typical journey from the hotel to the city centre would cost in the region of £12
The hotel employs night security staff to ensure the safety and comfort of all guests at weekends.
On this particular occasion the fire alarm had been set off and the cause of which was unknown. In accordance with our Health and Safety Practices the staff therefore carried out a full evacuation. Fortunately it was a false alarm and guest safety had not been compromised. The hotel apologised to all guests that were affected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Usual good standard of express. Staff extremely friendly. Location good 5 minutes drive from metro centre or a 15 minute walk including dicing with death across the dual carriage way!
Only drwaback is food nearby - horrible meal in TGI Fridays so best to eat in Metro centre where there's a huge choice. Stayed here lots of times and never disappoints. Took business package this time includiing wi fi , very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Stayed here overnight when we attended a concert in Newcastle. Amazing location right next to the Metro Shopping Centre and also close to the Newcastle NEC Arena.

Check in was quick and easy, staff friendly and rooms clean. Bar in hotel good. Staff cannot do anought to help you, ordered us a taxi to the Arena when we were running late. taxi appeared promtly.

Beds comfortable, bathrooms clean.

Fab staff, Fab hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ice-lemon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed one night whilst visiting family. Great value at only £55.00 including breakfast for 4 people which was very good. Room was cleaned to an excellent standard - all bathroom fittings had been polished and everything gleamed. Would highly recommend and will certainly be back again. TGI nFridays is just over the road and great choice for families.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

we arrived for a 2 night break on new years day,2 adults 2 11 year olds.On arriving reception staff(young man) was lovely and friendly.Feeling a bit worse for wear after 'the night before' we couldnt find our room! another member of staff (older man) was very helpful and took us there.Room was lovely and clean,spacious enough for us all for a couple of nights.sofa bed was lovely and comfy as was double bed.flat screen tv had plenty of channels.bathroom very clean and modern with lovely large shower.
as we arrived late we went out for food,frankie and bennys,tgi,skiff bar and restaurant all about 5 mins walk away.
breakfast was good,served till 10.30 at weekends.we came down about 10 and there was plenty left,cereal,toast,pastries,croissants,yoghurt,the only complaint was fresh orange/apple was not too good but had other hot drinks to choose from.
we needed more tea bags for our room so asked at reception,older man gave me plenty and asked if i needed anthing else.

things to do- with 2 11 year olds we went to see the castle,was ok,would have been better if there was a guide as my children wont read !!!
next went to LIFE an interactive center. children enjoyed this (as did my partner!) a great place to spend a cold afternoon. was ok i wouls say for ages 5-12.
went to SEVEN STORIES in byker about 20 mins drive away.this is a book shop with different floors with different things to do /exhibitions.mine were too old and were a bit bored but would be great for kids upto about 9.my 6 year old neice would have loved it. the best thing was watching the children try to use an old phone (the ones which you dial) you wouldnt believe it ,they didnt have a clue!
the metro centre is very close for shopping,there is an odeon in there so we went to see a film in the evening.
the next day we took a drive to WHITLEY BAY there was a light house there so we took a walk out to it but it was closed.after a nice walk we took a drive along the road to the abbey.close to here there is a road with lots of restaurants.we chose the fish and chip cafe it was lovely.
all in all would say we had a great little break,would use the holiday inn here again ,it was a great base. the hotel bar seemed quite lively and popular in the evening so i would say it would be good for those without children aswell. staff were very helpful,hardworking and polite.room was clean,quiet,comfortable. good location.breakfast was plentiful,fresh and tasty. internet was available in reception for £1 for 10 or 20 mins.would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very basic,the room was dark, one of the lights didn't work, there was an awfull smell from the bathroom/shower, we had the same towels & bed sheets for the 3 days/ 2 nights. I asked a staff member what time breakfast started/finished. I was advised breakfast was from 6am to 10am... My partner and I went down to have breakfast at 9.35am and were told by a very RUDE member of staff (who didn't seem to care they had given us the wrong information the previous day) that breakfast was "finished there's nothing we can do your too late" and walked away whilst I was talking to her ...no apology!!!!!! The girl behind the desk was rude and very unhelpfull. However there was an older gentleman and a young gentleman who were very helpfull and polite! the only thing good about the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peach04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

I would like to assure you that this experience is not indicative of the usual high standards of Customer Service which are upheld at HIEX Newcastle Metrocentre. Your comments have been highlighted and will be addressed in staff training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,277 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,308 reviews
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,403 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $69 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing