We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate room, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed one night whilst visiting family. Great value at only £55.00 including breakfast for 4 people which was very good. Room was cleaned to an excellent standard - all bathroom fittings had been polished and everything gleamed. Would highly recommend and will certainly be back again. TGI nFridays is just over the road and great choice for families.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 767 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2010

we arrived for a 2 night break on new years day,2 adults 2 11 year olds.On arriving reception staff(young man) was lovely and friendly.Feeling a bit worse for wear after 'the night before' we couldnt find our room! another member of staff (older man) was very helpful and took us there.Room was lovely and clean,spacious enough for us all for a couple of nights.sofa bed was lovely and comfy as was double bed.flat screen tv had plenty of channels.bathroom very clean and modern with lovely large shower.
as we arrived late we went out for food,frankie and bennys,tgi,skiff bar and restaurant all about 5 mins walk away.
breakfast was good,served till 10.30 at weekends.we came down about 10 and there was plenty left,cereal,toast,pastries,croissants,yoghurt,the only complaint was fresh orange/apple was not too good but had other hot drinks to choose from.
we needed more tea bags for our room so asked at reception,older man gave me plenty and asked if i needed anthing else.

things to do- with 2 11 year olds we went to see the castle,was ok,would have been better if there was a guide as my children wont read !!!
next went to LIFE an interactive center. children enjoyed this (as did my partner!) a great place to spend a cold afternoon. was ok i wouls say for ages 5-12.
went to SEVEN STORIES in byker about 20 mins drive away.this is a book shop with different floors with different things to do /exhibitions.mine were too old and were a bit bored but would be great for kids upto about 9.my 6 year old neice would have loved it. the best thing was watching the children try to use an old phone (the ones which you dial) you wouldnt believe it ,they didnt have a clue!
the metro centre is very close for shopping,there is an odeon in there so we went to see a film in the evening.
the next day we took a drive to WHITLEY BAY there was a light house there so we took a walk out to it but it was closed.after a nice walk we took a drive along the road to the abbey.close to here there is a road with lots of restaurants.we chose the fish and chip cafe it was lovely.
all in all would say we had a great little break,would use the holiday inn here again ,it was a great base. the hotel bar seemed quite lively and popular in the evening so i would say it would be good for those without children aswell. staff were very helpful,hardworking and polite.room was clean,quiet,comfortable. good location.breakfast was plentiful,fresh and tasty. internet was available in reception for £1 for 10 or 20 mins.would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very basic,the room was dark, one of the lights didn't work, there was an awfull smell from the bathroom/shower, we had the same towels & bed sheets for the 3 days/ 2 nights. I asked a staff member what time breakfast started/finished. I was advised breakfast was from 6am to 10am... My partner and I went down to have breakfast at 9.35am and were told by a very RUDE member of staff (who didn't seem to care they had given us the wrong information the previous day) that breakfast was "finished there's nothing we can do your too late" and walked away whilst I was talking to her ...no apology!!!!!! The girl behind the desk was rude and very unhelpfull. However there was an older gentleman and a young gentleman who were very helpfull and polite! the only thing good about the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peach04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

I would like to assure you that this experience is not indicative of the usual high standards of Customer Service which are upheld at HIEX Newcastle Metrocentre. Your comments have been highlighted and will be addressed in staff training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

This was booked for me for a work trip
Hotel is clean and modern good shower
Breakfast is poor, only hot thing is toast and coffee
Internet was a RIP OFF @ £15 total joke
Not impressed

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank Rugbyplayer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Since the hotel was rebranded in April 2010-we are pleased to offer complimentary Hot Breakfast which includes Sausages and Scrambled Egg in addition to the toast, croissants, pain au chocolat, yoghurts, cereal, fruit, jams, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices.
For business travellers we can offer a package prices which includes WIFI access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We paid £36 on a special deal & that is a bargain. We asked for a quiet room & were give one in the tower blaock. Never heard a sound.

The room was spacious,well lit, spotless & very modern. We had a sofabed which was most comfortable for use as a sofa. Not very often 2 adults can sit in comfort in a lodge style room, usually one person has to sit on the bed.

The bathroom is very well designed with a large walk in shower & most unusually, it has a single blue spotlight for a nightlight. What a great idea!

The breakfast buffet was plentiful & exactly as you would expect in an Express.

Plenty of free parking and a good choice of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excraftybakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Booked at short notice it was typical Holiday Inn Express. As always it was clean, and the staff were helpful, if not overly outgoing.
We had the foldown settee bed for our 15 year old, and it was fine.
It's well located, with a couple of chain restaurants nearby and a great pub, The Skiff, just over the back. If you like shopping and malls then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Universal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Friendly, clean, comfortable standard double room, big car park, very good buffet breakfast if like us you don't demand a big fry-up. Excellent value at LateRooms rate.
No need to eat at the fast-food joints across the car park: turn right as you walk out of the entrance, and find good pub food at the Skiff Inn across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter_Wall-Lyneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
5.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.8 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $48 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing