We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$101
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$88
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$109
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$98
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$69
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$60
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$36
$31
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (803)
    Filter reviews
    803 results
    Traveler rating
    310
    308
    118
    38
    29
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    310
    308
    118
    38
    29
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstgi fridaysfrankie and benniesbeanshi expresssofa bedthe breakfast areashopping triphot itemsfree breakfastminute drivebus stopcar parkbudget hotelself serviceyogurtreception staffcomfortable room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    527 - 532 of 803 reviews
    Reviewed February 26, 2014

    Stayed here recently with 8 friends for a weekend and the hotel is nice, exterior and interior very clean and fairly modern. Rooms are good size, bathrooms are shower only but again decent size and clean. Has a bar and restaurant, we didnt use the restaurant in the evenings as there is a TGI about 5 0meters away. We had breakfast which was awful. They offer free breakfast but you only have the choice of sausage and scrambled egg. The sausages are cheap and nasty and it can get really busy. would rather pay extra and have half decent choice.
    My main issue with this hotel is that it is so far from the town night spots, each journey is about 20-25 minutes which when back and forth at least twice a day becomes ridiculously expensive. The hotel offer business cards with Noda taxis on, use them definitely, they are reliable and cheap. I got a taxi back one night and it was over £20, the next night i used Noda and it was about £11. All in all nice hotel just not great location if here for a night out!

    Room Tip: We were all in twin rooms, two of the rooms were 2 x queens so decent, the other two rooms were 2 x single which was annoying as the singles are tiny.
    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bish777
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

    Dear bish777,

    Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the cleanliness of our hotel. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

    Sincerely,

    Anthony M
    Case Manager
    IHGCare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 22, 2014

    Just had a two night stay there and overall good value.
    Room - good sized with a folded up sofa bed which doubled up as the sofa, so any hotel room where you don't have to lie on the bed to watch TV is a bonus for us.
    The TV was a reasonable flat screen on the desk unit, not one of those low budget wall mounted ones which you can't see anyway. The obligatory tea/coffee station in an open plan wardrobe affair. Bathroom/shower really well thought out clean and functional.
    Seperate electric wall heater under the window. The window/room was rearward facing 5th floor looking out over the river and railway so actually very quiet being high up. In fact the only gripe would be that the mattress was too soft..
    Breakfast - okay except that the cooked items held in warmer were not really pipping hot, once sat down you had to eat it quick. But in all reality it is advertised as a free breakfast so you get toast, all drinks, cereal, rolls and all the other breakfast items.
    General points - massive free parking (That's got to be worth a fiver), free wifi, walking distance from the metro centre, and a fiver return (on the bus)into Newcastle
    So all that for under £50 a night (booked through an intermediate site) can't grumble, we'd go back again

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank peterhereford1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

    Hi,
    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

    I'm sorry to hear the mattress was not to your liking, we are undertaking a review of the bedrooms and your comments have been noted.

    Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 5, 2014

    We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years.Clean rooms. Friendly helpful staff. A good breakfast with three hot items and continental.Great location near the metrocentre.A ten to fifteen minute walk along path at the back of hotel to metrocentre. Although we don't walk this at night or dark as not very well lit.Room tips if you have children request a room in the tyne wing part of the hotel as these rooms are quieter.

    Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    Thank Sarah10035
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

    Hi,
    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is always a pleasure to welcome a returning guest of the hotel.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 20, 2014

    Brilliant location for metro centre. Tgi directly opposite was a great location for an evening meal. Hotel room was a bit shabby. We had 2 single beds which were on wheels and moved every time you sat down. Bathroom was clean and shower adequate but small. Asked for extra pillows and they were delivered straight away. Staff polite. Breakfast was ok - standard for this type of hotel. Train track was right behind but didn't stop us sleeping.

    • Stayed: January 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ljjema
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

    Dear Ljjema,

    Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent visit. It is pleasing to know that our location was ideal for your needs. However, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the condition of the beds. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

    Sincerely,

    Pam G
    Case Manager
    IHGCare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 19, 2014

    We chose to stay at this Holiday Inn Express after visiting friends in Northumberland and the location is perfect. We stayed in room 321 and were not disturbed at all by traffic noise from the roads nearby. The quality of the room was excellent, apart from the very soft mattress, which seemed to make turning over during the night very uncomfortable. As with all HI Express hotels, the shower was very powerful and bedroom facilities were very good and they do provide an ideal opportunity for a good night's break.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank WalkwiththeDog
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

    Hi,
    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

    I am sorry to hear that the mattress was not to your liking, we are undertaking a review of the hotel bedrooms and your comments have been taken on board.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews