We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, not great location if out for the night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, not great location if out for the night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here recently with 8 friends for a weekend and the hotel is nice, exterior and interior very clean and fairly modern. Rooms are good size, bathrooms are shower only but again decent size and clean. Has a bar and restaurant, we didnt use the restaurant in the evenings as there is a TGI about 5 0meters away. We had breakfast which was awful. They offer free breakfast but you only have the choice of sausage and scrambled egg. The sausages are cheap and nasty and it can get really busy. would rather pay extra and have half decent choice.
My main issue with this hotel is that it is so far from the town night spots, each journey is about 20-25 minutes which when back and forth at least twice a day becomes ridiculously expensive. The hotel offer business cards with Noda taxis on, use them definitely, they are reliable and cheap. I got a taxi back one night and it was over £20, the next night i used Noda and it was about £11. All in all nice hotel just not great location if here for a night out!

Room Tip: We were all in twin rooms, two of the rooms were 2 x queens so decent, the other two rooms were 2 x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear bish777,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the cleanliness of our hotel. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    266
    108
    33
    29
See reviews for
142
245
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just had a two night stay there and overall good value.
Room - good sized with a folded up sofa bed which doubled up as the sofa, so any hotel room where you don't have to lie on the bed to watch TV is a bonus for us.
The TV was a reasonable flat screen on the desk unit, not one of those low budget wall mounted ones which you can't see anyway. The obligatory tea/coffee station in an open plan wardrobe affair. Bathroom/shower really well thought out clean and functional.
Seperate electric wall heater under the window. The window/room was rearward facing 5th floor looking out over the river and railway so actually very quiet being high up. In fact the only gripe would be that the mattress was too soft..
Breakfast - okay except that the cooked items held in warmer were not really pipping hot, once sat down you had to eat it quick. But in all reality it is advertised as a free breakfast so you get toast, all drinks, cereal, rolls and all the other breakfast items.
General points - massive free parking (That's got to be worth a fiver), free wifi, walking distance from the metro centre, and a fiver return (on the bus)into Newcastle
So all that for under £50 a night (booked through an intermediate site) can't grumble, we'd go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhereford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry to hear the mattress was not to your liking, we are undertaking a review of the bedrooms and your comments have been noted.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the years.Clean rooms. Friendly helpful staff. A good breakfast with three hot items and continental.Great location near the metrocentre.A ten to fifteen minute walk along path at the back of hotel to metrocentre. Although we don't walk this at night or dark as not very well lit.Room tips if you have children request a room in the tyne wing part of the hotel as these rooms are quieter.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah10035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is always a pleasure to welcome a returning guest of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Brilliant location for metro centre. Tgi directly opposite was a great location for an evening meal. Hotel room was a bit shabby. We had 2 single beds which were on wheels and moved every time you sat down. Bathroom was clean and shower adequate but small. Asked for extra pillows and they were delivered straight away. Staff polite. Breakfast was ok - standard for this type of hotel. Train track was right behind but didn't stop us sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljjema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ljjema,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent visit. It is pleasing to know that our location was ideal for your needs. However, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the condition of the beds. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your comments will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
308 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We chose to stay at this Holiday Inn Express after visiting friends in Northumberland and the location is perfect. We stayed in room 321 and were not disturbed at all by traffic noise from the roads nearby. The quality of the room was excellent, apart from the very soft mattress, which seemed to make turning over during the night very uncomfortable. As with all HI Express hotels, the shower was very powerful and bedroom facilities were very good and they do provide an ideal opportunity for a good night's break.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to hear that the mattress was not to your liking, we are undertaking a review of the hotel bedrooms and your comments have been taken on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are visiting Newcastle this is the place to stay, free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, the staff are very friendly and helpful, plus great value for money. There are plenty of place to eat in walking distance, so once you have checked in there is no need to drive off trying to find somewhere to eat. The Metro Centre is really near by and it's huge, again loads of places to eat in there too. This is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 231 is good, it's just around the corner from the main road, so a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPT572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Guest satisfaction is at the heart of everything we do and we value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

clean room , nise and comfy, , good breakfast , close to the metro centre & very close to TGI,s (we went & had a good meal ), there is a pub close by also ,but we never went, all in all a ideal place if going to the metro shopping & having a stop over

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dafi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing