We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticked all the Boxes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
248 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Ticked all the Boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the HIE for one night before shopping at the Metro Centre. The welcome was friendly, staff pleasant and room nice and warm. We had a good night's sleep, with no noise in our out of the hotel. Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. There's a nice little pub called the Skiff next door which is owned by an Italian family, worth a look in. There's also a TGI Fridays and Frankie and Benny's close by. Handy for the Metro Centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    266
    108
    33
    29
See reviews for
142
245
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Well I went to the holiday inn for the second time this year June/dec there where four of us and to be fair to all the staff they could not do enough for us the last morning we where a bit late getting up for breakfast so ten mins to go you would think there was not a lot left but yes there was the only I thing not out was chocolate croissant so I asked a young lady(Sharon)if there was any more .answer I will just pop some in the oven will take about ten mins .well you do not get that in posh hotel's but this one went well out of there way .the hotel was better than some of the one's I have stayed in that are five star

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for posting your review of your recent stay with us. Customer Service is always our top priority, and I'm glad to hear that Sharon went the extra mile with your breakfast requests.

Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

No problems at this hotel, stayed Friday and Saturday no problem with noise from other guests. Our room was facing the rail track and there was some noise from trains but nothing major. Generic HIX room, comfortable and warm. 10 minute walk to metro centre I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jimmyb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here on business trip. Found the location superb right on doorstep of restaurants and bars, plenty of shopping in area.
Good standard of rooms very clean and well equipped for the great value price.
Breakfast is very basic but adequate and enough for the price paid.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for your great comments on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel location was very good, close to Metro Centre Newcastle. The hotel was great value and convenient for business trip. Breakfast buffet was okay. Room was small, fairly basic amenity.
My room on ground floor , I had noise all night time and early morning for car.

Room Tip: Don't select room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chokdeebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be great value and a good location for your trip.
With regards to noise from cars - the hotel is located 1 mile from the A1 motorway and access for the Metrocentre is behind the hotel. This does not usually cause disturbance to most guests - however we would have been happy to offer an alternative room at the other side of the property had we been aware of your discomfort.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We choose this hotel as it was a good price and good location. It was also our anniversary so had just booked it for couple days away and catch up with friends. Free parking and good breakfast. What more can you ask for?? Well my husband had arrange with Amanda I believe for our bedroom to be done up for the 2nd night on our anniversary as a surprise for me. And it was perfect. There was rose petals everywhere in the room. and a big bunch of flowers along with box of chocolates. They did a fab job of it. Was very impressed. Thanks holiday inn for a memorable day!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fruity007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments concerning your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre - and Happy Anniversary from all the Team.
Our staff try to go the extra mile and this is a perfect example of how much we care about our customers.

Thanks again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford ENGLAND
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

a poor springy bed, no fan in bathroom, small heater in corner, wifi is ridiculously slow, which made surfing the web impossible. the place is worn and tired, net curtains dirty white, i stay at holiday inn's regularly,im a priority club member but this is the worst. the best part in the free parking!
I was in room 300 situated opposite the lift and stair door, i had noise all evening and then again at 6:00 am. when i complained at checkout the girl didnt care. she didnt even ask how my stay was, i mentioned it and she didnt know how to deal with a complaint other than saying 'sorry' and wishing me a good day!
I appreciate its not a hilton but its a glorified travelodge charging regular holiday inn prices. wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thame_hoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. Housekeeping is a top priority, and the rooms are audited daily by both the Head Housekeeper and the Hotel Management Team. The staff are always keen to resolve any guest queries during the stay, and would have been happy to offer an alternative room - had we been made aware of your discomfort. I'm sorry that you felt that our standard of customer care was not satisfactory on this occasion.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing