We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Nearby Hotels
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$101
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$88
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$69
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$109
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$98
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
$36
$31
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (803)
    Filter reviews
    803 results
    Traveler rating
    310
    308
    118
    38
    29
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    310
    308
    118
    38
    29
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstgi fridaysfrankie and benniesbeanshi expresssofa bedthe breakfast areashopping triphot itemsfree breakfastminute drivebus stopcar parkbudget hotelself serviceyogurtreception staffcomfortable room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    651 - 656 of 803 reviews
    Reviewed October 1, 2012

    We got a great deal of £45 per room per night inclusive of breakfast. Hotels in city centre were closer to £100 room only so opted for Gateshead. Taxi in to centre was about £12-13 each way but there were 4 of us so not a huge expense.
    Hotel was clean, friendly and great location for Metrocentre which we drove over to in the morning. I daresay you can walk but you are next to main busy road so driving seemed the safer option. Never had breakfast so cannot comment but husband said it was adequate. We ate dinner at the Skiff Inn next door to the hotel which I can highly recommend. We travelled down from the North and the hotel was a breeze to find. Would definately return on our next trip down to the toon.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Angela F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

    Thank you for your kind comments they are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you come down to visit from the North.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 25, 2012

    I must admit after booking and pre-paying this hotel months ago, I was tempted to find another hotel and lose the money after reading some of the reviews here ... But sense prevailed! And I am so glad it did. For a 'fast' turnover chain hotel I found this one particularly welcoming and friendly. I liked the way the reception and the small bar merge into one; some football fans (assume for the Newcastle match the next say) were leaning on it chatting and watching TV - sort of felt like we were all in someone's lounge! After a long drive I chose to walk to Asda (about 10 minutes) but crossing the roads was a hair-raising experience. However, also walked over to the Metro Centre for dinner at Wagamamas and it was quieter in the evening. The reception staff were efficient; the room was spotlessly clean and the bed so comfortable - I had the best nights sleep for a long time! The inclusive breakfast was fine - maybe my only criticism would be the 'clean' plates brought out were soaking wet and not altogether clean. I notice some criticism of the food, but other than a few signs about snack packs available, I was not aware food was available so cant comment on that. Anyway, I felt very at home here for some reason and would have no hesitation on staying here again.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tropicalb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and thank you for taking a more considered view of some of the comments posted previously with regard to the hotel. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind comments on to our hard working staff.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 24, 2012

    The hotel is situated off the city close to motorway A1, to take the cab from the city cost around 14 pounds. The hotel is about 15 mins walking to big shopping centre in Metro Centre. From there you can take a bus or metro. My friend and I took the bus and it cost about 5 pounds for both of us. We spent only one night at the hotel. The hotel is contemporary and the staff are very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was included in the price. You find the restaurants such as Frankie and Benny's and Friday's within spitting distance from the hotel.

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ivetulka
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

    Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope that you return to stay with us again in the near future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 14, 2012

    Stayed at this Holiday Inn with two of my mates for 1 night just to put our heads down somewhere after a night out in Newcastle.
    If you are looking for a hotel for enjoying the night life in Newcastle then this hotel is perhaps a little bit out of the way approx £12 each way in a cab into town.
    The hotel is however just of the major motorways and literally roubd the corner from the Metro centre.
    The hotel its self is fairly modern the staff are very friendly , the rooms are clean and fairly well sized. Do remember there a lot of party goers in Newcastle so there will be noise coming from other rooms I guess it all depends on luck to who your neigbours are.
    The hotel has a free car park which has plenty of space and there seems to be taxis outside pretty much all the time.
    We dint make it for breakfast so I cant comment.
    All in all this is a decent HIE/

    • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank kunal p
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to post your views regarding the hotel.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 13, 2012

    The hotelis not far off the A1 and for me was a good location. The rooms are as you would expect and there is nothing sparkling, just good service, clean bedrooms, the marks on the wall. The centre tower is favoured by business travellers, and try for a room overlooking the river, rather than the car park and TGI Fridays. KFC and Fankie and Bennies are across the road. The massive Metro centre is according to staff a ten minute walk away - try 30, but once there you can choice 30 places to eat. Asda 24 hour is near it too.

    On the whole - just what you expect of a no frills chain of Holiday Inns, with a the hot breakfast (sausage/ scrambled egg and beans) and the usual cereal toast tea coffee etc. -

    For the price - Fine

    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Diskdr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review your comments are appreciated.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews