We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find from A1 North and close to Metrocentre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy to find from A1 North and close to Metrocentre”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We got a great deal of £45 per room per night inclusive of breakfast. Hotels in city centre were closer to £100 room only so opted for Gateshead. Taxi in to centre was about £12-13 each way but there were 4 of us so not a huge expense.
Hotel was clean, friendly and great location for Metrocentre which we drove over to in the morning. I daresay you can walk but you are next to main busy road so driving seemed the safer option. Never had breakfast so cannot comment but husband said it was adequate. We ate dinner at the Skiff Inn next door to the hotel which I can highly recommend. We travelled down from the North and the hotel was a breeze to find. Would definately return on our next trip down to the toon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments they are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you come down to visit from the North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    280
    111
    34
    29
See reviews for
155
267
27
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I must admit after booking and pre-paying this hotel months ago, I was tempted to find another hotel and lose the money after reading some of the reviews here ... But sense prevailed! And I am so glad it did. For a 'fast' turnover chain hotel I found this one particularly welcoming and friendly. I liked the way the reception and the small bar merge into one; some football fans (assume for the Newcastle match the next say) were leaning on it chatting and watching TV - sort of felt like we were all in someone's lounge! After a long drive I chose to walk to Asda (about 10 minutes) but crossing the roads was a hair-raising experience. However, also walked over to the Metro Centre for dinner at Wagamamas and it was quieter in the evening. The reception staff were efficient; the room was spotlessly clean and the bed so comfortable - I had the best nights sleep for a long time! The inclusive breakfast was fine - maybe my only criticism would be the 'clean' plates brought out were soaking wet and not altogether clean. I notice some criticism of the food, but other than a few signs about snack packs available, I was not aware food was available so cant comment on that. Anyway, I felt very at home here for some reason and would have no hesitation on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and thank you for taking a more considered view of some of the comments posted previously with regard to the hotel. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind comments on to our hard working staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is situated off the city close to motorway A1, to take the cab from the city cost around 14 pounds. The hotel is about 15 mins walking to big shopping centre in Metro Centre. From there you can take a bus or metro. My friend and I took the bus and it cost about 5 pounds for both of us. We spent only one night at the hotel. The hotel is contemporary and the staff are very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was included in the price. You find the restaurants such as Frankie and Benny's and Friday's within spitting distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivetulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope that you return to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn with two of my mates for 1 night just to put our heads down somewhere after a night out in Newcastle.
If you are looking for a hotel for enjoying the night life in Newcastle then this hotel is perhaps a little bit out of the way approx £12 each way in a cab into town.
The hotel is however just of the major motorways and literally roubd the corner from the Metro centre.
The hotel its self is fairly modern the staff are very friendly , the rooms are clean and fairly well sized. Do remember there a lot of party goers in Newcastle so there will be noise coming from other rooms I guess it all depends on luck to who your neigbours are.
The hotel has a free car park which has plenty of space and there seems to be taxis outside pretty much all the time.
We dint make it for breakfast so I cant comment.
All in all this is a decent HIE/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your views regarding the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotelis not far off the A1 and for me was a good location. The rooms are as you would expect and there is nothing sparkling, just good service, clean bedrooms, the marks on the wall. The centre tower is favoured by business travellers, and try for a room overlooking the river, rather than the car park and TGI Fridays. KFC and Fankie and Bennies are across the road. The massive Metro centre is according to staff a ten minute walk away - try 30, but once there you can choice 30 places to eat. Asda 24 hour is near it too.

On the whole - just what you expect of a no frills chain of Holiday Inns, with a the hot breakfast (sausage/ scrambled egg and beans) and the usual cereal toast tea coffee etc. -

For the price - Fine

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diskdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked this hotel through Superbreak website, it was a 'secret' hotel but easy to work out which one it was. We paid £45 for a double room on a Saturday night inc breakfast.

Location is right next to A1 and metro centre so no faffing about with parking like you get in the city centre. It's a short walk to the train station and then 5 minutes to Newcastle Central from there. Taxi was £10 back from the toon.

We were able to check in an hour early and our room was large and clean.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was spot on, with a selection of cooked items, cereals, juices, yogurts, pastries, coffee etc

One small gripe was that the key cards were a bit faulty but other than that a perfect experience for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHunter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, Please accept our apologies that your key card was faulty, occasionally this is the case if there is a card that does not link properly to our reservation system. Please also accept our thanks for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is the second time stayed in the Holiday Inn Express near the Metro Centre at newcastle because it's clean and near the all the shops the saff are friendly and help you in any way they, the bar is small but it's well stocked with a good selection of drinks, there is plenty of parking on arrvial, the rooms are basic but they are very comfortable and very clean with plenty of towels there is plenty of tea and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments it is really nice to hear that you are returning guests and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,174 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,828 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing