We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Booked disabled room, but given 1st floor until produced booking e mail.
Staff grumpy, bar dear.
Paint on bed footer.
Breakfast odd. Quality ok but an English becomes sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Nowhere to rest tray whilst serving self. It's easier to just take plate.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre. I apologise for any confusion regarding the allocation of a Disabled Room. Occasionally with Travel Agent bookings - specific room types are not allocated. I am happy to hear however, that our Reception Team were swift in finding a solution to your room type requirements.
I am sorry that you you were not satisfied with the breakfast offering. We do have a vast selection of breakfast items available, including cereals and toasts, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, preserves, selection of teas and coffees. In addition we offer sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans. This is not described, not is it intended to be a full English breakfast.

Thanks for your feedback. All reviews and suggestions are taken on board, and where applicable are esclated to higher management for their review.

Kind regards,
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    266
    108
    33
    29
See reviews for
142
245
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Nice hotel in handy location for the Metro which is 2 minutes away by car. Clean room with good facilities.
Breakfast was a bit busy with lack of seats and also had to wait for 10 minutes two mornings out of 3 for more hot items to be put out.
Staff were efficient but made no effort to be friendly, only words uttered at checkout was 'it was 3 nights you stayed?'.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review concerning your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express. I am sorry to note that you were not completely satisfied with certain aspects of the trip.
The Great Room where guests take Breakfast can accommodate 80 people in one sitting. Breakfast is self service between 6.30 and 9.30am (10.30 at weekends). During busy periods, meeting rooms are opened up to offer additional seating areas.

I am surprised to hear that you did not receive a friendly service during your stay. Our Reception staff are passionate about customer service. I am very sorry that on this occasion the level of service did not meet with our mutual expectations. The issues you raise will be addressed in our daily staff meetings.

Thanks again for taking the time to describe your experience. I understand that you have many options when making your accommodation choices. I hope that you will continue to use the IHG brand, and we look forward to welcoming you at Holiday Inn Express again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed for 1 night on business, Friendly Staff , Clean Room, Comfortable Bed
Great Value. Only 1 small comment I know breakfast is Free, and its very good value,
but the scrambled eggs are not good this is the same in all HIE, I am not sure if its made from powder, buts its a not good, thats all that HIE need to improve .
Thanks to all staff for good stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre.

The Scrambled egg is NOT a dry product however guest feedback is always considered. IHG are looking at the quality of Breakfast items, and looks for areas to improve.

Thank you for raising this issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here on business and overall found it good. Location is near to the MetroCentre but not that near so I think they are slightly misleading calling it "Metrocentre" I walked from the Metrocentre to the Hotel and to be honest I would say if it was any further you'd be better off getting a bus or taxi. Maybe because I was carrying a suitcase blurred my judgement of that.

Room was comfortable, everything was very low because the rooms are designed for wheelchair usersso I had to kneel down to use the sink. Other than that though everything was fine and very clean. Nice to get a choice of pillow types, not something you often get in this type of hotel.

Breakfast was limited in terms of cooked food but plenty of cold selection which I enjoyed, never had orange juice with a froth on top before! I liked the breakfast area it was nice and casual.

Check in and out was smooth and easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay.
The Holiday Inn Express is located 1/4 mile from the Metrocentre shopping mall. Walking with baggage, it may seem to be a little further.

The hotel has a limited number of Wheelchair accessible rooms available. On occasions where STANDARD rooms (non specific to Double or Twin) have been reserved, room types are allocated on arrival. When capacity is high, then wheelchair accessible rooms are allocated. I am sorry that this may have caused some discomfort.

I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

overall a good stay - from very friendly staff to a clean and spacious room - only issue in the room was the bed which was not as comfortable as it looked but it did not spoil our stay. the breakfast was OK with a selection of continental to hot choice - could not fault it. It's location is spot on for getting to the city center but easy access for the A1 and there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel area.

Room Tip: good location and very friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments above. We are always glad to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Booked 2 interconnecting rooms for the Take That concert a couple months before our stay. Got a call 2 days before departure asking if we would consider moving hotels as they were overbooked.....looked at the hotel offered and decided against it as it looked scruffy. When we arrived we were told there were no interconnecting rooms, however they did find us one within 5 minutes after I mentioned that I had been called regarding the overbooking, meanwhile the reception staff were frantically ringing around other hotels reserving their rooms as still overbooked.
Checked in to our rooms to find we had a double and a double sofa bed in one room & a double in the other room so asked reception if they would like to offer one of our rooms to someone else and refund the cost of one room. They were more than happy with our offer and offered us a bottle of wine as a thankyou. We arrived back from the concert and the sofa bed was made up with extra towels.
Now breakfast the next day was a free for all, there were no tables so guests were eyeballing other guests waiting to pounce on their table when they had finished, the tables were littered with guests dirty plates. The choice of breakast was sausage and scrambled egg or should I say lack of scrambled egg as there wasnt any and guests were waiting. Im a vegetarian so was stood with an empty plate. The plates were dirty underneath, there were no knifes, the bread was still frozen, croissant oven was empty, a coffee machine out of order. I must say though that I did ask if they had any beans and they brought some over but had to give another guest the remainder of my bowl of beans as she wanted some too!!!! Another gentleman was stood with a single sausage on his plate complaining about the lack of available food and the quality. We spoke to a member of staff who simply stated that she "only worked there", we asked to speak to her manager who simply didnt come to speak to us so in the end we gave up.
I suppose it was good value for money but only as 4 of us shared a room!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiecate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express. As you have highlighted, the TAKE THAT weekend was exceptionally busy, and specific room types were overbooked. We thank you for your understanding with the situation. Regarding Breakfast, the Great Room accommodates 80 people at one time. For this particular weekend, with in excess of 200 people in house, conference rooms were opened up as additional breakfasting areas and more staff were on duty to assist. Whilst we cannot dictate what time people can enjoy breakfast, the hotel did have notices up, advising that the hotel was particularly busy and to arrive before 9am to avoid the rush. However, your comments have been duly noted to be discussed at the next team meeting. We are well aware that you have many choices when selecting hotel accommodation, and sincerely hope that you will continue to consider Holiday Inn Express when making your future reservations.

With kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

As a platinum PC member I have stayed in many HI hotels since 2002 and this hotel accurately represents the HI brand for express hotels.

Having stayed here before I knew that this hotel offered easy accsess to the A1, Newcastle City Centre and the Metro centre which is within 15 mins walking distance.

The hotel is next to TGI Fridays, The Skiff Inn, or KFC takeaway, for eating in the evening.


The hotel has a bar and TV which on the night I stayed was showing football.

Breakfast now includes two hot items of sausages and scrambled eggs plus a full comprehesive continental buffet, which is more than adequate for breakfast.

I found the girls on reception helpful and friendly.

Rooms have glass panel in the bathroom but does not cause embaressment.


Parking is aample and free

If your looking for a hotel which includes breakfast and close to the metro centre this hotel will suit you fine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are away from the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicanteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing