We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of days in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Good hotel with lovely staff. Typical Premier Inn rooms - clean and well maintained. Good location for visiting Newcastle. Not in the city centre but a pleasant 10 minutes walk along the quayside.
Good car parking facilities.
Our room overlooked the river - but this is a city centre hotel - not a rural hideaway!
Aware of traffic noise, not overwhelming and it didn't keep us awake. Maybe better double glazing would help?
Went on a special deal so excellent value.
Went to see Angel of the North, worth a look. Went to Washington Old Hall, ancestral home of George Washington - worth an hour, very friendly cafe.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 225 had a "view' over the river, but traffic noise at this side of the hotel. Maybe o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback of your stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met your needs.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 816 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Great price, lovely spacious rooms. Very clean, staff friendly and great nights sleep. Great location near the water and great meal in the restaurant. We got a great deal for dinner and hreakfast in the morning. Would recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank shaz3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was a good location with a bus stop nearby & cheap all day tickets on the bus for going into Newcastle. The car park also has office staff parking there but we had no problems as we were returning after they had left. The staff were very helpful especially as after our 1st night we asked to change rooms (a bit noisy on the reception floor, which is the 1st floor) & bathroom extractor fan was very noisy and the single bed mattress was lumpy and should have been replaced a long time ago. Our next room on the 2nd floor was better, no complaints about the mattresses, ignored the non working bathroom extractor fan (did report it on leaving but we preferred the quiet of a non working fan but really a fan is needed to reduce bathroom condensation)
The room was too warm, opening the window (only opens a small amount) allowed us to hear the nearby church clock chime every hour through the night (we preferred that to the temperature otherwise). Why does Premier Inn not have air conditioning or even ceiling fans in the bed rooms I do not know. A strange thing was the height of the bath, seemed to be on a high base, needs to be a normal height, also a moveable shower head is preferable to the fixed one.
There is a good night guarantee but we did not claim as we considered despite our problems that it was good value but could so easily have been better.

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from the car park is quieter but beware of the church clock chiming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollercolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a good premiere inn. The rooms are clean and standard. The staff were friendly from start to finish. The breakfast is great value. It is quite a walk into the city to the shops and it is up hill. We walked a fair way into the city to shop and then again in the evening to eat. Having the car park on site and free is fantastic. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsgm1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to such a lovely comment regarding your recent stay here at the Premier Inn.

We really do appreciate all feedback and it is always great for the team to receive such a positive response.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Newcastle again in the very near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Always pleased to write of a positive experience.
Clean and tidy...good comfortable bed and bedding. Slept well..which for me is a bonus.
Only minor detail...the rooms are double glazed...but still had noise from the traffic outside. Would get that fixed, please.

Room Tip: Room away from the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApricotSilk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback, which we will use to improve the experience for our guests.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and Premier Inn again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 8 others on a stag do and the experience from pre-filling forms, through check in to breakfast and check out were great.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

The breakfast is fresh and tasty.

The rooms are clean and quiet.

The location is a simple 15m walk to the Tyne Bridge and 25m to St James Park. In a more "industrial" area but easy to find.

Newcastle is great. Love it. Would return here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank GBCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time such a lovely comment regarding your stay here.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and everything met your needs.

You are right, Newcastle is a great city so hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have stayed in room 205 in Premier Inn, the room size was excellent with an on-suite bathroom. Just to note that the shower is a bit loose from the wall, it needs fixing. The food was excellent, good service. The vending machines seems not to work properly, so I have to contact for service. The carpark space was rubbish, it is located underneath the building and we have to park our car OUTSIDE of the building and it was wet and horrible. So, I was struggling to get out.

Nice small hotel, chill more, perfect size for both of us.
PS: My father slept on the small, camp-sized bed, so I have been using the double bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millennium-Bridge-PI, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here at the Premier Inn Newcastle Millenium Bridge.

Thank you for your feedback it is always appreciated to ensure we can keep our standards high.

I was pleased that you had a pleasant stay and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Kind regards
Claire Holder
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
#29 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#32 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#16 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,069 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel

Address: City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $59 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of Newcastle's city centre Premier Inn Millennium Bridge boasts comfortable rooms, an on-site bar and restaurant with friendly staff on duty 24 hours a day.Each room is well equipped with a Kingsize bed, a desk for work, Freeview TV and radio channels as well as tea and coffee facilities. Everything you need for a clean and comfortable stay in Newcastle. Our newly refurbished bar and restaurant offers a wide variety of drinks including Costa coffee, a range of seasonal drinks promotions and our great value evening menu. Why not try our all you can eat Premier Breakfast? Eat as much as you like cooked and continental breakfast for just £8.25 Each. Plus for every adult that buys a Premier Breakfast 2 children 15 and under eat for free! The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk to the city centre and a 5 minute walk to the Quayside. It also sits within easy reach of the A1 and is close to many of the city's public transport hubs. Parking can be purchased at our hotel for just £4 for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Millennium Bridge Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing