We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night away with a group off work friends. First impressions were ok but then we got to our room. The smell in our room (513) was horrid! The smell seemed to come from the bathroom. Smelt like stagnent water. Found a couple of stray hairs in the bed and the quilt was too smalll for the cover it was in. Bath also had a large chip in it. Apart from that if you want a room that is cheap and ok for large stag and hen dos then book it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 127 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here last night.. Room was small and really hot, bed linen had dirty stains on them and the runner on the end of the bed clearly doesn't get changed or washed at all, carpet was filthy, hadn't been hoovered in a while, bathroom floor had dirt and fluff everywhere and the toilet hadn't been cleaned from previous user or ever. Even the tea and coffee facilities... one big cup and one small, with dirt in the cups, and tea/coffee stains on the piece of paper that it was all set out on. Ive stayed in some pretty bad, cheap hotels for nights out but they have always been clean and tidy. This hotel needs updated badly. Paid £99 for the room for one night and will never stay again or recommend that anyone does. Told a member of staff at reception this morning how filthy the room was.. Although he was polite and apologised, he's not really bothered as long as he's getting paid at the end of the day and nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location, but needs some investment and quickly. The rooms are an average size and are clean enough, but everything is so old! Sky TV which is great, but possibly the smallest television set ever. Wifi was ok when you were able to connect, but the whole place is in need of decoration and bringing up to standard. The pub below is fine but the smell from the Kitchen fills the hotel with an unpleasant cooking smell.
Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Plenty of other hotels in the same road. try one
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Noisy, cold and poor customer service.
Stay here if you are on a stag or hen night or the like. Do not stay here if you want a good nights before a busy days work like me.
The room was okay, dated and in need of a couple of modcons like a new television. The shower was so weak it was a waste of time. The towels were like sand paper. The mattress was old and lumpy.
A warm welcome at reception was not even forthcoming. They do not have problems it is all the guests fault never the hotels that sort of attitude,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel and away from the stairwell. Note that there is no...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTHTravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room needed updating but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but the noise from the guests was terrible. Shouting,swearing and banging doors all hours and this was not helped by creaky floorboards in hallway and thin walls.There was a night porter on who was available for complaints but I think he would have been very busy!!!
An ok place for students and young people who do not want to sleep!

Room Tip: Visit during week and not weekends.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynneb229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great value, quiet little hotel on the busy Osborne Road in Jesmond. Has a fantastic bar below with the local tradition of happy hour buttons - has to be seen to be believed, but you could get your whole round of drinks completely free. I always stay here when in Newcastle, where I previously lived for three years - it's perfect for a couple of nights; more homely that a travel lodge and nowhere near as expensive as a city centre hotel, but a short and simple cab ride from the main road will get you wherever you need to be in ten minutes as Newcastle is a bustling but compact city. Tea and coffee facilities and all rooms en suite with a great continental breakfast and within walking distance of the shops of Jesmond, Starbucks, Tesco, Pizza Express and of course, all of the other bars, restaurants and delights of the famous Osborne Road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than those on the main road. Rooms on the first floor at...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWriterGirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the carlton hotel after i returned from travelling and loved it, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was always kept clean and provided with fresh towels and free biscuits for my coffee, the best bit was the beds lovely comfortable beds tho which gave me the best nights sleep. And in the morning the staff even made me a ham and cheese toasty to get my day started. I'll stay here whenever i return to my home town, spy bar next door has a awesome happy hour as well, i love that buzzer : )

David Douglas

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#73 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#48 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene Hotel
Dene Hotel
#45 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 82-86 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $57 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing