We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
13
30
35
27
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
30
35
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreflat screen tvpleasant stayfamily roomone night staymetro
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

the hotel decor is tired and needs decorarating the room i had was clean and the bathroom had been refurbished,the hotel staff wher every helpful and pleasent.
The area is well known for stag parties and hen nights so if you requjire a good nights sleep,you may find this difficult i was to the rear of the hotel so not so much of a problem.
The continental breakfast was very good with a varied choice,the restaraunt area needs better ventilation as it is has a stuffy feel about it.

Overall it was not a bad experience but the room i had appears from the previous reviews better than others had experienced

Room Tip: rear of hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Room very shabby, walls so thin I could hear every word of the conversation in the next room, bath badly chipped, capet stained and smelly, hot water tap not producing any water, tv too 'snowy' to watch, this list could go on for ever. On the plus side the cleaning and waiting on staff were lovely and only plus point of my stay. Osbourne Road is a really good location but choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Well where to start.....on arrival to the hotel the group was greeted by a friendly receptionist (nothing like a bit of banter) unfortunately that was where the good part of the hotel ended. Im not sure whether the stink from the carpet or added extra friendly creepy crawlies and slime makers made me shudder more. On entering the room and seeing the lovely view of the bins at the back of the hotel and wondering if i could get out of said window during a fire i decided to try and have a relaxed view on the hotel and have a shower to prepare for an evening out on the toon.

The shower was clean however the mixture of a sometimes hot and sometime cold shower didnt quite do it for me.

The paper thin walls were also a interesting concept to allow neighbouring rooms to talk to each other without opening a door very clever indeed.

For £45 a night i expected a little bit better im afraid! Also a £30 deposit so i didnt wreck the room seemed to be a little silly and i wondered if i could claim more back if fixed the shower. tiles on the floor, the lighting that had wires sticking out and clean the room in general.

All in all a 2 grade score was pushing it but the friendly lady receptionist made it just about a 2.

Room Tip: Just go to premier inn, travelodge or jurys much better
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank listerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thankfully i'm almost recovered from my stay at the Carlton.

This hotel took me right back to my days backpacking Phnom Penh "flea pit" in Cambodia (those who have been will understand). Sadly i had forgotten my flip flops on my trip to the Carlton, which meant the disturbing prospect of walking bare foot on the carpet.

The carpet did prove a welcome distraction however, during the period of acclimatisation on entering the room whilst one tries to come to terms with the dank repulsive smell. Sat on the bed holding in the urge to be sick, one can look back to the past. The numerous snail trails, iron burns and general filth suggests the carpet has led a "good life" and one can only imagine what it has endured.

Still, i did enjoy a very good nights sleep as i packed an effective set of earplugs (Cambodia flea pit experience once again) which prevented me being awoken by the screams, shouts and bottle smashing from people outside. Unfortunately they were not effective to drawn out the sound of someone vomiting next door...

Waking somewhat refreshed i looked forward to a shower, placed my wash bag on the shelf in the bathroom and turned to switch on the shower. A loud bang altered me to fact the shelf had fallen from the wall.

The only thing left to raise my mood was a good full English breakfast. However, i should have known better as the only offering was a couple of soggy pastries, a block of cheese and plate of ham. I don't think i have even eaten less at an all-you-can eat breakfast.

Still i escaped with my health... This and the very helpful friendly staff and free carpark (despite being blocked in for 3 hours) means the Carlton escapes a 1 star from me.

Room Tip: Hold your nose and pray
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smally_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Must be able to fix loose taps, wobbly floor tiles, holes in carpet, creaky doors, squeaky floor boards, wiring faults, clanking plumbing, crooked lighting and much more. Situation vaccant due to under-investment for many years. Friendly enough colleagues to work with. Drunk customers to put up with. Free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraigWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews